We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional restaurant”
Review of Saphyre

Saphyre
Ranked #46 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Irish, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional restaurant”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We chose the Summer tasting menu with wine and found the food exceptionally good. Service was similarly flawless - staff were very knowledgeable, well informed and friendly without being pushy.

A fantastic evening, highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholasfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    36
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hidden gem”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I came here for my birthday and we had a lovely time. The staff was friendly and welcoming from the minute we entered. The food was beautiful from the crab gazpacho to the amusing take on the Ulster fry. I encourage anyone to try this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank pharmboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Coffee for Two”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My friend and I had morning coffee there last week and were more than pleasantly surprised. From the moment we stepped through the door we were transported to a beautiful style emporium. The waiter was extremely welcoming and quickly brought us the brunch menu. It was lovely but we explained that we had heard about the wonderful pastries and desserts and had hoped to sample one or two. He explained they were being made for the lunch and dinner menu but would ask the chef if he we might try some. We were kindly offered an 'assiette de desserts' which was perfect. Little passion fruit and lemon tarts, chocolate delices, choux buns and other little delights. A real treat. It was a welcome change having our coffee topped up as well. The table was beautifully set and service impeccable.
A lovely summer treat. We will be back to try out lunch and dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JANE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Fine Dining Restaurant”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had been intending to visit Saphyre for some time and i wish we had visited sooner. The setting at the back of a converted church is stunning - you can tell the owner is from a design background. It was a summer evening and i was really pleased to see the new summer a la carte menu which is heavy on fish.
Great cocktail list from which we had their signature Saphyre cocktail - recommended.
For starters my wife had the Crab with Gazpacho Avocado and Pepper. I had their signature Ulster Fry starter with a healthy slice of truffle on top - an interesting take on the classic but very much a fine dining interpretation. In truth i cant recall what our 2 dining companions had but it looked good. I am quite annoyed i only manged to take 1 photo during the meal so you will have to use your imaginations.
The highlight of the whole event for me was the Lobster Cannelloni. A healthy piece of lobster tail twinned with a very large fresh cannelloni stuffed with a superb but light lobster mousse. Amazing. My wife had an equally good Fillet of Turbot and i actually recall our companions both had the Rose Veal ( its not all fish) which they loved.
We don't normally do desserts but we had our arms twisted and we shared 4 different dishes between us - the 3 i can remember were the Strawberry Cheesecake with fab basil ice cream, Raspberry Rose Bakewell , a Chocolate one and a 4th i cant recall either. Yes it was a fairly boozy night. All 4 were really fantastic - very unusual in that deconstructed sort of style with great flavours.
In summary an excellent fine dining addition to Belfast's restaurants with stunning food and a pleasing ambiance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_Robinson1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Beautiful looking restaurant, gorgeous decor but trying a little too hard to be 'Michelin' style in terms of food and price.
Maître d' a little rude I thought- bit too arrogant, felt like he was doing us a favour by being there, got friendlier towards tip time which was already added to the bill. Other staff were warm and welcoming though.
Food was beautifully presented and portion sizes small (as expected), but trying too hard..Finger bowl for a solitary shelled prawn was OTT in surf/turf main. Lots of foliage and flowers to eat too.
Bill wasn't correct when it came- which just shouldn't happen at this level of restaurant when staff nearly outnumber customers.
Glad I've been to see what the fuss is about but won't be back. Prefer merchant hotel or Shu for this type of dining.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saphyre also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Saphyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing