We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dazzling glamour and mercantile history”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

'The Merchant' used to be the flagship headquarters of the Ulster Bank in Northern Ireland - a sumptuous Victorian Italianate building both inside and out, situated in Belfast's Cathedral Quarter. Thank goodness for the vision of the hoteliers and investors who restored this jewel from empty building in a forgotten part of town (well, certainly when I was at school in Belfast) back to a jaw-droppingly gorgeous casket of luxury.

There are lots of ways to enjoy the Merchant: afternoon tea with a glass of champers in the great former banking hall, cocktails (which should be controlled substances) in the long bar where the fire is usually lit and Irish art gazes down at you, dinner - again in the splendid banking hall, or sprawling decadently in your enormous room (and it's enormous bathroom). I have been lucky enough to eat, drink and stay here several times, as many times for business as fun, and quite honestly feel on each occasion as if I have strayed onto a glamorous film set.

Service is fun, snappy and impeccable. There are wild shoes and art for sale along lacquered corridors. The residents' bar is like a haute-night club's soft-lit decompression zone. And the best thing is, it is all completely and utterly Belfast. Yes, it's a treat and you may have to save up.

YOU HAVE TO GO!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCM_Tearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,410 - 1,416 of 2,649 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

I attended a wedding at this hotel. It was beautiful, modern and elegantly decorated. The function room was spacious, but the dance floor was at one end of the room made it seem very far away from some guests.

The bar area was glamorise and beautifully decorated, although drinks were a little pricey.

Had the opportunity to visit a friend who was stayings room - it was absolutely out of this world. so big, modern and uniquely decorated and had a lovely sitting area. The little additional touches or nail files, toiletries, slippers made it special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemsiewemsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was our third trip to stay in The Merchant Hotel. It is such a beautiful building and the old and new parts are joined seemlessly to offer first class accommodation either in a traditional room or an Art Deco room. The roof top hot tub is fab for a quick bubble while looking at the Belfadt skyline. The service is second to none abd we were made to feel very special. To have a meal in The Great Room is just about the most fabulous place in the world to eat. We love our visits to The Merchant. It really is hard to praise it enough. You should just go and experience for yourselves. You won't be disappointed. We will be returning in the very near future and we can't wait.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairev-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent a lovely weekend here for my husbands birthday. The staff are very helpful and friendly, The decor is stuning. The food is wonderful served in the great hall set back in time. The spa is amazing you must book, this is total relaxation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and family went to the Merchant Hotel for Afternoon Tea this week. We had the basic tea (£19.50) which was fantastic and well worth the money we had paid. The staff at the hotel are lovely and very attentive - nothing was too much trouble. We asked for some extra sandwiches and were given a whole extra selection. There are plenty of cakes included and anything you can't finish, you are welcome to take away in a box with you. Would highly recommend this hotel for afternoon tea. You dine in the Great Hall which used to be the main banking hall of Ulster Bank before being a hotel and the decor is absolutely amazing. A must if you're in the city!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here with my partner for the weekend and loved every minute. The staff were really friendly and helpful, especially Ingrid and Dean ! The great room was beautiful, as was the décor throughout the hotel. Comfiest bed we have both ever stayed in, loved the small touches like a turn down service that included bottle of water each and some chocolates.
Had the roof top Jacuzzi pretty much to ourselves both days and loved looking out over the city, nipping in and out the sauna and steam room.
Brilliant stay, just wish I could find more reasons to be in Belfast and stay here again !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cassie19851985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were booked in in January and really looking forward to our stay.

Checkin by Emma was seamless and friendly she explained the opening hours of the various outlets and the Hotel even gave us the room we asked for as it had come recommended to us by friends which was a lovely touch.

When I reserved I tried to book a spa treatment but unfortunately there was no availability, i gave my details to Lynn and asked if there was a cancellation if we could be contacted. On Saturday I was called mid-afternoon to be told there were two spaces available if I would like them-yes please! The spa is mind blowing. We have had spa treatments in a few Hotels before but nothing even comes close to the treatment we were given in the merchant. Lisa is an amazing masseuse and the girl that did my husbands massage (Aimee) was also fantastic. The hotel has a relaxation room complete with sparking and still water and fresh fruit.

We stayed in room 527 - also the nicest room I have stayed in so spacious, remarkably clean and bright. No small detail was overlooked and the bed was so comfy.

Dinner in the great room was lovely-especially the venison main and goats cheese starter. Mark served us and was lovely and so cheerful and efficient.

The cherry on the cake was the cocktail bar at the end. My husband didn't know what to have so Chris offered to make him an exclusive surprise- good grief what a cocktail- totally perfect in every way and we have never tasted anything quite like it.

We will certainly be back soon.

Room Tip: 527-amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 47 in Belfast
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#26 of 47 in Belfast
1,464 reviews
Titanic Hotel Belfast
#25 of 47 in Belfast
374 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#9 of 47 in Belfast
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £172 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing