We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - again!”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb - again!”
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Last year we had our wedding reception at the Merchant. It was perfect for a small wedding and the attention to detail, great food and helpful staff still have our guests talking! We went back this year for our anniversary. The hotel did not disappoint. The staff are very professional but helpful and friendly. The room was beautiful and they have thought of everything. The meal was delicious, as we expected and they brought us out a little cake at the end to celebrate our anniversary which was a lovely touch.
Nothing is too much trouble and the surroundings are so lavish but you are also put at ease and relaxed. Tip: Book your car into the car park in advance. It is £10 per night but is well worth it!
A great wee visit and more lovely memories!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RozBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,878
    298
    140
    86
    63
See reviews for
328
1,354
55
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We spent two nights at the hotel and had a wonderful stay. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and the food is supberb. The bars has an endless list of gorgeous drinks to sample and the barman Hatden had us entertained for the night.
we ate in the great room and the experience was faultless.
We would highly recommend this hotel and are sure to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

My sister and I stayed at the Merchant Hotel for a long weekend and it was blissful.

From the chauffer in our hired Bentley who gave us a personal tour of Belfast, to the warm welcome we received, the design of the building, the art inside and the fabulous cocktails we had such a wonderful time! We were treated like royalty, the service was superb, and the breakfasts are amazing! The Cloth Ear restaurant next door is definitely worth a visit for food at a price that isn't as scary as the hotel restaurant, and it's very good!

Belfast is a wonderful city and this is the place to stay when you visit!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EleanorCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

A wonderfurl hotel: a feeling of the past with the confort of today, a young and friendly staff, a good location, superbe beds and big and confortable bathroom. A perfect hotel: charming, welcoming and part of Belfast heritage aswell! .

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fandorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I spent 3 nights in The Merchant in June 2009, This was my 4th trip in as many weeks and had stayed in the other 3 big hotels in Belfast.
This hotel beats the others hands down on everything. I stayed in the Larkin suite and my colleague in the Brian Friel. The ceiling was approx 16ft tall, beautifully decorated if a tad dark. The bed was unbelievably comfortable, so much I thought my back would be broken next morning ! The Bathroom has a stand alone Bath, double shower and is very tastefully decorated. It makes you feel like you were there in another time with all mod cons ?
The restaurant was fabulous, service and food included. Breakfast is very special.
The only downside to my trip was the working day was so long that I did not spend as much time there as I should have. They are adding a spa to the hotel which should add an extra special feature. Pricewise, there was probably between £ST10 and £ST20 in the difference between the other 3 hotels.
Have a look at the website for a preview of the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NollaigMacAnStocaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed for a night in a very opulent but small room. The cocktail bar and restaurant were excellent and the staff were very helpful. What spolied the stay slightly for us was that the TV in the room did not have cable or satellite TV, nor was there a kettle to make tea or coffee. Whilst I realise that I can pick up the phone and order that there are times when you don't want the fuss of having somebody enter the room. The cooked breakfast that we had was excellent and came with everything that you could want except for tomato ketchup. Again, I could call down to reception for that but it is more fuss and another intrusion.

We had a great stay but when staying at a 5 star hotel I expect everything to be just right.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slabbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Amazing hotel, justified 5 star. Opulant room with high ceilings, antique furniture and the most comfortable bed ever. All staff friendly and attentive to all your needs. Dining room is must see and food and service do it justice. A great experience!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Newcastle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,487 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 44 in Belfast
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing