We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After a room change (the first room was situated about a very loud party) my stay was flawless. The room was pristine, the staff couldn't have done more to make me feel more welcome and the breakfast was five star.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    292
    138
    85
    60
See reviews for
319
1,329
52
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for the 4th time outstanding service as always paid a little extra for the Art Deco rooms however I think they are worth the money. Staff and services as always excellent and good food in the Great Room Restaurant however i prefer the food in berts or 21 Social Across the road. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: I would choose an Art Deco on a high floor facing away from the bars on the left side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenMGBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at the Merchant on evening of Friday 16 May last for a romantic and quiet break with my wife. The hotel's public areas are sumptuous and the level of service displayed by all staff we encountered was impeccable Our room was a junior suite with very good facilities and space. We had dinner in the hotel which was very good and there are a number of different bars in the hotel to wander to afterwards. A real bonus is that the Merchant is right in the centre of the Cathedral quarter with many bars and restaurants near at hand and is also in close proximity to the Victoria and Castle court shopping centres.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REGINALD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband brought me here for my birthday for afternoon tea in the great room, omg it was terrific the food was beautiful, the presentation was fantastic and the staff exceptionally professional and helpful! Loved there wee take away boxes too (I still have it)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

It's easy to fall in love with The Merchant. Art Deco elegance through every nook, beautiful pictures, a naughty edge and highly attentive staff make for a great stay.

Of course it's not cheap and Belfast is not short of hotel options but none are like The Merchant, a unique giant that quietly nestles away on back streets. You find it, walk in, and have your breath taken away.

The bars are different as are the restaurants and you can have a very different experience in the same hotel which is pretty cool.

I highly recommend the rooftop open air jacuzzi, the cocktail bar list, searching out the artwork including the magnificent main dining loos & the rather chic shoe shop. Yes that was shoe shop. Your dearly beloved will be delighted you did. Probably not your bank manager.

Belfast is a fabulous city, The Merchant one of the UK's best boutique hotels.

A X

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank JasperKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent 1 evening at the Merchant during our CIE Emerald Supreme tour. This is a prime, first class, fabulous hotel.
The room is imaginatively designed, spacious and completely comfortable. The bathroom is large, with an enclosed standing shower and, quite unusual for Ireland, a night light.
The dining room, formerly a bank hall, is gorgeous. Food is excellent, accompanied by terrific service.
We recommend the Merchant without the slightest reservation. Kudos to management and staff for a job well done.

Room Tip: Can't imagine that any room would be less than desirable. Ours was extremely quiet and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tejo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My sister & I took our annual tour with Tauck and as part of that tour we were booked into the Merchant Hotel. We have come to expect the very best from Tauck and we certainly were not dissappointed. The Merchant Hotel was amazing. When we entered the room we were both spellbound. Our room was beautifully decorated and so spacious!! We actually didn't want to leave the room & that says a lot since we were in love with Ireland!

Thank you to the staff for your hospitality and care during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing