We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay. Worth every penny!”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Stayed here with my mum as part of her Christmas Present. We had a gorgeous twin room. Have stayed in a few 5 star hotels but the Merchant has been the best so far. Service was secind to none, so friendly and couldn't do enough for guests.

Valet parking was fab and very well priced compared to other car parks in Belfast. Had dinner in the Cloth Ear which was again superb. Breakfast in the morning was also lovely,

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmi_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,184 - 2,190 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2011

Having submitted a review for the truly exceptional Great room restaurant, this review is primarily aimed at the spa but will include another review of the restaurant. We booked a couples 1 hour standard massage. We were met at the Spa entrance by a slightly frosty receptionist who told us to turn off our mobile phones before being allowed downstairs into the Spa. A fair point and considerate for the Spa members but her manner could have been a bit more friendly. Downstairs is a cavernous space where forms are filled in. So big that maybe a table in the middle with something on it as it feels like a warehouse. We were then led on a confusing little wander around the waiting sofa and the changing rooms - it really is a huge space. For the first time, I could hardly do up the robe despite it being an XL it barely covered my bits and im not particularly huge. Simiarly, the sandals/slippers were uncomfortable being hard plastic soles and a tight plastic upper. I am a size 9 but any larger foot would definately not fit into the sandal. Larger robes/sandals should be in place for male Spa guests IMO. But despite minor niggles, the massage was probably the best Ive ever had and my wife said the same hence the reason the the 5 star rating. Also the manner and courtesy of the masseurs was first class and we were made to feel really welcome.

We also again had the tasting menu with wine in the great room restaurant and again was probably the best food that Northern Ireland can offer. Having the selected wines is a far more sensible choice as you get a glass with each course plus desert wine and port for only £20 per head which woulkd cost double that if you chose your own wine. And with so many courses, one bottle of wine for two would just not last (and didn't the last time we had the tasting menu. A goats cheese amuse bouche, a duck and leek terrine, diver caught scallop, quail on a bed of hand cut pasta in a carbonara sauce with a poached quails egg and then either monkfish in parma ham or tournedos rossini. The tournedos won the day in the battle of the mains. Then chocolate fondant with orange ice cream, desert wine then cheese and biscuits and port.

The only faux pas was the cheese and biscuits. The plate/cheese/grapes/chutney/biscuits were all freezing cold - the plate had obviously been assembled in advance and stored in a fridge with everything (including even the biscuits) totally chilled. It was such a shame after an gem of a meal especially as we both look forward to the cheese course. We left the cheese course mostly untouched as it was tasteless with everything just so cold. We were offered a glass of port as compensation. Other than that fall at the last hurdle, a truly special meal.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2016-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

The Art Dec rooms are brighter than the Victorian rooms. We found the Victorian room a little dark for our taste but the staff moved us with no problem at all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

The excellent quality of the cooking and service easily sets this Hotel apart from the usual mediocore Irish Hotel, Restaurant experience.




  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alavna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed as part of the Merchant's February sale and it was one of those rare occasions when the reality actually exceeds your expectations. So often with hotels the reality doesn't live up to what is promised etc, especially when you've booked at a sale price, but from start to finish we loved the place. We were shown to our art deco room by the lovely concierge and it was fab looking with lots to look at and explore and a massive bathroom with a huge sit in shower. As well as that the roof top jacuzzi, restaurant and cocktail bar were all great too and again just beautiful to look at. There's a real sense of decadence and charm with the Merchant and it's so relaxing just being there and feels special. As for the staff, they were friendly and very helpful at all times without being in your face, you could tell they were well trained. So overall whether you are on holiday or local and just after a wee night away from normality I'd def recommend The Merchant!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Our room was unbelievable! the detail in the room alone was to die for! we were treated like vips from the minute we entered the hotel, the concierge parked our car, we were checked in where another took our bags and brought us to our room! the size of the room alone was unbelievable, the bed was sooo comfortable the bathroom was huge, shower was amazing with a waterfall shower head. We went to see a show in the evening, when we returned our bed was turned down and there were 2 bottles of complimentary water and 2 chocolates on our bedside lockers and our room had been giving a light tidying, and shower gels etc had all been replaced along with our towels, excellent service and excellent staff! could not have asked for better treatment, we had a very early checkout and we were able to have our continental breakfast brought to our room at 5:30am and upon checkout, my car was awaiting me just outside the door at 6am! thanks for excellent service and such a great stay! Would not hesitate to stay with ye again! Hopefully it would be possible to be even able to book the same room! :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevieboi2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

My stay at The Merchant was fantastic from beginning to end, the staff were excellent, well mannered, friendly and available to cater for your every need.
The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are amazing, comfortable and luxurious. The Victorian rooms are like a fairytale room and the art deco is every girl's dream.
I can't wait till my next stay at the Merchant, it is the best hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendywoo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 45 in Belfast
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#8 of 45 in Belfast
1,273 reviews
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 45 in Belfast
1,408 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £154 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing