We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard of cleanliness unacceptable”
Review of McCracken's

McCracken's
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McCracken's
Ranked #29 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2009

This B&B (which, by the way, has moved further up on Antrim rd) was simply the wrong choice for us, especially when the room price didn't include breakfast, while another B&B on the same street offered the same price breakfast included.

What the other reviewer said about dirty shower mats is true - the hand towel was dirty when we checked in and there was a half-empty coca-cola bottle behind the bed. We checked in on a Thursday and by Monday nobody had yet cleaned the ensuite facilities!!!!! I had to point it out to the manager, who then "cleaned" it to the satisfaction of the owner, who thought now the shower was "spotless" and the mold on the curtain shower was a "detail". In fact, when I first told the owner, he replied I could do it myself, showing me the cupboard with the cleaning tools!!! The shower was cleaned again the following Sunday by the French employee, the only understanding person there, again after I complained to him I shouldn't be changing by myself the towels and the bed-sheets and emptying the bins! Were we paying for a ROOM or just a BED, after all?

Unfortunately, we couldn't change B&Bs because they had demanded that we pay all the money in advance (for all 12 nights!), so we had to endure sleeping there until the end of our stay in N. Ireland. The manager said they ask for all the money in advance because if people booked for a certain period of time but then left earlier, they'd have turned away other customers saying they're booked. Funny, considering most of their 7 rooms remained empty during those 12 nights we stayed there! And I certainly sympathize with all other customers who decided to cut their stay short - I wish we could have done so as well!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quiet_traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2008

A difficult review to write as Geraldine and her Saturday breakfast cook were both welcoming and great to talk with, however the accommodation was below average. Both of our rooms were small with tiny ensuites, broken shower head supports and problematic water flow, making it difficult to shower and impossible to wash hair. Standard of cleanliness is ok but not great, I'm sure our shower mat had been used previously.
On arrival we were told that there had been a mixup by staff and the twin room we'd booked was not available for the first night, however we suspect it had been given away to walk-in guests who arrived earlier than we did. Instead we were given a double bedroom at the front, which was stuffy but unable to open windows for fresh air due to traffic noise outside which lasted almost all night, making it near-impossible to sleep. However, the 2nd room used by one of our party was not overlooking the street and was quiet.
TV, tea/coffee not available in the rooms, only in the small guest lounge area. No probs with breakfast, nothing flash but aok.
The locality is quite a walk from the city area and from the hotel in the other direction which served a great meal but was too far to walk, particularly as the neighbourhood is quite seedy and we didn't feel entirely safe out and about.
All in all, despite the folk at McCracken's being hospitable, we wouldn't stay here again, although thought it would probably do stag/hen's parties, backpackers etc. We also had to ask for a receipt from the foreign student who took our cash payment, he seemed a little reluctant but we weren't comfortable with leaving without proof of cash payment.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jette_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Of all the B&Bs we stayed at in Ireland (both North and South), this one was at the bottom end of our list. The building and room were clean, save for the bathroom, which was fairly clean but not as spotless as we had seen in other establishments. The quality of the fixtures was on the low end of the scale. Also, the showerhead holder was broken and there was no shelf for shampoo or soap, so that made showering a little more difficult. In addition, the toilet paper holder was falling off of the wall.

The other minuses were the walk to the downtown core (a little long, made to feel longer because the area the B&B is in a little on the drab side), and the breakfast wasn't as good as in any other B&Bs we'd stayed in. The scrambled eggs were watery and the orange "juice" appeared to be an orange drink. Also, the ambience and lighting made it feel more like a hotel than a homey B&B. It would also be nice if there were TVs in the rooms instead of having just one common TV room.

On the plus side, the room was affordable (compared to the general cost of things in Northern Ireland), and the proprietress was very friendly. Also, the room, which was at the back of the house, was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valegal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We booked this B&B on the basis of the positive reviews. After much confusion with the booking over the previous week we booked in early with a friendly Irish lady - the last of our warm Irish welcome as thereafter service was from foreign hired hands. The walk to town was definitely twenty minutes on a rainy afternoon. The rooms were clean and tidy, the shower closets miniscule with shower heads that could not be hung up. Our rooms faced onto the Antrim road which on a warm wet Friday night was extremely noisy until about five am.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank desertrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFFENDEDINIRELAND, owner at McCracken's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2008

I was very saddened to see this review as with the exception of one French student who works nights all my staff are Irish. From what was written one might assume that with the exception of Gerry all the other staff are foreign.This is simply not true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Based on reviews, I booked two rooms for the one night we were traveling through Belfast. I would say that this accommodation is just average compared to other B&B's I've stayed in Ireland.

McCracken's is run as more of a business than a welcoming home for travelers - meaning the rooms are very clean but basic, and it lacks any charm or quaintness that others have. Breakfast in the morning was a typical Irish breakfast of eggs, sausages and bacon, and there weren't really options of anything else.

The location is good - a 10 minute walk to Belfast - and street parking was easy to find within the location.

Gerry was really friendly and allowed us to check in a bit early when we arrived in Belfast and didn't want to leave our belongings in the car.

All in all, if you're looking for a homey environment, this isn't the place. But if you're looking for a quick clean place to stay for an evening, this will work.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SF-Traveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Stayed here for two nights over a weekend in April this year and could not fault it. We arrived at 8am and after only a five min taxi ride we were at the B&B where the owners allowed us to store our bags and gave us instructions on how to get to town, which is only a ten min walk with some interesting sights on the way relating the Belfasts past!
Room was clean and bright with own shower room. Only small but perfectly formed and the furniture was of a very high quality. Bed was clean and comfy. There was no noise at night and it was the great spot to rest at night.
No tv in the room but ther was a very comfy TV room with free tea and coffee making items. Again a very sweet room.
The breakfast was also very yummy, much better than any mass produced breakfast you would find in a hotel.
Price's were great and all in all it was a lovely place to stay. I would stay here again if i was to return, without looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corhiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2007

We don't usually stay in B&B's but this one was recommended by a couple we met in Brittany so we decided to give it a go. It is located about 10 minutes walk from the city centre on a main bus route. We had a car and there was plenty of safe, on street parking. Although it is in the heart of the city there is a fabulous walk nearby at Cavehill - it went on for miles but you can just do a mile or so if you choose. The B&B is an old Victorian building but it is very clean and bright inside. The bathroom was small but it was spotless with plentiful supplies of hot water and a powerful shower. For breakfast you share a large table with other guests. This was great fun, as we swopped notes on places to see etc. - the breakfast is substantial, juice, cereal and a full fry. We did not realise there was a contintental option available, which might have suited us better, but after eating so much for breakfast we only needed a light lunch. The proprieter was extremely helpful - she had lots of ideas and recommendations for us, and it was obvious that she really cared about the comfort of her guests. There are good restaurants in the area. We had an excellent meal in the Chester (5 minutes drive) - great value and lots of choice and we would recommend Cassidys ( 3 minutes walk) for a traditional Sunday lunch - good food and friendly staff - I don't know if they serve food every day but we had a super lunch. Overall we were very happy with the warm welcome we received, the comfort and cleanliness of the house, the location and the price. We would return.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seandubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Queen's Quarter
Harpers Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Failte B&B
#28 of 50 in Belfast
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brackenberry
#17 of 50 in Belfast
4 reviews
Somerton House
#10 of 50 in Belfast
178 reviews
Springfield B&B
#21 of 50 in Belfast
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCracken's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken's

Address: 124 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 2AH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range: £30 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing