We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only the service & food were as good as the decor”

Neills Hill Brasserie
Ranked #116 of 1,044 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: US$0 - US$103
Cuisines: Irish, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“If only the service & food were as good as the decor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I don't usually post reviews but after eating here at the weekend, I wanted to share my experience. When we first arrived, we had to ask twice if we could order drinks and when someone eventually came over to us, she only wanted a food order and acted like it was the biggest inconvenience when we asked once again to order drinks.
When we finally did get the drinks we ordered, there were bits of dirt floating in both, and coffee stains on the outside of each glass. We asked for clean glasses, and ended up being given the same ones back, with dirt still in them. The drinks had also gone watery and flat, as the glasses has clearly just been rinsed under a tap rather than replaced.
We ordered the soup, which we were told was "carrot & maybe potato, I think"... when this arrived, there was absolutely no taste other than a sickly sweet, sugary taste. It was thin, bland and not worth the 4.95 per bowl.
The mains came out and the waitress (possibly management) didn't even know what she was serving as she TOLD us we had ordered the beef special and reacted quite rudely towards me when I corrected her. The steak itself was dripping in grease and my well done steak was still pink inside. The pepper sauce had mixed with the grease from the steak and ended up like water. At 21.95 for each Steak, it really wasn't good enough. When we told the waiter we hadn't enjoyed any of our food, we were simply greeted with a "oh. I'll just get your bill then." No apology, no real acknowledgement at all.
We were given a discount on the bill, with the soups not being charged for but at a bill which still worked at out at close to £50, and no acknowledgement from any staff about our dissatisfaction, we left feeling very disappointed, robbed and annoyed at the lack of customer service we received.
There are so many places around Ballyhackamore, who serve food of a much higher standard, at much lower prices. Neil's Hill looks lovely, it's a pity the service and food doesn't quite match it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmcc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    147
    70
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“If only the service & food were as good as the decor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I don't usually post reviews but after eating here at the weekend, I wanted to share my experience. When we first arrived, we had to ask twice if we could order drinks and when someone eventually came over to us, she only wanted a food order and acted like it was the biggest inconvenience when we asked once again to order drinks.
When we finally did get the drinks we ordered, there were bits of dirt floating in both, and coffee stains on the outside of each glass. We asked for clean glasses, and ended up being given the same ones back, with dirt still in them. The drinks had also gone watery and flat, as the glasses has clearly just been rinsed under a tap rather than replaced.
We ordered the soup, which we were told was "carrot & maybe potato, I think"... when this arrived, there was absolutely no taste other than a sickly sweet, sugary taste. It was thin, bland and not worth the 4.95 per bowl.
The mains came out and the waitress (possibly management) didn't even know what she was serving as she TOLD us we had ordered the beef special and reacted quite rudely towards me when I corrected her. The steak itself was dripping in grease and my well done steak was still pink inside. The pepper sauce had mixed with the grease from the steak and ended up like water. At 21.95 for each Steak, it really wasn't good enough. When we told the waiter we hadn't enjoyed any of our food, we were simply greeted with a "oh. I'll just get your bill then." No apology, no real acknowledgement at all.
We were given a discount on the bill, with the soups not being charged for but at a bill which still worked at out at close to £50, and no acknowledgement from any staff about our dissatisfaction, we left feeling very disappointed, robbed and annoyed at the lack of customer service we received.
There are so many places around Ballyhackamore, who serve food of a much higher standard, at much lower prices. Neil's Hill looks lovely, it's a pity the service and food doesn't quite match it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmcc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect local spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This place is great, for brunch, lunch and dinner. It is the perfect local spot! The staff are friend and efficient, never had a bad meal! The menu is full of choice which is good so you can decide whether to have a light bite or proper meal!

Helpful?
3 Thank christine363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a lovely evening meal at Neills HIll a few weeks ago. Hadn't been in it since the name change so was looking forward to it. Staff were very attentive and there was quite a lot to choose from on the menu. Skipped the starter in favour of a desset :) Had the pasta in ratatouille sauce and goats cheese for the main course. Very tasty although I couldnt finish it as it was quite a large portion. Had profiteroles for dessert, which you can never go wrong with. Again, more than one veggie choice so will have to visit again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ro1s1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A good night. Well done!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A few friends finally made a date to get together & someone cleverly booked Neil's Hill for dinner. There were 12 or so of us, so our organiser arranged a fix priced menu. I think there were about 3 options for entree, main & dessert. All options were great, so although limited, there was plenty of decision making around the table.
I hadn't been to, or heard of the restaurant before, so had no expectations either way. I have to say they did a great job. The food was really good, the service was great and the whole evening flowed really well.
The salmon dish and the strawberry shortcake were the two standout dishes of the night.
Neils Hill will definitely be on the top of my list when organising a group get together, as they handled everything so well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBowker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neills Hill Brasserie also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Neills Hill Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing