We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merchant Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Malmaison(Belfast)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Belfast City Centre(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$472
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,697)
Filter reviews
2,697 results
Traveller rating
2,064
326
149
92
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,064
326
149
92
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscocktail barart decogreat roomafternoon teahot tubcloth earvictorian roomberts jazz barulster bankrooftop jacuzzipure luxuryturn down servicebeautiful hotelhuge bathroomstar hoteltrufflebirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,312 - 1,317 of 2,697 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

As a native of Belfast I had very high expectations of the Merchant as it is the only 5 star hotel. I organised a dinner party in one of the private rooms for around 20 people. Whilst those who stayed rated the actual accommodation highly , the food was not even mediocre and the service could only be described as dire ! Fish was cold and undercooked and we waited over an hour for ice ! Would not recommend for food nor service .... Go to the Europa or Culloden !

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
12  Thank HannahT96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This place is very nice. I stayed one night on a deal I got through another website. I definitely would not pay over £200 a night to stay here. The breakfast was nice and the staff in the Great Room were very good. The bed was very comfortable. The main thing that got to me was that when I came to check in the reception staff told me to take a seat and they would call me over. I waited about 20 minutes whilst they checked in several people who arrived after me. This annoyed me and I had to go over myself and ask to be checked in and the staff never even acknowledge the fact that they had made me wait and forgot about me. Iv had better service in rural towns in the back end of the USA in comparison to this.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Centre p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for our wedding night.
Amazed by the interior styles, though it can be very difficult to find your way around the maze of corridors.
The front desk staff were pleasant, though the attitude of some of the staff in the great room and bar leave a lot to be desired.

We stayed in the suite, which was beautiful. However the noise from the clubs on the same street vibrates through the walls until well after midnight (I suspect as a listing building it isn't possible to sound proof).

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TokyoApple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Recently stayed at the merchant hotel , hotel is lovely , staff very friendly , rooms lovely and breakfast was excellent , would defiantly recommend this hotel . We tried the cocktails and although they were very nice I thought they were a little over priced at almost £22 for 2 with service charge included in that , girl working in the cocktail bar was lovely very pleasant .

Room Tip: We had room 532 room was lovely but did not have a good view .
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rosslyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We finished off our trip to Northern Ireland and Belfast with a final night at the Merchant Hotel. We left our wives at the front door whist we returned the hire car, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful in assisting with the luggage and check in.

Our room was fantastic and was one of the old vaults on the first floor. Huge bed, crisp linen and soft furnishings. Only down side was we were opposite a couple of pubs which were noisy until the early hours. The bathroom was great with a wonderful drench shower or a choice of a soak in the slipper bath! Our friends were on the second floor, with the biggest bathroom in the hotel!

We visited the roof top hot tub, which provided views over the roof tops of Belfast and to round off our visit, we arranged champagne and chocolates in the rooms, which we enjoyed before dinner.

Dinner was in the Great room (see separate review for the restaurant).

Worth it's five stars,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RoutemasterCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews