We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Sunday!”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Visited the Spa at The Merchant for the first time today and it will definitely not be my last visit. My experience was fabulous from start to finish. I felt welcomed and relaxed from the moment i walked down the spiral stairs. My treatments were the most relaxing I have ever had, which lead ro me almost falling asleep in the relaxation room after. Everywhere is immaculate and I love the dark decor lit mainly by candles. I was not a guest at the hotel, just a spa user. Prices are not much more than your 'common, typical' beauty salons and the glamour and class exceeds all others. Cannot wait for my next visit! Julie D, you are amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,842
    292
    138
    85
    61
See reviews for
319
1,333
52
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have stayed here a few times and I am amazed at how it has changed. Sloppy service, rude staff and simply quite dirty. The decor has become tired and dated.

A major turn off is that nightclub has opened in the basement which attracts a rowdy drunken rabble. Vomit and broken glass everywhere the following morning. Also very loud.

There is a serious sewage problem in this area of Belfast. The area, and occasionally our room, stank. I will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Londoner78698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Very much enjoyed our recent stay at The Merchant; lovely room, interesting bathroom(!) good breakfasts. Central location ideal for sightseeing, only a 10 minute walk to the excellent Titanic display. Only letdown being the staff who did not have the local knowledge a top hotel should provide- we were told we needed a taxi to the bus station to catch the airport bus that actually stopped outside the hotel!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The merchant is the destination for afternoon tea with lovely scones, great desserts and a fantastic setting.
lsi it has a great cocktail bar right beside where u have afternoon tea that u can pop into after

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rach17cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is Elegant, classic yet informal, we had our evening meal in The Great Room restaurant and it was fantastic, one of us had the tasting menu which was expensive but worth every penny, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor. Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We went to this hotel for our 1st Wedding anniversary, a surprise for myself. Freindly staff on arrival and check in. We stayed in the Larkin Suite, beautiful room very spacious. The spa facilities are very good, once again very friendly.

We had afternoon tea booked in the Great Hall which was a lovely treat, fantastic service once again. For our evening meal we went to Berts Bar, lovely food good service Jazz music was really good but a bit loud! We coudn't hear each other across the table but still very good service.

We will go again, yes expensive but you get what you pay for!!!

Room Tip: The suites are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHarper34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

In Belfast first time via work and booked this hotel, not sure what to expect. However when I told staff where their response really raised my expectation...upon arrival I was not disappointed, very welcoming receptionist, stunningly beautiful room on 5th floor in an immaculate Art Deco style. Everything you need in a room and all finished to the 5 star standard
I had planned to do some work from my room however I was unaware and not told that the gym was above my room...from back of 5 onwards constant pounding was heard above. So retreated. For refreshment.
The cocktail bar is very opulent with attentive staff, a very relaxing atmosphere. You actually have three bars to choose from however was advised to come here. Could see in to the main dinning room which was in truly stunning soundings...unfortunately the menu didn't take my fancy so I chose to eat at the bar. Do not let the 'bar menu' fool you it was presented than excellent standard and the ribeye steak was fantastic.
Unfortunately my fear in the morning of being woken up by the gymnasium goers above me thudding away on the treadmills didn't give me the best sleep as I kept weakening up...which is a shame as the bed was sumptuous! Alas although the opening hours state 7am for the gym people were in earlier my only critique!

I would love to return with my wife and if so would recommend not to stay on the 5th floor

Room Tip: Not room 529 if you're light sleeper...although could not fault the room in anyway way
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flymo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing