We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazz Bar”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
scottish borders
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Jazz Bar”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just tried the Jazz Bar this visit, as with the rest of The Merchant the decor is fabulous.
Pre service excellent, three cocktails and a Guinness took quite a while, despite the relative emptiness .
A point on the Guinness !!! "" we don't sell pints of Guinness ,only halves ,I can bring the second half when your ready "". A little pretentious , almost all the great hotels of the world would only sell the great Guinness by the pint including renounced 5/6 star
Nibbles are at an extra cost, peanuts,olives,.
This is not the first time at the Merchant as a guest or passing trade I feel it's becoming a little elitist.

Room Tip: Beware of hidden extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qaranc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,860
    294
    139
    85
    63
See reviews for
327
1,342
53
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Managed to squeeze in an overnight stay at The Merchant on a recent visit to Belfast. Stayed in the Victorian part of the hotel, great room; comfy bed, massive bath.

Friendly and knowledgable staff at front desk and in gym. Speedy room service for drinks.

Had a great meal in the Great Room followed by incredible cocktails. Don't leave without trying one or more. Fantastic breakfast.

Hot tub on the roof a nice touch too.

Great hotel. Seek it out if you can.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieWakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

we arrived at the hotel on Saturday 19th, checked in and went for lunch in the cocktail bar, 30 minutes later our food arrived without the full order. I should have guessed it was going to go down hill from there. The room was nice and when we returned from dinner at 11:30 approx and went back to our room, the noise level was so loud we felt we were in the middle of a nightclub. At approx. 2 a.m. that noise stopped but was made up by people who had been at a wedding in the hotel running up and down the corridor making a terrible amount of noise until 3:45a.m. approx. The next morning after about 3 hours of uninterupted sleep we went down to breakfast. The food arrived and we started to eat it only to find a foreign hair in the pancakes. As you can guess this put us off our breakfast (we were still charged for this). On checking out we met with the duty to complain and she said that the Manager would contact us the next day. By the Thursday we had still not heard from the hotel so we made contact with them. We then recieved an e-mail from the office of the General Manager saying sorry and giving us an offer of a refund off our breakfast. Appalling customer service and total contempt for their customers. If you are considering staying in this establishment be warned.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Declan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Besides being in the best location to visit Belfast-this is truly a five star hotel that deserves the rating! It is a modern hotel in an old bank building. The rooms are huge & the bathroom is very large too. Nice ammenities in the room too. Friendly staff. We had a typical city view including the leaning clock tower. The main dining room is amazing! It is like an art museum!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindadilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
354 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Belfast. This renovated old bank is in an excellent location near restaurants and shopping. The front doors open to the grand room where there is restaurant seating. The desk for checking into the hotel is actually on the side of the building. The carpets in the hallway are thickly padded and the room was simply beautiful. We had a very comfortable night and wished that we had scheduled more time here. Service at breakfast was superior and the food was excellent. I highly recommend a visit to the old vault where there is a pool table. A great use of space. Truly the best of the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I have just had the most amazing spa day with my daughter who treated me for my 50th birthday. I can't tell how fantastic this day has been. The treatments and staff were fantastic. I would definitely recommend having the tea ritual at the spa and then go for some cocktails in the bar !!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mummygillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My stay at the Merchant Hotel was a delight. The staff saw to my every need and made me feel right at home. The food was excellent and my room was pure luxury. The soaking tub was a wonderful world of relaxation. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Litlsecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,499 reviews
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing