We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spledid opulence with impeccable service coupled with Northern Irish warmth and hospitality- you must visit!”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Spledid opulence with impeccable service coupled with Northern Irish warmth and hospitality- you must visit!”
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We have wined and dined in the merchant previously much to our satisfaction but had not until now stated. Our expectations were completely met. The speed of check in, convenience of valet parking and service (right down to informative william, the porter) was exactly what we expect from a 5 star hotel. However, the staff are warm and down to earth, rather than the slightly sycophantic and formal style often (wrongly) favoured by hotels of this class. The room was superb- a great size, massive bathroom,sofa for sprawling the comfiest bed, art deco-tastic decor and a cool walk in dressing room with 'theatre lights' mirror.
We didnt actually avail of breakfast, favouring a lie in- its up there price wise but cant comment on what you get for the price.
By the way- the Merchant is in a great location for exploring the sights of belfastand its great nightlife plus has a fab new gym, roof top hot tub etc. Highly highly recommended- you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,860
    294
    139
    85
    62
See reviews for
326
1,342
53
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham by Sea
Level Contributor
235 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I stayed here for one night recently and for £140 got a superb suite with champagne. The suite was big, comfortable and looked newly refurbished. Overall the hotel has a lot of charm and staff were very friendly. The only down side was the 30 minute wait to get my car the next day. TIP: ask them to get your car but wait in your room till they call you down!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Me and hubby were supposed to be in Paris to celebrate our first wedding anniversary but due to French strikes our flight was cancelled - we consoled ourselves with a night in The Merchant. The minute we walked into reception and handed the car keys to the concierge all thoughts of gay Paris were forgotten. Our room was fantastic - gorgeous decor, superb bathroom, the most comfortable bed EVER! Bags dropped off we made our way to the cocktail bar and fully immersed ourselves in the luxury of our surroundings. We decided to eat out at cafe Vaudeville - highly recommended - and then returned to the hotel for more cocktails before bed. Breakfast was lovely however one small annoyance was the table size. Sitting at a table for two made for a bit of a squeeze when you take into account toast, condiments, coffee pot, teapot, plates etc - a bigger table required to do justice to the breakfast. Hubby enjoyed his full irish while i was content with porridge with whiskey cream and honey - divine!!! the staff couldn't do enough. The Merchant will now be the destination for every anniversary to come.....

the only negative is perhaps the price - we have stayed at other top end hotels before but have been put off by the pretentiousness of staff etc - The Merchant is not a snobby hotel however i do think their prices exclude many people who would appreciate the hotel for what it is but can't justify handing over £200 plus for a one night stay. we earn a decent wage and would happily become more regular customers if the current pricing structure was more realistic, especially in the current climate!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I took my husband to the Merchant Hotel as a treat for his birthday. We stayed in one of the double deluxe new rooms in the hotel and all I can say is WOW! My husband is very hard to please and he was really impressed. This hotel has it all - fantastic rooms, every thing that you need at your fingertips. You are welcomed into a huge bedroom with its own sitting area and a fantastic bathroom with shower and a bath. Chocolates and water left in your room when you return. The breakfast too is first class with the service to match. The staff in this hotel not only make you welcome but really go out of their way to help you out, they must enjoy their work as they all looked so happy at work.

If you enjoy the gym which we used it is on the roof top so the views are fantastic, the hotel also has a sauna, steam room and even an outdoor hot tub, you just cannot believe that you are in Belfast. And there is no need to take a watch as the Albert Clock is on hand to tell you the exact time!

I have stayed in fantastic hotels around the world, in the north and south of Ireland and reallt this hotel which is less than 10 miles from our home is really hard to beat. It is home from home with a service which is second to none.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

A friend and I stayed one night in the Victorian part of the hotel. The hotel was celebrating the opening of a huge new part with large new rooms, a jazz bar and a Spa. We just loved our room - beautifully decorated in period style, big bathroom with marble and victorian tiles - and part of our offer was a bottle of champagne, served chilled to our room. The service throughout the hotel was brilliant! From the receptionist and the concierge and room service, to the cocktail bar and the restaurant staff - all were attentive and professional and made us feel at home. The hotel's public rooms are quite magnificent and unique - fantastic baroque decoration.
We didn't have time to visit the Spa but met people who had and who were very impressed. We're going back for one of their day packages! And we've already been back to their cocktail lounge after a day's shopping - lovely to relax and be pampered in gorgeous surroundings! We'll definitely be back to stay as soon as funds allow!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed here at the end of August and couldn't have asked for a more perfect experience, right through from check in to having our complimentary champagne delivered to the room to checking out! Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfast45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Without doubt one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in ,service,and Food rates perhaps the best ever

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airport006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,499 reviews
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing