We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday treat”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“birthday treat”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was my 3rd time staying at the Merchant Hotel. We got upgraded which was fantastic, the room was beautiful! Both the evening meal and breakfast was wonderful. Overall I could not fault this hotel, the staff are so helpful and it is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at! Can''t wait for my next treat to the Merchant!

Room Tip: Love the Victorian rooms, Brian Friel suite wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,860
    294
    139
    85
    63
See reviews for
327
1,342
53
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Spa, hot-stone massage and roof top hot tub fantastic. Outstanding meal in the Great Room a 9 course taster menu, service by Laszlo and our waiter Markus was exemplary. Possibly the best meal we have ever had. Thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my colleagues came for afternoon tea on 21st December 2013. What an absolute treat! Sandwiches were fabulous, and the sweets were absolutely luxurious! We chose from a wide selection of teas and added champagne (well it was Christmas after all!) Thoroughly recommended and I'll definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Nikki_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We got a voucher for this so called 5 star establishment for Christmas . We decided to go on Sat 11th January for afternoon tea ! It was such a disappointment !
The staff were more than nice & attention to detail was really really good , but the sandwiches were disgusting we asked for brown bread as neither of us eat white bread . The bread was at best
Maybe best of both that you can buy in Tesco the fillings were definitely not fresh ! It was obvious to us they had been made early morning & then put in the fridge hence the bread was hard &horrible ! The buns were all frozen & most we're covered in horrible dark chocolate ! There was not a freshly baked bun in sight ! Needless to say this was our only visit to the Merchant Hotel & we will definitely never be back in the door of it ever again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAUDY4592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Art Deco room which was very spacious as was the bathroom.
Nice touch for my birthday I got a card, balloon and chocolates!
Breakfast good, coffee cold and order got mixed up but otherwise ok .
Cocktails a bit steep at £9.95 but didn't stop me ordering 3! Came with nibbles which was nice.
Very nice , pricey but worth a treat.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yesbutno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Note: Reception for check in is round the side near the Spaniard bar, not up the main steps

Visited just before Christmas and greatly enjoyed it.

We stayed in one of the contemporary rooms. It was massive (with two double beds) and a huge bathroom.

Outdoor hot tub on the roof is a great experience and the sauna has good views over Belfast.

We also had Christmas dinner, which was very nice as was breakfast the next morning. Cocktails, as always, were excellent (but expensive). Sadly I have to report that service in the cocktail bar was slow and it was not that busy but otherwise I couldn't fault my stay.

There is also a private lounge for residents with a pool table that I didn't know about. Quite fun!

Room Tip: Contemporary rooms seem to get better reviews than the older style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 888Hello888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I don't normally write reviews on these websites but the Merchant is worth it! My husband and I normally take a trip to Dublin every year for Christmas shopping but this year we decided to go to Belfast. So glad we did. We have stayed in quite a lot of 5-star hotels around the world but none compare to the Merchant. From the moment we arrived we were transported to a world of pure luxury and indulgence. Brendan greeted us at the doors and took our bags to reception and introduced us to Chrissie who checked us in. She offered us a warm welcome, a genuine smile and even shook our hands. I have never had the receptionist shake my hand when checking in to a hotel before. Form then I felt immediately at ease, welcomed and at home in the hotel. She explained everything to us from where the breakfast is served to how to access the gym. Brendan then showed us up to our room and carried our bags for us. We stayed in one of the rooms in the art deco side of the hotel and on the way up Brendan mentioned that it was one of the largest hotel rooms in Belfast and wow, he was not kidding! The room was huge and very modern and beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. I just wanted to move in! The bed was unbelievably comfortable, the shower was amazing and the bath was so large, I could have just stayed in it for hours. Brendan also showed us how to work everything in the room and was very helpful and knowledgeable when we asked about the best things to see in Belfast and places to eat.
We went straight up to try out the hot tub on the roof. It was a cold day but once you are in the warm water you forget all about it and can just enjoy the great view over Belfast.
We went back down to go out shopping and this time there was a different receptionist on, whose name I can't remember but she was also very friendly and gave us helpful directions to get to the main shopping areas.
In the evening we had some drinks in the cocktail bar because we had heard about all the awards it had won. It really was very impressive. The book of cocktails is so big it took me 20 minutes just to pick which one to have. Watching the guys make the cocktails was fascinating. We then moved to Bert's the jazz bar for dinner. Although neither of us are particularly in to jazz music we really enjoyed the atmosphere and the vibe in here. Again the staff were faultless. Luke answered all the questions we had about the food and recommended us a brilliant wine. Although I did have another cocktail first and have to say it was just as good as in the cocktail bar!
When we went back to the room we found our slippers laid out for us along with tea and coffee and truffles. Such a nice touch!
After an amazing night's sleep we were able to leave our bags with the concierge while we did a bit more shopping. Chrissie checked us out again and even remembered our name from the day before - really professional! And Brendan brought our car round for us again and loaded our bags in to the back for us. He made polite conversation and wished us a safe journey. We then found there was a little packet of mints left in the car. Another lovely little touch which puts the Merchant miles ahead of everywhere else!
Really can't praise this hotel enough. Immaculately clean, perfect attention to detail, friendly, knowledgeable and professional staff - everything you could want. We will definitely be back again in 2014!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,498 reviews
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing