We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking in atmosphere”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lacking in atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Had dinner Friday before Christmas. Apart from the tree in the foyer there was a complete lack of Christmas cheer. Had to take a late time for dinner - at 9.30 - as told that was the only option. Dining room almost empty by then and staff clearly wished we were not there! No evidence whatever of Christmas. Food good but not exceptional - and 10% service charge not deserved.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GreggLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    292
    138
    85
    60
See reviews for
319
1,329
52
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A girly weekend in December!
What a treat,fantastic service,food amazing,rooms gorgeous,hot tub on roof at nighttime was great esp as we brought our own champers,shame the hot tub bubbles weren't working! Only downside and it's not much,the jazz singer in restaurant was a little on the loud side for a small restaurant,great singer ...just loud! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagspackedIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This is such a stunning hotel, the decor and architecture is amazing! Also interesting that this building used to be a bank! Haven't stayed here, but my family have only great things to say. Glad to have been there at Christmas time, very festive feel. As a South African, it certainly has been a nice and different experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed in the merchant last weekend and was very disappointed. We have stayed here many times in the past but i doubt if we will be back. Firstly i used the valet parking and when my car was returned to me the engine management light was on which could have been coincidence and the warranty will cover it but???. Secondly the room, one of the original rooms was the smallest i have ever stayed in and even had an empty fridge sitting on the bedroom floor. When i questioned reception about the fridge i was given a blank look from the receptionist! I asked for a change of room and was politely told that i booked through a third party and my room could not be changed! I felt discriminated against for using a travel website for booking. If the merchant hotel is going to use these sites to sell their rooms, the client should never feel discriminated against for using them. Do not get a room overlooking the Spaniard pub unless you are a heavy sleeper as the noise outside at the weekend is incredible. Proper windows could eliminate this problem but they aren't fitted to the old part of this hotel. Service within the bar area was completely hit and miss. We were missed! No Nibbles provided with £10 cocktails, service very slow with no apology. Breakfast service was good but that was after standing in line for 10 minutes waiting to be seated. These type of things could be overlooked in cheaper hotels but when one pays big money, one expects big service and that is not what we got! Beautiful decor and doormen with top hats can only take you so far! Maybe the owner is concentrating too much on his new bar down the road from the hotel and the hotel standards are slipping but then isn't that why you employ a manager!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrickaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a Thursday night in the run up to Christmas, the start of a birthday celebration weekend in Dublin. What better way to begin than a night in one of our favourite hotels before catching the train south.

We chose an Art Deco room and it was perfect. The room was bigger than what some hotels call a suite. As Christmas parties were in full swing everywhere we were a little worried that getting a seat in any of the bars would be difficult, and indeed the cocktail bar was very busy but there was plenty of room in Bert's. Excellent service as usual, my only (very) small gripe is that more imagination could go into the nibbles selection!

All in all, despite all the Xmas revelry the service was still excellent.

Breakfast in the Great Room was the usual delight, in this age of breakfast buffets it's really nice to get excellent table service!
The perfect start to a wonderful weekend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neiltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here early November, has to be by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in, from the décor, the ambiance, the attention to detail and the customer service is second to none. As for the cocktails, my wife took a particular liking to the Brambles and at £10 a pop or by no means cheap but for a one off special occasion, worth every penny. The food in the jazz bar was equally of a high standard and for a long cool pint you have The Cloth Ear Bar right next door.
If you are ever thinking of staying in Belfast, you need look no further than here.

Room Tip: The Victorian Room is exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harryNewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 2 nights for our wedding anniversary in July of this year. We were really excited to be going back to the merchant as we had stayed before for my 40th birthday and really enjoyed it last year. We booked a two night weekend deal inc 1 evening meal. We felt let down this time based on our first experience. Firstly room this time was very small (deluxe art deco) compared to first time we booked. Note we booked same room type as last time but big difference in space. Anyway we could forgive that if the overall experience was first class but it wasn't. Service was at times what i would call inconsistent, service at breakfast the first morning was not great. Thankfully it was better the second day. Coffee was cold, waiter was a bit abrupt. Maybe we are being picky but for 5 stars and the price I would expect better. My wife felt standards had slipped based on past experience. Dinner on second night was ok but nothing special in my book. Service in cocktail bar we felt was not consistent either. We observed others getting glass of water and nibbles with each drink yet we didnt, only with the first. On checkout when asked if stay was ok said that we felt that it wasn't consistent and receptionist said she would tell the manager who would contact us. Guess what, we are still waiting 5 months later. We stayed in Fitzwilliam hotel recently which is not 5 star but the overall experience was great and for less money. We used to rave about the merchant, not anymore which is a shame it was our favourite hotel ever once apon a time...

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrlucky09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing