We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class Hotel & Service”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Brilliant hotel very conveniently situated in the heart of Belfast. Facilities & room 5*. Rooftop Jacuzzi a very nice feature. Well worth paying that little extra for 5* service. Restaurant - diner & breakfast top quality.

Room Tip: Went for Victorian room - Enormous, comfortable bed.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyrone_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,535)
There are newer reviews for Merchant Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,878 - 1,884 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

I loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Beautiful decorated interior in what used to be a bank. I stayed in the "modern" section of the hotel and I was very impressed with the lovely room and beautiful bath in the room. It had everything I could possibly want and I very much enjoyed my stay! Sorry the review is so late, but I'm a busy girl!

Room Tip: The new rooms have a very sleek and hip feel to them. The older rooms are very richly appointed and...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Echo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have just returned home after a birthday weekend in The Merchant. Everything was just perfect and the staff were incredibly polite, efficient and helpful. There were many lovely little touches like a balloon and chocolates in my room to mark my birthday and after dinner the waiter brought us a plate of homemade sweets with Happy Birthday written in chocolate - lovely touch! Our room was one of the art deco rooms and it was magnificent. Anyone who wants luxury and attention to detail will not be disappointed. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a special treat. It is expensive to eat and drink in the hotel in the evening but it is worth it for the ambiance. A little tip is to have morning coffee or lunch in the cocktail bar as it is very reasonably priced. The gymnasium and spa are definitely worth a visit, so make sure to bring the appropriate fitness gear and swimwear. This is a magical place in the middle of a bustling city. We are already planning to return!

Room Tip: If you like old world ask for a Victorian room but if you prefer contemporary ask for an art deco ro...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brecht56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My daughter and I went here for Afternoon tea today. Such a pleasant experience. The food was amazing and the staff were excellent and the general atmoshere was nice and mellow. I really enjoyed the ambience. The manager was also very helpful and friendly and the waiters could not be nice enough. The merchant Hotel has to be one of my favourite hotels ever and it's great that it's so close to where I live. I will never forget today.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ToBandBornotoBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Nowhere like it in N. Ireland not even close! I don't think i've stayed anywhere in the world better. Rooms, staff and food and cocktails you can't find a fault.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamhenry1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Our family travelled from all over the uk to meet up for a very special celebration at The Merchant Hotel. We were led to believe that it was the premier hotel in Belfast (even NI for that matter). We had booked dinner bed & breakfast there. Without going into too much detail the level of service we received there was appalling. You'd get better service at a Travelodge for 1/10 of the price. It is a 5 star looking hotel with 2 star service. We have stayed in a few first class hotels since our awful stay at The Merchant and the service we received at the other hotels certainly puts the paltry service at The Merchant to shame. Do not waste your money on a stay at The Merchant when there are much better hotels available.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank YFL_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Our travel agent had booked us here probably because they got us a good off season rate.

We were given one of the recently renovated Art Deco rooms on the second floor.

We were blown away by the room when we entered. It is one of the best hotel rooms we have had (and there have been a few both good & not so good).

The room was huge with a very big ensuite bathroom with both a shower and bath.

Our room package also included breakfast in the hotel's main dining room. The service here was top notch as was the service in general at the hotel. The staff were only too happy to help and provide information.

We would certainly stay here again if we ever make it back to Belfast. We now compare other hotel rooms to The Merchant which for us sets the standard.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NZ_Mazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 44 in Belfast
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 44 in Belfast
1,376 reviews
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,561 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £153 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing