We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointing”
Review of John Henry

John Henry
Ranked #623 of 1,051 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: US$6 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: John Henry set out from his home in Richhill, Armagh in 1889 seeking adventure and discovery in America. Travelling from town to frontier town finding work where he could, he discovered the brave flavour traditions of the wild west and the joy of outdoor living and cooking. He collected these skills and recorded in his journal, recipes and methods for everything from wood firing meat to making fresh lemonade. In 1896 he returned, bringing this knowledge home with him and passing it down through the generations. Today, we use the same original Spice Mixes and Blends in our Pulled Pork, Bourbon Beef, Mixed Meats and our extra special Veggi Chilli. Why not come down and sample some wood-fired slow cooked pork ribs, or crispy-roast chicken, served with our secret family sauces and a range of Super Food sides?
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really disappointing”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We got a takeaway from here last night for the first time, thought it was going to be a nice change from the usual chippy/chinese but it was really disappointing. I had the pulled pork, the meat was so tough and dry and hard, they must leave it sitting out all day. In fact, we asked for chicken and the girl serving (not her fault, mind) showed us it and said it was really too dry to serve. The side dishes are precooked and then heated up in front of you in a microwave. Mac and Cheese was basically just pasta with dried up cheese that looked like it was melted about 6 hours before on top - no taste or passion in there at all. How can this place dare to say they serve "fresh" food when all the meat sits out all day to dry up and the side dishes are heated up in a microwave? No shame! This place has so much potential on Botanic but to be honest with you it was so grim I don't even think I would go back and give it a second chance. Would've been better off going to New Emerald.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    8
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place in Belfast (Queen's campus) to have some BBQd meat”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had our casual Valentine's lunch there and it was very good (in terms of food, not necessarily atmosphere, but we wouldn't expect that from a diner anyway). We both ordered a £9 meal with the choice of two meats, muffin-like cornbread, salads, etc. The food -- especially the beef and pork -- was excellent and there was plenty of it, we weren't even able to eat everything. One of few places in Belfast where you can get hearty, American South-style BBQ at a very affordable price. The food reminded us of rural Arkansas BBQ bars. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PBLogos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Restaurant Food - Fast Food Prices!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have been here on a few occasions from when it opened until now and the first thing I notice when I open the front door is the AMAZING SMELL in the place! You are greeted with a smile from the friendly staff who take you through your choices of incredible breads including the beloved Belfast Bap but I love the Italian roll. Then comes the meat which is so tender and succulent and just breaks apart with no effort whatsoever. Pulled Pork, Beef Brisket, Chicken or mixed meat... topped of with a range of sauces to complement an already tasty looking sandwich. Then the great selection of sides is leaving me watering at the mouth. Garlic potatos, Mac and Cheese, Powerslaw, Cous Cous or plain Fries - there is something for everyone. For a very reasonable £6 I think this is very good value for money and have yet to finish the meal off and always leave bursting at the seams. There are a good selection of beers and soft drinks including a slushy machine. There is definitely something for everyone here, your only problem is what to choose. Incredible tasty food for a Fast Food place! Wildfire and Fresh!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Maybe things have changed...”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Was in when the restaurant first opened and was not impressed at all. The choices of bread are great and the bread is very fresh, but the meat and sauce were just okay. Nothing special. I also had the mac and cheese. It was pulled out of a warmer in a tin dish and thrown into better plating and it was cold. All while there was free space in warmers where the different meats and salads are. I've recommended friends against going because of my experience there. Also, staff we're not very friendly. More quiet than anything. Will not be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wholesome food at humble prices!!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Called in on Friday night, had to read the prices twice as I thought that has value written all over it! Having asked a lot of thick questions regarding the food and what we were getting for roughly 6 quid each, we were impressed by the friendliness of the staff, and their product knowledge. It also helped that they smiled and made us feel welcome. Have to say that the chicken and beef were superb. the 'slaw side was divine.The choice of breads fresh and tasty, and the sauces just complimented the meal without floating the bread. Dunno where you can get food to match this, as it would have cost more in a big high street burger chain. Would we return?... For sure!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ourelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Henry also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to John Henry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing