We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dogs Bollox”
Review of Shiro - CLOSED

Shiro
Cuisines: Sushi, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dogs Bollox”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Terrific Food, great service and generous portiions, I had Quail for starters and a steak & Prawns for main, my partner had chicken noodle soup and chicken for main, with side portions of fries, brocolli and stir fried greens. I will be back at some point as I think there was some very tastey looking slow cooked pork on the menu.
Def a thumbs up for me

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    31
    16
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceptional customer service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Feeling spoiled and special after my visit - certainly, staff in Shiro are trained to make the client feel valued which is what we felt every moment of our visit.
The decor is airy, minimalist and sumptuous. The service is impeccable and the place immaculate.
We both had a chicken dish from the extensive menu and sampled several cocktails and wine. Didn't want to leave. Can't wait to go back and sample some more. Def try it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service but you pay for it”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Dropped in here for a few drinks after dinner at flame. (V,good) . Greeted at door by most polite doormen in belfast! Shown to free seats by the fireplace and immediately felt at ease. Waiter was attentive and knowledgable about wines cocktails beers etc. would have liked to have seen better selection of home brewed beers and ales but cocktails and wine where of decent quality. As I said the staff are attentive and there is lots of them (I counted 20) but the prices of drinks reflect this and as they say you get what you pay for. Would return but maybe not every weekend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fusspot2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Down, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great vibe and fantastic decor”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I visited Shiro at the weekend and I was immediately impressed with the amazing décor. We were greeted by two very pleasant staff who couldn't have been more welcoming. The immediate vibe was unlike anywhere in Belfast. We were shown to the bar as our table was not ready and were given menus to peruse. We only had a short wait and were shown to our table which was one of the comfortable booths.

Overall I found the service good, the waitress that we had was excellent at making recommendations about the dishes and was very knowledgeable. The only slight downside was that the staff were slow about coming back to pour the wine and if we needed something it was quite hard to attract someone's attention. Normally I am happy to pour my own wine, however at the beginning of the evening the staff were attentive and kept refilling our glasses but as the evening went on the level of service dropped slightly. The food was very good and I was impressed with the menu overall.

I will certainly be back and the service, décor and overall atmosphere was more reminiscent of New York and not Belfast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shopaholic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Attentive waiter who was friendly and courteous. Atmosphere good and decor modern . Busy and popular place

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harky41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiro also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing