We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We decided that we needed a treat to mark the end of two dreary months, so we chose probably the best hotel in Ireland. Having stayed here many times before, we know what to expect, but every time we stay, we are amazed at how good an experience it is. Right from the greeting at the door, to taking your car for valet parking, to the friendly easy check-in....you know you are in a real 5-star hotel.
There are two distinct sides to the hotel....the older part of the hotel has beautiful bedrooms, warm colours to match the luxury. The newer section has a lovely soft Art Deco feel, spacious rooms with very relaxing colour schemes. Both have lots to offer.
There are very few experiences that are warmer and cosier than sitting in the fabulous cocktail bar, near the fire, browsing through the books of cocktails available. Such a rich luxurious space.
The staff here are so knowledgeable and are proud of their expertise.
The addition of the spa, hot tub, gym and Bert's jazz bar have been very successful and offer another dimension to the hotel.
Finally, dining in the Great Room is a real 'event' not to be missed. The attention to detail here is matched only by the quality and presentation of the food.
Breakfast is a must......no helping yourself here .........every course is served by friendly staff....all food is cooked freshly....no grease on breakfast plates....and all locally sourced food.
We will never tire of the Merchant experience. It just gets better and better.
Do have a look out for special offers from time to time. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The loft suites in the old section are gorgeous. The Art Deco rooms in the new section are most rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,809
    290
    130
    85
    60
See reviews for
311
1,308
52
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Booked an overnight package on 18th feb for my wife who is 8.5 months pregnant and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. On arrival we were greeted by A pleasant concierge named Brendan who helped us with our luggage and provided us with details about the hotel and spa. We were then checked in by a trainee staff member who was very nice and wished us an enjoyable stay before we were led to our room by Brendan. On this occasion we opted to stay in one of the Art Deco rooms and were thrilled at how luxurious these rooms are presented for guests especially the bathrooms which are beautifully designed to a very high standard that includes spacious wet room and luxury bath behind designed glass plus a large walk in shower room with a power shower that is simply to die for. We popped down to enjoy our spa treatments and were not disappointed with all the staff taking care of us and ensuring my pregnant wife was treated like a princess. We finished with a beautiful prosecco lunch in the spa area where my wife was presented with a special treat from the kitchen with the word Congratulations enshrined with chocolate sauce WOW classy touch from the chef! We then retreated to our luxury room for a siesta and some relaxation time before heading down to dinner in the great room restaurant. The dinner was lovely with all the staff very attentive to our needs and the only negative we had is that the Malbec wine did not taste as it should and when reported to the waiter we were informed our 10% service charge would not be payable? This therefore contradicts the experience and service we had from the restaurant staff and we feel embarrassed for having raised the question was the wine off? (I drink Malbec wine on a weekly basis and I can safely say the wine we received was poor) but the service excellent. We had a wonderful nights sleep with housekeeping coming to our room to supply us with water and replenishing any other items we required. Our breakfast the next morning was as expected top class all round with the merchants eggs Benedict to do for and the hearty home made Ulster fry hitting the spot with my wife who though this time around, the white & black pudding were spicier than normal? We would like to thank the merchant for yet another wonderful experience in particular Julie and all the spa team for making this treat very special for my wife, top class girls.A special mention also to Brendan for all his assistance and of course to the normally overlooked kitchen and restaurant staff for providing us with a nice dining experience in their great room restaurant. Thank you for making this special for my wife and we will see you soon maybe with our new wee bundle of joy. Orlaith & Stephen x

Room Tip: Art Deco rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaghan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

February saw us once again head for the Merchant to celebrate my wife's birthday & St Valentines.They fall near enough together to warrant a joint soiree. We hadn't stayed in the art deco inspired new wing as we both have a hankering for the decadence of the Victorian wing with its heavy curtains,dark woods and boudoir inspired beds.We needn't have worried as the art deco inspired room was truly amazing.The Merchant prides itself in getting little details right and here they've pulled off a master stroke in combining the 1920/30s influenced furniture with a hint of modernism. I was worried it might have been a little cold and impersonal compared to the Victorian wing but no ....it is thrilling and romantic at the same time. At a glance it's part Poirot,part Mad Men ,part James Bond. The only problem with rooms like these is its very tempting to order room service and let the night fly by. That would be a mistake as the food & live jazz in Berts followed by a cocktail in the bar(and what a bar!) only add to the head spinning experience that a night in the Merchant gives you. Will i be back? Try and stop me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My friend and I are just back from having the most wonderful experience staying in the merchant hotel!!!, from the moment we arrived we were greeted by the most pleasant and attentive staff one could hope to meet, nothin was too much trouble.
We stayed on the fifth floor Art Deco suite, it was one of the nicest rooms I have had the pleasure to stay in so spacious and beautifully decorated.., the bed was so comfortable, we just about made it down to breakfast, which was a plenty and extensive menu..
We dined in the Grand Hall with its lavish decor, the food was first class and beautifully presented....
The spa and hydrotherapy pools, saunas and open roof hot tub just added to our experience, there was so much atmosphere in the hotel we did not want to leave to go out to pubs, so we had cocktails in the award winning cocktail bar, these were so beautifully presented it was nearly a pity to drink them, but drink them we did :)
With hotels like the merchant in Belfast I will be more enticed to come to the city for weekend breaks, can't wait for out next visit

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariagal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Wonderful seats besides the musical ensemble. Very attentive staff and excellent afternoon tea. Coffee was a little strong and after an hour of eating could have done with being freshened up, but only a minor issue and if I asked I sure it would have been sorted. We then enjoyed cocktails. Still the best hotel in town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hume98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My friend and I stayed in the merchant as her birthday treat.From arrival to checkout we were given 5star treatment.Room was fabulous and when we came back at night we discovered a card and chocolates and a balloon for the birthday girl.We will definitely be back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longfield5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is an absolutely Gorgeous Hotel- Great Cocktails- Will definately be back!
Truely a great experience for a special treat!
an in a great location with several pubs in the close area to pop into a drink for!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank amy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing