We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for one night with my dad and younger brother (June 27th-28th). I chose this hotel as it was closest to Belfast Central station being only a 10 min walk or a €3 taxi fare.

We arrived only to be told that three people were not able to fit in a room, she tried to convince me that we needed to book another room, I protested, told her that I booked a triple room only, not a Bed and breakfast, through Booking.com and she replied in a smart way by saying ”Look, I know my job”. . Eventually we checked in successfully after she realised that my brother was just a child, she even asked him for ID, which I thought was ridiculous. It's this sort of attitude which let's down a hotels reputation.

We got to our room eventually, perfectly laid out with a double and single bed, bathroom and plenty of storage space. We had a magnificent view of Belfast on the 6th floor.
The hotels location to the city centre is only five minutes walking distance, perfect if you want to be centrally located.


Liked: location of hotel
Disliked: Attitude of reception staff

Room Tip: Higher up is quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ekellyie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, General Manager at Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hello Ekeelyie!

Thank you for your review and helpful feedback. Please be assured that all of your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be addressed with our management and team members to ensure we are continually providing the highest standard of customer service to every guest! All of our team are extremely passionate about creating a welcoming atmosphere for our guests and I am disappointed that on this occasion you felt we did not succeed in this. We hope that you can accept our apologies for the misunderstanding at check in. I am however very pleased that you were able to enjoy our wonderfully clean and comfortable rooms and that our location enable you to travel round our wonderful city with such ease!

We do hope you visit us again and thank you for choosing us as your place to stay when visiting Belfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,806 - 1,812 of 2,993 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here mid-June for our first ever trip to Belfast. Of the three Premier Inns in the city, we chose this one for the location. It was just a few minutes' walk from the City Hall and centre. The room was clean and comfortable as ever. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant and service was good. The range on the buffet was plentiful for our needs and always looked fresh. 30 mins free wi-fi - I do wish this was an hour but we used the wi-fi in coffee shops elsewhere during the day! There's a small bar area with TVs which we did use a few times. The staff could not have been more helpful. Benita in particular was better than any concierge elsewhere. She helped us with recommendations for dining and sightseeing, and was always smiling and friendly. We had lovely meals at Speranza and Kitchen Bar, a nice afternoon tea at The Merchant Hotel, and recommend the City Sightseeing package to include the Mccomb's trip to Giant's Causeway and two days on the open top buses.
We had 5 nights for about £200. I say again, why pay more?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamLongBennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, General Manager at Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Hello SamLongBennington!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Our team here are always extremely pleased to see our hard work being recognised by our guests. It is fantastic to see that not only did you enjoy a comfortable and clean stay but also that our Thyme Restaurant, our location and our standards of service made your stay so thoroughly enjoyable. Bonita is especially delighted with her mention so send her thanks to you!

We look forward to seeing you in the future and thank you again for such a fantastic review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights. Great location and a we got a very cheap deal. Staff were so friendly and they coudn't have done more for us. We were able to check in early as our room was ready and it soon became a "home from home". Comfy rooms and an excellent breakfast. Nice little extras like being able to charge up my ipad from port in room. Good TV selection, excellent tea and coffee making facilities (extra tea bags and fresh milk provided on request). I agree with Pauline T; although Premier Inns tend to be a bit predictable, this is a good thing on a city break. Wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, General Manager at Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you AugustaL for your great review!

All of our team are extremely passionate about providing high standards of service and clean, comfortable rooms for our guests so it is great to have this recognised. We all take great pride in welcoming our guests so well into out hotel, we want you to feel like we are a “Home from Home” so I am very pleased to see my team are achieving this!

Thanks you again for your time and for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

To be honest, the staff were great, extremely friendly and courteous. The hotel is perfectly located for Belfast city centre, and overall the rooms were clean and comfortable, the bed was great with lovely sheets. I was a little disappointed with the room in that there were small holes in the curtains which let the early morning light in (admittedly they were tiny, but there were about 4/5 of them), so because they were so small, I didn't feel I should complain, but the light did wake me up every morning!! I didn't realise till later that maybe I should have said something because a 'Goodnight Guarantee' is offered.....Oh well! Sadly, we were disappointed by the breakfast (4 of us traveling together). On all 3 mornings we were waiting for cooked items to come out. On the Sunday morning, we were waiting nearly 15 minutes for hash browns and bacon to come out. I understand it was a weekend and it was busy, but this is still unacceptable when you are paying £17.50 for 2 people just to have breakfast. Maybe more staff should be employed at a weekend to do the cooking? At one point (Sunday morning), there were 7 people queuing and waiting for cooked breakfast items, not a good advert.

Room Tip: Top floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvis4paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, General Manager at Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hello Elvis4Paws!

Thank you so much for your review! All of us are extremely appreciative of any and all feedback we receive, as it is so important to us as a business and as people to know where we do thing right and were we can improve!

I am disappointed to read that you had a disturbed nights sleep due to light escaping through the curtains. We guarantee a good nights sleep to our guests’ as we are confident in our service and ability to rectify any issues you may have throughout your stay! Hopefully next time you stay with us there are no disturbances to your sleep but if you do need assistance we have a 24hour reception desk to assist with any issues! So don’t hesitate to let us know!

Our breakfast at weekends can be extremely busy which is why we advertise to our guests the quiet and busy times to help improve our standard of breakfast service. It is unfortunate that you were unsatisfied with your breakfasts so please do accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your guests. These issues will be raised with our management and team members to ensure we are doing all we can to improve ourselves as a business!

Thank you again from all of us for acknowledging our hard working and dedicated staff, and for choosing us as your place to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights @ £29 a night. A great bargain for a good location just around the corner from the City Hall. Staff were welcoming and cheerful and although we were early arriving we were offered a family room that was made up. Premier Inns are dependable and I don't mind predictability especially on city breaks where we are out a lot. Would recommend for location and value ....and a bonus for us was the Crown Liquor Saloon was nearby...a 'must see' Loved Belfast great compact city. Would recommend a visit to Crumlin jail and trip around the Falls and Shanklin Roads with the famous Black Cab Company.

Room Tip: Not an especially busy street but we were at the rear and that was quiet enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, General Manager at Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hello MikeB!

Thank you for such a lovely review! All of our team really appreciate being recognised for their hard work and dedication towards looking after our guests so well! We will always try to check you in early if we can, it is great to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us in Belfast so hopefully you will come back and visit again soon!

Thank you again for your time and for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great hotel, great location, fantastic staff. Had a few days here and was very impressed by the efficiency and friendliness of all the staff. Comfortable rooms with air conditioning as an added bonus, great place to stay. Will certainly return here in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, General Manager at Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hello MikeB!

What a fantastic review, thank you! All of our team really appreciate being recognised for their hard work and dedication towards looking after our guests so well! It is great to see that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our brand new air-conditioning facilities!

Thank you again for your time and for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked to stay in this Premier Inn hotel due to it's proximity to Belfast city centre, can't fault it at all. Room was modern and spotless, had a double bad and a single bed and a big flat screen tv. staff pleasant and friendly. Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynsey217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, General Manager at Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hello Lynsey217!

What a fantastic review, thank you! All of our team really appreciate being recognised for their hard work and dedication towards looking after our guests so well!

I am so glad you enjoyed our comfortable beds and relaxed in front of our flat screen TV’s, this is exactly what we want our guests to do… feel at home!

Thank you again and we look forward to meeting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 47 in Belfast
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#7 of 47 in Belfast
289 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel

Address: Alfred Street, Belfast BT2 8ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £59 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the city that inspired Gulliver's Travels. A stay at Premier Inn Hotel Belfast Alfred Street puts you just a small step away from some big attractions, not to mention all the delights of a twenty-first century shopping centre. And if you're here on business, we'll make sure your stay is a pleasant one. Track down the Titanic story to its source. Or make tracks to some of the biggest names on the high street - don't miss the continental market if you're here over Christmas. There's nightlife that'll make your day, and everything from an interactive science museum to a candy factory. Don't fill up on too many sweets though, there's good food waiting for you at our restaurant, and comfy beds in every room. Transport and local information: Belfast Zoo Belfast Convention Centre 0.5 mile Botanic Gardens 0.5 mile Belfast City Airport 4 miles Europa Bus and Train Station 1 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre Alfred St Hotel Belfast
Premier Travel Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing