We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The check in was very smooth, taken to the room which was lovely. The staff could not have been more helpful.. We have cocktails and lunch in the bar. The breakfast in the great hall was an experience and for 1st not a buffet. A nice wee touch with some sweets in my jeep for the journey home Altogether a fantastic experience

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Donnamcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,259 - 1,265 of 2,556 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

It is of course the service which makes this a 5 star hotel and the staff were great. I would recommend staying in one of the art deco rooms in the newer part of the hotel as the victorian rooms are starting to show their age.
We enjoyed the hot tub on the 6th floor with great views over Belfast, plastic glasses are provided
if you wish to have a drink.
Berts jazz bar has a nice atmosphere but not all seating has a view of the stage.

Room Tip: Victorian rooms starting to show their age.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don_murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Words wouldn't even come close to saying thank you for everything during our stay.

The stay was our fourth, and we will be back.

I would actually go as far as saying it was one of if not our best stay yet.

The extra touches The Mercahnt add, such as the little cake at dinner and balloon and card in our room, are phenomenal.

If hotels were allowed more stars, I would be giving them to The Merchant!

Room Tip: Simply booking THIS hotel gets you a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GT2o1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Merchant is not only well placed in the city, but the concierge goes above and beyond. Having not visited Belfast before, rather than direct us to restaurants/bars, the concierge took us personally on a whistlestop tour! Thank you so much. I was sold on the city. Loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cabernetsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at the merchant for my 50th birthday. Got upgraded to an Art Deco room which was enormous. The staff could not have been more helpful from start to finish. Would definitely recommend this hotel. It is expensive but worth it for a special occasion. Can't wait to return, hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I treated ourselves to a Sumptuous Sunday package to celebrate our anniversary and couldn't have enjoyed it more. The hotel itself is stunning, especially The Great Room. The staff were welcoming and attentive and the room was stylish and comfortable. A three course meal came with the package and both the food and the service were faultless. A little piece of luxury that left us feeling very spoiled and relaxed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McF838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and I recently visited Belfast to attend Swan lake in the opera house. In order to make the most of our trip we elected to stay in the Merchant. In my opinion the only proper 5 star hotel in Belfast. This was a return visit. The welcome remians as warm. The valet parking is excellent, you step out, your luggage is taken from car and you proceed to check in. No fuss, no issues. Check in is a breeze, you are greeted like an old friend. As on our previous visit we stayed in one of their outstanding suites. We could have been shown to our room but as we were aware the lay out of the property we did not require this. The room/suite was fab, a credit to Eve and her team. Nothing is a problem. The bar at the Merchant is a must visit, there is a great vibe and is all waiter service. Breakfast is the great hall is an expeirence and not a buffet counter in sight as is expected in a high end establishment. The Merchant is now an annual event for us and will remain so. If you want high end quality in Belfast, the Merchant deserves its 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rushe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 45 in Belfast
1,388 reviews
Tara Lodge
#1 of 45 in Belfast
2,587 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £166 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing