We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“League of its own!”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“League of its own!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Can't say much more than this hotel is one of a kind.
Fabulous! ! This hotel is in a league of its own! !!!
Worth every penny.
Would definitely recommend. Staff location and food amazing. Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,860
    294
    139
    85
    63
See reviews for
327
1,342
53
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Lovely afternoon tea location. Little boxes given to allow you to take home what you don't eat...very nice touch. Great selection of fruit teas. Waitress brought around little macaroons and different breads. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripexplorer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dromara, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

What a wonderful experience we had at the Merchant for afternoon tea. If you get a chance, get dressed up and go with a fun group of Gillies and have a very posh experience. Absolutely beautiful setting and the afternoon tea was amazing! It was dear but totally worth it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatePeel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The merchant hotel is simply the best hotel I have stayed in the world . Having travelled extensively in the world of business the merchant hotel has to be simply in the top 10 hotels in the world. Luxurious boutique surroundings and simply five Star staff with high customer service ethos. With extensive range of fine dining and an extensive range of wines beers and spirits and the excellent knowledgeable bar staff and service staff. I could recommend the merchant hotel to anybody from around the world simply five stars and the rest !

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gareth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My utmost compliments go to all the staff at The Merchant Hotel for the exceptional service they delivered during the preparations for our wedding and on our Big Day! :)

Myself, and our guest, were blown away by the fantastic service provided by every single member of staff - no request was too much and everyone was greeted with a smile and provided with top class service.

Every single person comment on how 'out of this world' the food was - the best that they have ever tasted and I have to say it was the best and finest meal that we have ever had. I would recommend to anyone to swing past the Great Room for some lunch, dinner or afternoon tea and relax - enjoy the great food and soak in the atmosphere.

We were provided with a suite as part of our package and it was the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in - The Victorian rooms are such a romantic setting.

The Merchant Hotel staff are experts in attention to detail including organising our cake stands, table plan, guest book, reserving accommodation, leaving chocolates and balloons in ours rooms - we could not have asked for more and had nothing to worry about. My husband and I are delight with every aspect of our stay and our reception. I would encourage all engaged couples to visit this beautiful hotel and consider the Merchant for their wedding.

Our top compliments must go to Clare Coyle - Events coordinator who made everything run so smoothly. She is an asset to the Merchant Hotel and will help build your wedding dreams.

Words cannot truly capture how thankful we are for everything that the Merchant Hotel and it's staff did for us on our wedding day - the least we can say is well done, thank you -you have truly given us the best start to our married life. We look forward to seeing you again soon! :)

Mr and Mrs Clulow.

Room Tip: The Victorian rooms are stunning - we love vintage style adored. If you want a more modern style th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clulow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We recently went for a spa package at the merchant hotel. Anyone looking to do a spa day should do it at the merchant, it was the most amazing experience! The staff couldn't have been friendlier and the surroundings were beautiful. It was the most perfect day. Will def be back :)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiera88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just enjoyed an overnight, mid-week stay at the Merchant Hotel. Being in this line of work myself, I was very impressed by the Staff, from the Receptionists to the Concierge. They were very welcoming, efficient, charming and very pleasant. Food in Bert's was first class, staff treated us like Royalty, very attentive. Nothing was any trouble! Our bedroom was delightful, clean and airy. Service and breakfast in the great room was excellent. I would definitely stay again and encourage others to do the same.
Well done to the Staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,498 reviews
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing