We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“five star excellence”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2010

central location
spacious room
house keeping excellent
very helpfull and competent

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tootsie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,350 - 2,356 of 2,622 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

Excellent! A stunning hotel, service & location perfect. Our room was plush with the best bed we have ever slept in, really felt like a princess the whole wknd.

The Great Room Restaurant was a breathtaking venue, awesome food & service again,
followed by cocktails in the bar...

Really looking forward to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HThomasCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

recently spent the night in the merchant for dinner bed and breakfast. this place is absolutely fantastic. the service is the best we have ever had. the room was very clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. a fridge in the room with no mini bar for storing your own wine or beer is a great idea.
the restaurant in the hotel is off the scale for quality, atmosphere and service. a definite michelin star(s) will be well deserved.
love the place. we will definitely be back.PERFECT

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAVALAR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We were delighted with our superb room in the new wing. It was large and luxurious with a delightful bathroom. We enjoyed a relaxed dinner in Bert's Jazz bar, and in fact have since recommended this to friends who also had a good meal there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jendoc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed in the Merchant for our 3rd wedding anniversary, benefitting from a fabulous special offer for their new art deco rooms in the hotel extension. The rooms were beautifully appointed - elegant furniture, lots of space, and wonderful aqua bathroom.
We booked to eat in the Great Room Restaurant as they offered a £25 3 course menu (we were there on a Monday night). The food was great and the ambience of eating in such a beautiful room made the evening really special. We finished the evening with drinks in Bert's Jazz Bar, smooth and cool - how could Belfast's High Street have been just outside the window??
Service and attention to detail really stood out - coming back to find that the 'turn down' service had visited and left us water and chocolates was particularly nice.
You could tell that the work is just in the final stages of getting finished (when we went to have a look at the roof top terrace we had to step over some workmen) but it is also clear from everyone you meet that there is such pride in what has been created - it really is a special place.
The only downside was not having time to take everything in - we didn't get to visit the spa or gym, or have cocktails, or watch any of the free movies.
Will just have to go back for 2 nights next time!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavapalava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

The Merchant Hotel truly is the 'jewel' in Belfast's crown. This is a wonderfully opulent hotel offering all the quality and high standards of decor and professionalism you'd expect from a hotel with this rating. The staff are extremely helpful and attentive and it is ideally situated to allow you to explore the city. My advice is to get on the hotel's mailing list and take full advantage of the special offers which are fantastic value!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimublue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The Merchant is a gorgeous hotel with suites which are full of indulgent features. I loved the bathroom and wanted to spent my entire day and evening in there! But the beds in the suite were comfortable and the lighting was perfect. Despite having the 1940s look, the suites had all the mod cons with a temperature control if I was getting too hot or cold.
I went for breakfast and I was spoilt for choice with lots of seasonal goodies. All in all, its worth a visit because it most certainly knocks the spots off other city hotels in the UK. Besides, it has the best cocktail bar in the world - and that's official.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManjuMalhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 45 in Belfast
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#26 of 45 in Belfast
1,436 reviews
Titanic Hotel Belfast
#28 of 45 in Belfast
307 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#10 of 45 in Belfast
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £152 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing