We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Fine Dining Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saphyre

Saphyre
Ranked #50 of 1,041 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Fine Dining Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had been intending to visit Saphyre for some time and i wish we had visited sooner. The setting at the back of a converted church is stunning - you can tell the owner is from a design background. It was a summer evening and i was really pleased to see the new summer a la carte menu which is heavy on fish.
Great cocktail list from which we had their signature Saphyre cocktail - recommended.
For starters my wife had the Crab with Gazpacho Avocado and Pepper. I had their signature Ulster Fry starter with a healthy slice of truffle on top - an interesting take on the classic but very much a fine dining interpretation. In truth i cant recall what our 2 dining companions had but it looked good. I am quite annoyed i only manged to take 1 photo during the meal so you will have to use your imaginations.
The highlight of the whole event for me was the Lobster Cannelloni. A healthy piece of lobster tail twinned with a very large fresh cannelloni stuffed with a superb but light lobster mousse. Amazing. My wife had an equally good Fillet of Turbot and i actually recall our companions both had the Rose Veal ( its not all fish) which they loved.
We don't normally do desserts but we had our arms twisted and we shared 4 different dishes between us - the 3 i can remember were the Strawberry Cheesecake with fab basil ice cream, Raspberry Rose Bakewell , a Chocolate one and a 4th i cant recall either. Yes it was a fairly boozy night. All 4 were really fantastic - very unusual in that deconstructed sort of style with great flavours.
In summary an excellent fine dining addition to Belfast's restaurants with stunning food and a pleasing ambiance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_Robinson1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    34
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Beautiful looking restaurant, gorgeous decor but trying a little too hard to be 'Michelin' style in terms of food and price.
Maître d' a little rude I thought- bit too arrogant, felt like he was doing us a favour by being there, got friendlier towards tip time which was already added to the bill. Other staff were warm and welcoming though.
Food was beautifully presented and portion sizes small (as expected), but trying too hard..Finger bowl for a solitary shelled prawn was OTT in surf/turf main. Lots of foliage and flowers to eat too.
Bill wasn't correct when it came- which just shouldn't happen at this level of restaurant when staff nearly outnumber customers.
Glad I've been to see what the fuss is about but won't be back. Prefer merchant hotel or Shu for this type of dining.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Staff courteous and attentive,decor lovely. Portions small, presentation impressive. Had to ask for vegetarian menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing the best in Belfast ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Second visit last night, first one was so amazing with my husband, beautiful ambiance, amazing food michelin star standard to say the least, I was hopeful that the next visit would be of the same standard when I went with my friend (who is a food/wine snob) and I was amazed yet again!!! The food was totally exceptional we went for the tasting menu as myself and my husband had and the maitre d Sam (who's service is fantastic) offered an alternative tasting menu, as it had only been 5 days since my last visit and wow it was beyond my expectations yet again, the eye to detail was amazing and the taste was wow every bite was a delight. Highly recommend this restaurant for exceptional fine dining, having dined in many Michelin star restaurants to compare to, saphyre is of a much higher standard overall.

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbiecat30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So unexpected !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was taken here for Saturday morning coffee and was so hooked I booked supper for my husband and our middle and his wife this week ...
it was a delight, lovely surroundings and very very tasty food
Please please go
Saphyre is a treasure .. even if you cannot afford the "shop/boutique"
It might be the "wrong" end of the Lisburn Road this is a "to go" !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank usat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saphyre also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Saphyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing