We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The Merchant is heaven on earth. My wife and I had a wonderful time here, celebrating her birthday (thanks Niall).
After a bit of difficulty we managed to find the correct approach to the hotel. We parked outside and the concierge greeted us, took our luggage to reception and organised for our car to be parked (parking can be expensive, but it was included in our deal). We received a very warm greeting at reception and the concierge then brought us to our Art Deco room.
It definitely had the “WOW” factor: it was a very spacious room (with an equally spacious bathroom) full of glitz and glamour (for glamour, there was a dressing table which was lit just like in a star’s dressing room). A large comfortable bed was centre-piece and luxurious furniture and photographic prints completed the Art Deco look.
Afternoon Tea in the grandeur of the The Great Room is an experience. This room was also used for breakfast. The surroundings and superb service made us feel that we were in a different era. Breakfast was cooked to order and made a welcome change from the breakfast buffet, where ingredients can linger and continue to cook until selected, if at all.
We enjoyed a sumptuous dinner in Bert’s Jazz Bar, and we able to stay in our seats for the great Jazz session that followed later at night.
The hotel was within easy walking distance from the shopping precincts and other restaurants. We enjoyed a drink (or two) in the bar opposite (The Spaniard), The Crown and the Duke of York.
I can recommend the hotel without hesitation: quality costs but The Merchant is worth it.
Thanks to all concerned for a wonderful break away from reality.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorcaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,535)
There are newer reviews for Merchant Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,985 - 1,991 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here for only one night, wish we had stayed longer, we had a modern room, it was one of the most well furnished/equipped rooms we have stayed in for a long time. I cannot fault anything apart from perhaps the lighting in the public areas of the hotel which were a little dark from a personal point of view. We then went on to visit Bushmillls Hotel at Bushmills for 4 nights and can only say wish we had continued to stay at The Merchant and travelled each day!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louisejlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Was lucky enough to stay in this hotel twice,first time was in the older part of hotel beautiful and antiquated however i found it almost too dimly lit to read at night. In contrast to this we stayed in modern room which was magnificent to say the least and spacious.Room was nearly too comfortable to leave, am looking forward to returning SOON.

Room Tip: Ask for new and more updated rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzannahoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Ive been to lots of hotels and would return again and again to the Merchant, if you want to stay somewhere where you Could Not be disappointed this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starmonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have just returned from a delightful night at the Merchant Hotel in Belfast. We booked for dinner bed and breakfast and were not disappointed in anything whatsoever. The room was beautiful, with everything one would expect from a five star hotel in the city. My wife especially enjoyed using the hot tub on the roof top location. The staff couldn't do enough for you and the afternoon tea in the great room is a must, even if you don't stay at the hotel. A pre-dinner cocktail in the bar is also a must, while one checks out the dinner menu. Dinner was the best I've eaten for many a year and again the staff in the great room where dinner is served, were most charming and attentive. The food is to die for, so don't delay. Everything at the Merchant is truly 5 star, unlike some other hotels under this banner. Well done to everyone at the Merchant, as superb effort. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, you will not be disappointed. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are furthest away from the night club!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coantrimtripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and really felt like we were spoiling ourselves! On arrival our car was valet parked (charge of £15/night), the room was clean, bed was very comfortable with spacious bathroom. We stayed in the deco end of the hotel which is the newer end. Breakfast in the great hall was amazing, we had dinner in berts jazz bar which was both delicious and atmospheric (live jazz band). Overall excellent service and lovely hotel, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbd29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed in the merchant hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary.The hotel was amazing and the service we received was outstanding we were made very welcome by all the staff.Our room was lovely and very relaxing.We used the spa which we found very relaxing and romantic as well as the out door hot tub which was amazing.I would recommend ths hotel for anybody who wants to relax and enjoy time away in a lovely hotel.We really enjoyed our stay and will be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank amanda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 44 in Belfast
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 44 in Belfast
1,376 reviews
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,560 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £153 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing