We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary celebration”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Fantastic hotel. Stunning room and extremely friendly staff. I have stayed in quite a few top class hotels but I think this 1 is the best. Got the room at a reasonable price and the food was exceptional. Would recommend tis hotel for a little bit of the luxury if thats what your after.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arussell070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,027 - 2,033 of 2,559 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

we stayed for two nights before our honeymoon in the old part of the building. It looked amazing and had a great atmosphere. The staff were brilliant, bringing me honey and lemon as they knew i had a sore throat. soo kind, and unlike some expensive hotels they do not hang around waiting for tips, the great service is all part of your stay. cant wait to have an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We had the most wonderful few days at The Merchant, so much so I drinkies another trip at Christmas. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. Food was delicious, staff were professional and friendly, and the room was absolutely fab.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The Merchant Hotel was a real gem in the heart of Belfast. The rooms are very well appointed with a retro feel. The beds were very comfortable and the en-suite was spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The dining room is a stunning space and the waiting staff were immaculately dressed and very professional. Breakfast was excellent. We dined in the Jazz Club at night and it was most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We requested interconnecting rooms and they were very spacious and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The Merchant Experience was fabulous! My partner and I recently spent one night in the hotel for a birthday celebration. From the moment we were greeted by the concierge (valet parking) the service we received throughout the hotel was professional, friendly and personal.
We stayed in the sumptious Victorain Splendour rooms and it certainly exceeded our expectations. When we returned to the room following dinner there had been placed on the bed a birthday card from the hotel staff and a gorgeous box of truffles; a splendid touch!
Indeed during our excellent 3 course dinner in the authentic Bert's jazz bar, the piano man (having seen the birthday candle in the complimentary petits four) sang Happy Birthday as only a jazz man can.
Breakfast in the Great Room was extremely grand with the quality of food matching the attentiveness of the staff.
As a final treat we indulged ourselves in the spa. The treatments were the best we have experienced (perhaps some men's magazines would be appreciated in the relaxation room, theres only so many girlie mags a man can read lol). The rooftop hottub however was a relative disappointment as it lacked the grandure of the overall Merchant experience!
We both had a fabulous stay at the hotel and got so lost in the surroundings we forgot we were in the middle of Belfast city centre.
Thank you Merchant Hotel. We will return.......

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This was a really great experience from the moment we entered the hotel, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the facilities were excellent, worthy of a 6 star rating.

The room was exquisite, it was spacious, very conformable and was styled to perfection. The other facilities of the hotel were excellent such as the Cocktail Bar, sauna and finess suite.

Breakfast was a wonderful experience, silver service at its best, its a long time since I experienced tea made with tea leaves!!!

Overall this was a fantastic experience in a wonderful hotel with excellent staff and facilities, we can't wait till we get a chance to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skatcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Excellent hotel and facilities. Luxury is what it is all about. The Merchant hotel Belfast offers the complete package for all those lovers out there!

Room Tip: Check the website for great offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherClose24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 45 in Belfast
1,389 reviews
Tara Lodge
#1 of 45 in Belfast
2,588 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £165 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing