We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B is a labour of love”
Review of Kate's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kate's B&B
Ranked #39 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My partner and I stayed at Kate's for two nights in the summer in this quaint and welcoming bed & breakfast. Our double room was very homey. It was an average size as far as B&B rooms go and it is decorated delightfully as if it were a bedroom and not a hotel. Our room was not en-suite, but the toilets and shower was right outside our door. The premises generally is a little worn with aged, but well loved and taken care of.

The full Irish breakfast was plenty of food and atmosphere among the guests and staff is very amiable. The intimate breakfast room allowed guests to meet new faces and enjoy pleasant conversations. The dining room itself is heavily decorated with antiques and drawings which again gives the atmosphere of being in a home.

Kate and her husband are extremely approachable and sociable. They have two cats that roam in the dining area and the hallways, but only while being watched by one of the proprietors. This B&B is a labour of love.

Overall:
Pro: Welcoming and friendly. Great value. Cats. Good service.
Con: Not en-suite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Kate's B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

During a sponetaneous trip to Belfast, we happen to stumble upon Kate's B&B after seeing it walking down the street. Kate was very friendly and personable. Our room was on the second floor with a shower inside and toilet in the hall. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was delicious and almost more than we could eat! The home is very secure with two locked doors to go through afterhours. It is very close to a popular street with many restaurants and pubs. Only downfall was being told in the morning that in 10 minutes it was checkout- she did not give us the information at arrival. Overall, clean, safe B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

At Kate's B&B is one of the most welcoming place I have ever stayed. It is very close to the city center, just 10 minutes on walk. It is a small establishment, but it is perfect place to just relax and charge your batteries after a full day of visiting Belfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

You would not want to live in any other B&B or hotel around Belfast if you'd experience the homeliness of Kate's B&B. I've never felt as welcome and as at home in any other hotel or B&B in all my years of travel. Kate and Clem are such kindly and understanding folks. They're friendly, honest, sincere and truly want nothing but to make you feel at home. In my long stay with them (of 10 nights), I was made part of the family and had many interesting chats with both Kate and Clem. The place is cosy, warm, clean and feels very much like home. I will not forget the kindness shown by them both, and the many joys the family pets have brought me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AngrodTelrunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

A very cosy place and very clean. Clearly decorated in accordance with the proprietor's tastes which may not be to everyone's tastes, but serves to make the whole place feel very homely. Unlike a lot of b&b's, Kate's looks really appealing from the street.....if you were passing by you'd want to go in for a look round.

Good breakfast too...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danglemoongroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

we stayed at Kate's B&B for the weekend. We had a great time. Kate the perfect hostess and the rooms are very nice. Breakfast was almost too much to eat and very good. The location is good too, it's only about a 10 Minutes walk to the city center. There are pubs and restaurants nearby Kate's B&B so there's no need to go to the city center in the evening for dinner. I loved it at Kate's B&B and would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReginaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

would recomend this b@b to anyone visiting belfast .i was over for a weekend with two friends and kate could not have made us feel more welcome .beautiful house just like a home from home hearty irish breakfast served and both kate and her husband were there to greet you will defo be back again

Room Tip: would recomend any room as they all are pleasant to stay in
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maic980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Greenmount B&B
#16 of 50 in Belfast
173 reviews
Failte B&B
#25 of 50 in Belfast
33 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Botanic Rest
Botanic Rest
#30 of 50 in Belfast
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windermere Guest House
#12 of 50 in Belfast
136 reviews
Camera Guesthouse
#37 of 50 in Belfast
165 reviews
All Seasons Guest House
#14 of 50 in Belfast
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kate's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kate's B&B

Address: 127 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range: £24 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kate's B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kate's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kate`s Bed And Breakfast
Kate`s Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing