We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed for the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paddy's Palace Belfast
Reviewed 3 March 2013

On our Paddywagon Tour of Ireland, we stayed here while in Belfast. Luckily we were in the renovated part of the hostel. Like most hostels I shared a dorm, with 5 others. The room was clean and we had a small heater, coat hooks and a basin.
The bathrooms had just been renovated and were nice and clean. Although a bath mat woudl've been nice.
The common room was smallish but nice. About 5 chairs in the kitchen/eating area, could do with a lot more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin-Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy W, Manager at Paddy's Palace Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Hello, Thank you for your positive review, we are glad you liked the renovated part of the hostel and enjoyed your stay! We will take on board your comments about the bath mats and chairs. We hope to have a new kitchen and dining area come summer. We hope to see you in Belfast again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed in Paddy's Palace for 2 nights in 6 dorm room. The hostel was little hard to find because they didn't had any sign that says that hostel is there. Also we got a room that was close to kitchen and the window that was facing the kitchen would not close because it was broken and it was open a whole night long. The room didn't look very clean. Windows were very dirty and moldy.
Staff was OK. Hostel is a walking distance from the center. They were renovating common room so i hope they gonna renovate the room also.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Verilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy W, Manager at Paddy's Palace Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Hello, Thank you for your review and feedback. You will be glad to know we have almost finished renovating. We now have new bathrooms, floors and the rooms are finished just the kitchen to go. Hopefully you can come and stay again and see the changes. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed at this hostel many years ago and i can undertand why some of the previous reviewers had a negative experience. It certainly had room for significant improvement but it seems like management have taken this feedback on board as when i stayed last weekend the interior had vastly improved! The hostel seems to have been freshly painted and the bathrooms are new and spotlessly clean. The old ones were shocking!! One big negative for me with this hostel is the kitchen area, it really lets it down. Very damp and grotty. It wasnt a big deal for me as i was eating out but it could be a deal breaker for budget conscious travellers. Overall, a reliable centrally located budget option

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankfiesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed here in December with a group of friends, and I loved it! On arrival the girls that work there gave us a warm welcome and they were always there to help. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean, and the beds were really comfy, not something you'd expect in a hostel! The place is currently being rennovated with new bathrooms and shower rooms which are really funky and always clean. The lounge is a perfect place to hang out and meet new people or just relax and watch tv. Definitely enjoyed my stay here and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87Lydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Paddy's Palace is the best place to stay in Belfast! It is right in the centre of the university area, close to many bars and restaurants and only a ten minute walk into the city centre. The staff are so welcoming and helpful every time I stay there and the rooms are spacious and clean. Have met so many amazing people staying here, i wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Belfast!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

First time in Belfast and i have to admit it wouldn't off been the same if i hadn't stayed at Paddy's Palace. It was welcoming and comfy and the staff were fantastic. Would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Get a higher room. I heard no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I've seen a lot of negative things about this place and I don't know why! I think people expect a hotel when it's a hostle! I had an amazing time here and the staff are so friendly, the room was clean and the sheets were changed daily, the breakfast was just basic hostle breakfast but what can you expect it is a hostel! I loved it here and plan on going back again for my birthday, it's con intently close to the city centre and is close to places for drinking! The staff were always smiling and you could tell they loved it there. I wouldn't hesitate to go back and I plan on going again in April, Belfast is a grey place and Paddy's palace is a great good value for money place to stay in Belfast!
Geordie boy

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonjamin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,442 reviews
Golden Mile
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belfast View Lodge
#15 of 41 in Belfast
2 reviews
Golden Mile
City Hub Apartments
City Hub Apartments
#21 of 41 in Belfast
78 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Palace Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace Belfast

Address: 68 Lisburn Road | University district, Belfast BT9 6AX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range: £11 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paddy's Palace Belfast 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paddy's Palace Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddy`s Palace Belfast Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing