We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Spa Standards”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“High Spa Standards”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I received a voucher for The Spa at The Merchant Hotel and used it towards a hot lava shell full body massage. I had never been to a Spa before and wasn't sure what to expect however, from the minute I arrived I was made to feel welcome and at ease. An immaculately groomed girl named Julie brought me down to the changing rooms and took time to explain everything to me, answering all my questions and making me feel like a relaxed lady of leisure. I used the hydropool prior to my treatment and this was a real treat. The lighting, music and warmth of the pool let me totally relax and give in to the spa experience. My treatment was carried out by another girl named Julie. I explained that I had never had a massage before and she made me feel so comfortable. She was extremely professional and excellent at the lava shell massage.

The Spa is dark but lit by candles and plush furniture and candelabras are dotted about the place. Relaxing piano music is played throughout and i noticed there was also an area where you could dine. The changing facilities were well maintained with ghds and hair dryers provided and secure lockers. I would definitely recommend the Merchant Spa to friends and I will definitely return. It is not over priced, it is value for money and it is an experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaritaTalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    292
    138
    85
    60
See reviews for
319
1,329
52
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Enjoyed expensive break in September. Would prefer less formal dining but otherwise great facilities in unique surroundings. Art Deco room was lovely. Enjoyed Spa including rooftop hot tub next to the Albert Clock! Dinner in Jazz bar and breakfast in great hall were both good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here about three weeks ago and can honestly say one of the nicest hotels ive ever stayed in!check in was friendly and efficent - room was beautiful real cosy and comfy
we had lunch in the cloth ear and after dinner in a nearby restaurant that night - we had drinks in the cocktail bar - nice atmosphere
breakfast following morning lovely especially the setting
Will be making a return trip for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmgilly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just returned from an over night stay with my wife in the Merchant hotel.It is a yearly treat for us to escape from the kids and a chance to soak up the fabulous Belfast atmosphere with the added bonus of getting some christmas shopping done. It was our first time staying in the Merchant we have stayed in numerous hotels in befast before.Nice hotel fabulous location and interior design, reception staff extremely helpful on arrival. However we stayed in room 320 and were hugely disappointed to be woken in the early hours of the morning with the noise of the extractor fan below our window. It was on continually for the remainder of the morning and we found it impossible to get back to sleep very frustrating and not what we expected from a five star hotel. Spoke to the duty manager on check out who offered an upgrade of room on our next visit to the hotel and said she would speak to maintenance regarding same.Not of any benefit to us on what was meant to be a recharging break and I would find it hard to believe that previous cutomers have not complained regarding same issue.So overall nice hotel has equally great location in comparision to ten square hotel very classy but for the price of an overnight stay would have expected absolute comfort which unfortunately due to the noise issue we didn't receive this. Would definetly avoid room 320 as I can't see the noisey fan problem being resolved easily however would consider returning again.
Tom.

Room Tip: Avoid room 320 due to continual noise from extractor fan outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I hired the roof garden for my wifes 40th last night. Every aspect of our experience was sensational. Genuinely cannot find one thing to criticise. If I could give this venue 6/5 I would!!! Oh and the breakfast in the room this morning was the best I have had in any hotel I have stayed in to date. Outstanding!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Algar4irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenpoint
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed on Friday past an it was excellent! I am only sorry I stayed on business .. Arrived late and left early am.. Which is a shame. We stayed in the Art Deco room.. Which was huge, beautiful, comfortable, full of luxuries... Breakfast is very formal, but it was good, not excellent but good. Next time I stay I will make sure I have more time to enjoy!
Excellent location, close to lots of great hotels, restaurants and bars! As a result this can mean that it is noisy at weekends..
Overall..delighted !

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianewarrenpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Merchant is not to be missed. It’s by far the nicest hotel in Belfast - well-appointed, classy rooms, with a very attentive, friendly staff. The restaurant is typically French with smaller portions at dinner, but the dining room is luxurious (what a beautiful chandelier!) and the food delicious. The bar was always busy and full of new and old friends. The breakfasts were simply wonderful. The roof-top Jacuzzi and work-out facility is a lovely plus. Try to stay in the original wing. The Hotel Europa is very sleek and moderne in comparison and sits on a very busy street. The Merchant is quiet and comfortable and has wonderful old-world grandeur. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloud9west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing