We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Stay highly recommend”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for the 4th time outstanding service as always paid a little extra for the Art Deco rooms however I think they are worth the money. Staff and services as always excellent and good food in the Great Room Restaurant however i prefer the food in berts or 21 Social Across the road. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: I would choose an Art Deco on a high floor facing away from the bars on the left side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenMGBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 2,599 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at the Merchant on evening of Friday 16 May last for a romantic and quiet break with my wife. The hotel's public areas are sumptuous and the level of service displayed by all staff we encountered was impeccable Our room was a junior suite with very good facilities and space. We had dinner in the hotel which was very good and there are a number of different bars in the hotel to wander to afterwards. A real bonus is that the Merchant is right in the centre of the Cathedral quarter with many bars and restaurants near at hand and is also in close proximity to the Victoria and Castle court shopping centres.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REGINALD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband brought me here for my birthday for afternoon tea in the great room, omg it was terrific the food was beautiful, the presentation was fantastic and the staff exceptionally professional and helpful! Loved there wee take away boxes too (I still have it)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ciara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

It's easy to fall in love with The Merchant. Art Deco elegance through every nook, beautiful pictures, a naughty edge and highly attentive staff make for a great stay.

Of course it's not cheap and Belfast is not short of hotel options but none are like The Merchant, a unique giant that quietly nestles away on back streets. You find it, walk in, and have your breath taken away.

The bars are different as are the restaurants and you can have a very different experience in the same hotel which is pretty cool.

I highly recommend the rooftop open air jacuzzi, the cocktail bar list, searching out the artwork including the magnificent main dining loos & the rather chic shoe shop. Yes that was shoe shop. Your dearly beloved will be delighted you did. Probably not your bank manager.

Belfast is a fabulous city, The Merchant one of the UK's best boutique hotels.

A X

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank JasperKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent 1 evening at the Merchant during our CIE Emerald Supreme tour. This is a prime, first class, fabulous hotel.
The room is imaginatively designed, spacious and completely comfortable. The bathroom is large, with an enclosed standing shower and, quite unusual for Ireland, a night light.
The dining room, formerly a bank hall, is gorgeous. Food is excellent, accompanied by terrific service.
We recommend the Merchant without the slightest reservation. Kudos to management and staff for a job well done.

Room Tip: Can't imagine that any room would be less than desirable. Ours was extremely quiet and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tejo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My sister & I took our annual tour with Tauck and as part of that tour we were booked into the Merchant Hotel. We have come to expect the very best from Tauck and we certainly were not dissappointed. The Merchant Hotel was amazing. When we entered the room we were both spellbound. Our room was beautifully decorated and so spacious!! We actually didn't want to leave the room & that says a lot since we were in love with Ireland!

Thank you to the staff for your hospitality and care during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our first trip to Belfast and Northern Island, and we were so impressed by not only the city itself but the hotel, was absolutely amazing.
A great location right in the city center, this hotel is a true gem.
Warm welcoming with a contemporary Art Deco twist, you can stay in the more traditional part of the hotel or the more contemporary part, its your choice.
We stayed in the contemporary part which we loved.
The room is very spacious, modern but cosy, with fabulously quirky Art Deco detailing, like the make up area in the wardrobe, and the toiletries in the bathroom.
The food is to die for, they will cook your breakfast to order and you can basically have anything you would want, the dinner served in the main restaurant is divine, there is a a lovely choice of dishes that are cooked to perfection.
And the spa is lovely after a long day sightseeing, they hydra pool is a haven for your tired body and the jacuzzi on the roof is fabulous to sit and relax in with a glass of champagne, and don't forget to use the sauna with its glassed windows and view over the city.
But best of all is the staff, very friendly and welcoming and who consistently delivers a fantastic service. Clare Mullin and Paula Stephens, you were both fantastic, and made our stay so special.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaKTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 46 in Belfast
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 46 in Belfast
1,421 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#8 of 46 in Belfast
1,287 reviews
Titanic Hotel Belfast
#27 of 46 in Belfast
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £155 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing