We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merchant Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ten Square(Belfast)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$453
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Belfast(Belfast)
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,710)
Filter reviews
2,710 results
Traveller rating
2,075
328
149
92
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,075
328
149
92
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscocktail barart decogreat roomafternoon teahot tubcloth earvictorian roomberts jazz barulster bankrooftop jacuzzipure luxuryturn down servicebeautiful hotelhuge bathroomstar hoteltrufflebirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
1,523 - 1,528 of 2,710 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed in Merchant in December, one of the busiest nights of the year in Belfast. We were unable to get any seating in any part of the hotel for food and ended up ordering overpriced room service as every restaurant in the vicinity was booked out. We were residents and this was not acceptable.Staff were very friendly if unable to offer any assistance with regards eating. Valet parking was offered at a price of £ 20.00 which just added insult to injury; had to drive around the block 4 times before we could pull in to off load our bags. Room was nice but no minibar. Finally got to eat breakfast in The Great Room. We had planned breakfast in bed but there was an additional charge of £ 15.00 per person. I have no problem paying for decent service but no one likes to feel totally ripped off.

Room Tip: Make sure you know where to stop your car for parking; the front door is actually the side door.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Extracare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

My GF and I visited Belfast this weekend and stayed at The Merchant. We like to shop and have drinks in the trendy local bars and restaurants. I am not deliberately being a puke here but feel obliged to write this about a hotel which enjoys such a fantastic reputation. Our room although very spacious was very old fashioned and dated. We had two double beds and the ensuite too was roomy. The shower was above the bath. At breakfast on the second morning (Sunday) it was quite busy and the waitress forgot my request to have Porridge. My GF felt pressurised to pay an extra 'Gratuity' at the attached beautician with 3 staff members staring at her when asked. ADVICE - we would recommend (if modern is your thing) asking for a room in the new section of the hotel, which I believe is beautiful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brendanirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have been to the Merchant for afternoon tea last year, and had a quite good experience.
Yesterday we had booked the festive tea - waste of money, and not at all festive. Live music for about 15 mins, then just canned music. Service was dreadful, first of all they forgot the milk, then they gave us a pot of water, instead of tea, and we had to ask for another pot. There were no festive decorations, which you would expect in an expensive hotel, just a tree in the corner. We had a few finger sandwiches, when they asked did we want any more, we got another four very small sandwiches, but had to pay extra for them. The service was terrible, no festive cheer, and I would not advise anyone to waste their money going there. It was dull and cheerless. The Chinese restaurant was more festive. Will never be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BelfastHuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our second time at the Merchant and it was just as good as our last stay. We opted for an Art Deco room this time having stayed in a Victorian room on our previous visit. The room was large and fitted out to a very high standard. The bathroom was huge with a walk in shower as well as a large free standing cast iron bath. All finished to a high standard and spotlessly clean despite the huge amount of glass and mirrors. Reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly. They noticed it was my wife's birthday and wished her well. We had afternoon tea in the Great Room and contrary to a previous reviewers comments it was very very good. The staff asked if I wanted more sandwiches and brought some. The cakes were excellent and not "mass produced". The staff then surprised us with an individual birthday cake for my wife. During our stay we had meals in the Great Room, Bert's Jazz Bar and the Cocktail Bar. All were very good indeed. I have stayed in hotels costing far more than the Merchant and have usually found some aspect that let them down slightly, more often than not the staff. I can honestly say that the Merchant is one of the very best hotels that you are likely to stay in anywhere. A beautiful old building tastefully renovated, pleasant and attentive staff, very good food. It's not a cheap hotel, but it represents tremendous value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Clean.spavious.fantastic irush coffee.nibbles. lovely staff.quiet.comgortable seating .non obtrudive people.unaffeted by poverty.good taste and cheap drink
Toilets immaculat e
Wosley exclusiveness outside seating area lovely in afyernoon in sun.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darrierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews