We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Merchant last night on a bed breakfast and dinner basis and what a great experience we had from the receptionist on arrival who shook our hands then the porter who took us to our art deco room on the 4th floor which was very spacious with a huge bathroom
and a very comfortable bed. We had dinner in the state room which was brilliant the waiter was very helpful in recommending several of the dishes. Breakfast was served at the table and once again brilliant. The management most take credit for training the staff to a very high standard well done the Merchant Hotel we will return

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gosnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,402 - 1,408 of 2,653 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

I recently stayed at The Merchant Hotel on a business trip. I had been told it was the best hotel in Europe but I was sceptical until I arrived. It is definitely the best hotel I've stayed at. From the minute I arrived to my departure the service was friendly and impeccable. I have never quite stayed in a room so large and the bathroom was magnificent. All the staff were very friendly and both the service and food were excellent. The hotel is also in a great location especially if going out in the Cathedral Quarter. I will most definitely be going back - this time on a personal trip and I'm looking forward to going to the Spa this time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Merchant Hotel for a few days and we all had a super experience. From the welcome on arrival to the best wishes on departure our stay was first class. All the staff that served us were very professional and the surroundings were stunning. We will definately return and stay the next time we visit Belfast. One point, The Merchant Hotel is not the least expensive in Belfast, however it is certainly one of the best.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank central_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I took my husband for a night in Belfast.We are regular visitors to the city but this was the first time we had stayed in the Merchant.From the moment we arrived it was a pleasure.The staff were extremely courteous and helpful.The hotel is lavishly decorated and the rooms large and sophisticated.The area around the hotel is buzzing with great pubs and restaurants as well as The Mac theatre.We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edelbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We are just home after a one night stay in the Merchant to celebrate my wife's birthday.
The Pro's are as follows:
Valet service takes the hassle out of parking your car and is well worth the £20 charge. Just pull up at reception and the rest is looked after for you. On checkout, call down to reception and they will have your car waiting for you.
We ate in the Grand Hall and it was a beautiful meal with a beautiful bottle of champagne but I wouldn't consider this silver service. The servers lack knowledge of the courses. On the other hand, service was prompt and they were extremely attentive. The food was very good.
The little touches to mark my wife's birthday were really nice.
Breakfast was good but our server didn't run through the options, for example it wasn't clear that we could ask for porridge, fruit or cereal until we seen other diners get this.
Overall, worth experiencing but I've stayed in better. £500 + for one night including dinner, drinks and a spa treatment was a tad too much.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Wow. From the moment you enter you are treated very well. Even though my husband and I had got to the hotel two hours before check in the lovely receptionist said that this wasn't a problem and found us a room immediately. Being 8 months pregnant this was very welcome!
We had the Art Deco room which was fantastic.
I had the mum to be spa package and I can thoroughly recommend this. Emma was fantastic and I was so relaxed afterwards. Very tempted to take a day off work and get this done again.
We also had a fantastic breakfast in the great room. All the staff were great and can't wait to return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I took my boyfriend away for a night in Belfast for his birthday and decided to splurge on a hotel I'd usually consider out of my price range and it was completely worth it.

The room was large and beautifully appointed. We were in the Art Deco side of the hotel which I absolutely recommend. The vanity table had light bulbs around it, the odd chairs were surprisingly comfortable, and the walls were decorated with classy black and white pictures of burlesque showgirls. Everything seemed calculated to delight. The bathroom featured a huge free-standing tub as well as a shower with great pressure.

All the little things that are often missing from even high end hotels were there in abundance. The wifi was decent an free, you could put your own food/drinks in the mini fridge and there were plug sockets next to the bedside tables.

The staff could not have helpful and friendly, we particularly liked Peter, our concierge.

Our stay included a huge breakfast in the Great Room, which is absolutely stunning and I recommend getting a meal there for the ambiance alone. We also had cocktails in Bert's which were a little pricey, but delicious.

We cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: 227 has a pretty poor view over Skipper Street but the room itself was so beautiful I didn't min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 47 in Belfast
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#26 of 47 in Belfast
1,465 reviews
Titanic Hotel Belfast
#25 of 47 in Belfast
380 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#9 of 47 in Belfast
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £174 - £535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing