We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise!!!!”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Noise!!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

For a 5 star hotel the noise from the surrounding night life is ridiculous. They actually have ear plugs in your rooms!!!!! We had no hot water in our first room, none in the second and a little better in the third. For a one night stay having to move three times due to noise and insufficient amenities is ridiculous. The hotel is lovely but the premier inn offers quieter surroundings and wlhot water!!! Will not be staying their again

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,878
    298
    140
    86
    63
See reviews for
328
1,354
55
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed in the Merchant for 2 nights between 22 – 24 July for our 10 year wedding anniversary. The staff were fantastic and could not do more for you – especially William the porter. We were given a complimentary room upgrade to a suite which was great. Dinner and breakfast in the Great room was superb and again the staff were very friendly and congratulated us on our anniversary. The anniversary plate at dinner was a lovely surprise. We had a lovely and relaxing time at the Merchant and we cannot wait to sample the new extension and spa facilities. Thank you to all for making our 10th wedding anniversary memorable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magherafelt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Stayed in this beautiful hotel for two nights at the end of July.
First Impressions..very impressed. They were in the middle of preparing to re locate the reception area to the new stylish wing to the hotel, so the 'desk' appeared to be down a corridor as such. Nevertheless, the Receptionist/Bellman were both very friendly and helpful. We were early so our luggage was stored and we came back later, problem with the door locks meant we had to be let into our room and had no key until later (someone was going to let us in each time - but we didn't need it) The room itself was lovely, very dark decor and furnishings, but I like this style. Old World Chic I'd describe it. The bathroom was stunning...huge..again dark decor..but two windows threw in some natural light during the day. Lovely roll top bath was a welcome...and the space was great. The turn down service was excellent...all the usual complete with chocs... little Quote of the Day...and the weather forecast for the following day. We were impressed! Room was well equipped and the bed was very comfortable.
Now for the gripes. Personally I have an issue with the amount of hotels who never seem to place the wall mirror at the right height in relation to the dressing table chair.! (Mirror too high/ NO mirror/ or directly opposite the window - so you're sitting in your own light) The broad dressing table was badly placed, and the only socket you could use for the hairdryer , was under it, so you had to get down on the floor to reach and plug it in. Not that easy for someone not so agile. (like me?) There was no other usable socket near enough to a mirror. The second thing was the shower...the large rainfall shower head was way to big for the size of the cubicle (not enough room to step out of the waterfall say to shampoo your hair) The final thing was the noise from the Cloth Ear. We stayed Wed/Thurs , first night was fine..2nd night I was still awake after 3am. I'm sure being a restored hotel etc its probably virtually impossible to drown out noise. But having stayed at other hotels with similar issues perhaps mentioning it when booking , and if unavoidable at least providing ear plugs or something would help..?
All that aside..and they really aren't huge issues, but they do make the difference when you're expecting 5*.....you certainly CANNOT fault the staff. The most professional and friendly we've perhaps come across. Restuarant - strangely open plan - but fabulous food! Breakfast - ditto - couldn't fault it. As the decor in the rooms is so nice and relaxing, perhaps they could look at how to make the make-up/hairdrying a bit easier for the ladies..trust me...its what we remember! And we're worth it... (",)
Definately recommend this hotel - and hopefully get to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJaneJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Stayed in The Merchant Hotel for one night over the August Bank Holiday weekend. we stayed the Sunday night, it wasn't a bank holiday weekend in Belfast so we got a good rate on the room. This really is a very cool boutique hotel, I would liken it to Prestonfield in Edinburgh, The Morrison in Dublin or Malmaison in Manchester, it has that art deco feel, lots of velvet and dark walls. The staff were excellent and we loved the room, we had cocktails at the bar which were top class (although we were waiting for them for quite a bit), we had dinner in the jazz bar "Bert's" which is really half bar-half restaurant, again the service and the food were really excellent and live music was played throughout the meal, sort of caberet style but subtle. Next morning we had breakfast in the Great Room (dont forget to look up to check out the amazing ceiling!!) and again the food and service were fantastic. We headed out shopping at that point and the hotel is only two minutes away from the centre of town, so brilliant location too.

The only downside to our stay was the noise from the cloth & ear pub directly below our room (we were room 102 on the first floor). I am not sure if this pub is part of the hotel or not but they had a dj and we heard every song. it didnt go on too late in fairness but you could hear people on the street afterwards and if we hadnt had a few drinks to conk us out it could have been VERY annoying. bear in mind that this was a sunday night so pub was probably quieter than normal. its not exactly what you expect from a 5 star hotel. its a shame because everything else was amazing and if this hadnt happened this would be a rave review.

so all in all, we will definitely be going back to this hotel again but next time will specifically request a room at the other end of the hotel (and check that this wouldn't put us over the nightclub either)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2010

My daughter left for her wedding ceremony and reception in Bangor from here. We stayed (4 of us) the day before event and decided to come back the day after. It was superlative in every respect.

it is hard to find fault with anything. What gave me great pleasure was the friendly smiles and greetings of the staff even as you walked by. this hotel tries hard to cater for your every comfort. a wedding is a time frought with feelings and anxieties. the calmness of the Merchant staff helped put everyone at ease. Visitors were courteously shown to our rooms including photographers and hairdressers etc.

The dining experience is luxurious and attentive to every detail. The food is fabulous and the price is no more than you would pay in any good place (and there aren't too many) in Belfast.

The hotel seems to have a nightclub which attracts the dishiest clientele. Nightclub in Belfast means 10 to 1 of course!

The experience is not cheaop but worth every pound.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Really looked forward to our stay in The Merchant and could'nt wait for our weekend to arrive.When we arrived we were met by the concierge who was very attentive. All was well until we settled down for the night, our room was situated above The Cloth Ear Bar and the disco may as well have been in our room. If that wasnt bad enough when it was over, the street noise was unbelievable. This went on to about 4.00AM, on the Saturday night it was the same and to top things off when we eventually got to sleep at around 5.00am the fire alarms in the hotel went off several times which was to be honest very scary as we didnt know if there was a fire or not. I had to go home to get some sleep, a total waste of money, came home exausted and very very disappointed. When we mentioned our feelings at reception when leaving we were told we should have used the ear plugs by the side of the bed. So there you go a weekend in a 5 star hotel that provide you with earplugs to irradicate their noise problem.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tyronegirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtownards
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Just thought it was worth posting a tip for Afternoon Tea.

I have family visiting from Germany and my brother working in the Hotel industry has always shown an interest in the Merchant, we decided to call in for Afternoon Tea, the place had a few tables with customers but mostly the tables were empty.
We asked for a table for 6, but were told that it was fully booked, we were not offered the option of
"yes we could fit you in but as we are fully we need the table back by whatever time",
the lady advised us to go next door to the Cloth Ear, where we where seated and given menus', we advised the lady that we just wanted tea/coffee/drink, the lady took a drinks order but the drinks failed to arrive, when we enquired after our drinks we were told to order at the bar.

I have had evening Cocktails in this hotel and it was a very enjoyable experience with a large menu of cocktails.

So this is not a complaint but just a tip for anyone planning to walk in off the street for Afternoon tea, to avoid disapointment - BOOK IN ADVANCE.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,485 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#4 of 44 in Belfast
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing