We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How the other half live”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How the other half live”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Took my wife for valentines nite and she just loved the experience,rite from the moment they parked the car,took the bags to the room and what a room from the wardrobes with light sensors and film star vanity mirror,beautiful large bath,walk in and sit down power shower,and what a bed very comfy and mirrors and white leather everywhere,I highly recommend at least to stay here one time just to feel good

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Softymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,860
    294
    139
    85
    63
See reviews for
327
1,342
53
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

great hotel, by far the best in belfast, rooms were huge ( in the extention anyway) The bed were very comfortable and the bathroom was six star. The only down side was the view from the window but what do you expect from a city centre hotel. location is very central, and the food was just perfect. could not rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickfoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Treated my husband to a surprise 2 day stay in the Merchant for his birthday, We were both extremely impressed by the beautiful room and the hotel in general, but what really struck us was the fact that the staff were so professional and friendly and happy in their work. This was right across the board, from the door staff, reception, spa, restaurant and cleaning staff, it is very obvious that they are happy delivering a top class service in surroundings they are proud of. We have stayed in some of the best hotels in various parts of the world, and we are quite critical of service, where this hotel is concerned I cannot speak to highly of standards.
We had dinner in the Great Room on one night which was lovely, and breakfast on both mornings.
We took advantage of everything on offer including the Spa and Gym and tried to come uip with something we could think of as an improvement to service, but could not thnk of anything!!!
My husband and I were delighted with our stay at the Merchant, and the little personal touches that we received, we will most definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Merchant - a Christmas present from me to my husband. The service was just fantastic. Our room was so beautifully furnished and the bathroom was pure luxury. The staff were all so friendly and attentive. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the Grand Hall on Friday evening and it was great that we were not rushed through our meal - we were given time to relax and enjoy our meal - service again was great and the food was presented beautifully, especially the swan shaped profiteroles which looked too good to eat. The breakfast again was just lovely - excellent choice of food. I would highly recommend this Hotel and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigredbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

First class service from the minute you walk in until you leave, faultless as far as I'm concerned, front desk, bar, restaurant and concierge staff all excellent. Best in NI that i've stayed in by a mile. Rooms excellent also bed super comfortable. Will be back. Many thanks

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamhenry1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

My husband and myself stayed in this wonderful hotel for only 1 night, but I wished it could have been longer. Staff were so friendly and helpful, room was warm, spacious, with all the facilities you expect from a 5 star hotel. Our children had booked this as our christmas present along with tickets to the strictly show at the nearby oddessy complex. This hotel is within 5 mins walk to venue which makes it an great location, also for city centre. We left our car at home and took the train as taxis are plentful and reception will call one for you. Nothing is a problem for them. For a special occasion this hotel is hard to beat and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindalynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

stayed in merchant hotel with my wife went to the cloth ear for a few drinks and found the door staff very unhelpful and very rude will not be rushing back hotel beautiful door staff disgrace

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrybo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,499 reviews
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing