We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paddy's Palace Belfast
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Just read through the comments and responses from Paddys Palace. One of the responses says that there are no issues because they keep their maintenance up to date, but my experience says otherwise. Was on a trip from the US with my university. First, the website says there are towels to rent, and to save space some kids didn't bring them only to find out that there were no towels. Leaving that day, we passed a bag full of towels and when we asked the person working at the desk, they said those were only for the apartments, so we went and spent 40 quid at primark.

There was only 1 toilet working in the whole building, and there were 22 in my group alone, along with the rest of the hostel. When we told the desk about it, they just brushed it off.

Also, one of the rooms of girls had some yellow liquid leaking from the ceiling and there were 8 girls in another room with a window that was painted shut.

Now, I gave 2 stars because it's a place to sleep and it's in a great location, but even arriving there was no signage outside. Not a great welcome to Ireland. Also, if you're looking to sleep after a long flight and you arrive in the morning, the rooms aren't ready until 3pm

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Paddy's Palace Belfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was my first international hostel experience and overall it was rather unexciting. The door to the dorm we were assigned was covered with a vomit-like substance, and it wasn't all that clean. The only perks were it was close to everything we needed, and the staff were quite helpful

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

A good place to stay staff were helpful good size rooms and clean offer a good laundry service! Some good tours on offer close to a weAtherspoons and couple of other good pubs! Great atmosphere and I nice common room go chill out in and meet fellow backpackers!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Paddy's Palace Belfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a pleasant stay at Paddys. My son liked the spacious common room and the busy feel of lots of travellers and I liked how close to town it is. It is an old building with character and we were able to cook in the large kitchen.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good as we peaked into lots of them
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Paddy's Palace Belfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Me and a friend just had 3 days at this hostel. We loved the common area with lots of space and the big eating area. Jose the manager was very nice to us and told us many good places in Belfast. We were able to book our black taxi tour and our Giants causeway tour at reception fdor a good price.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a small room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sabrina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Paddy's Palace Belfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Came back to hostel late after meeting with friends. Unable to open side door, key would not turn. Two others guests came along and they attempted to unlock the door several times without success. Tried ringing hostel but no reception staff present after 10pm. One of the other guests made one final attempt and by some miracle it opened. On the way upstairs to the dorm, stepped over a man sleeping there. Attempted to open door to dorm I was staying in and some thoughtful guest in the room had obviously locked it from inside as the key turned but door would not open. I understood why the man was sleeping on the stairs now as he must have encountered the same. Was left to wait on the stairs until morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemima1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear about your issues however there was never a problem with locks before as we keep our maintenance up to date. We checked into this issue after you comment and we work hard to improve all issues based on your reviews.

Kind regards,
Paddy's Palace Belfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Me and girlfriend stayed here last week. It was great and we like Jose the Spain boy reception. Room was nice clean and fantastic reception room . We will come again when in Irlanda. We like the city is 5 minutes walking and we can get the bus to Dublin so easy.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejpenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Paddy's Palace Belfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,370 reviews
Golden Mile
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arnie's Backpackers
#18 of 38 in Belfast
78 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Lagan Backpackers
Lagan Backpackers
#11 of 38 in Belfast
418 reviews
Failte B&B
#25 of 50 in Belfast
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Palace Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace Belfast

Address: 68 Lisburn Road | University district, Belfast BT9 6AX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range: £11 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paddy's Palace Belfast 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Paddy's Palace Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddy`s Palace Belfast Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing