We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting view in to our troubled past”
Review of Crumlin Road Gaol

Crumlin Road Gaol
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.14*
and up
Guided Tour of Crumlin Road Gaol in Belfast
More Info
US$16.90*
and up
City Sightseeing Belfast Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with 48-Hour Pass
Ranked #1 of 229 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Crumlin Road Gaol dates back to 1845 and closed it's doors as a working prison in 1996. After extensive renovations the gaol has re opened as a visitor attraction and conference centre. Today you can take a guided tour of the prison and hear about the history of the site from when women and children were held within it's walls through to the political segregation of republican and loyalist prisoners and learn about why the decision was taken to close the prison.During the tour of the gaol you will be taken by your tour guide to visit the underground tunnel that used to connect the gaol to the Crumlin Road Courthouse, you will get a chance to sit in the Governor's chair, view all the wings from the circle and of course pay a visit to the condemned mans cell before seeing the execution cell where the majority of the 17 men were hanged.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We went here to pass an afternoon and were impressed with the standard of tour that we got.
A real insight of how the prison came about and how it operated from its opening right up to its closure in the 1990's..... well worth a visit to know more about northern irelands past.

1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Gary M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour of Crumlin Road Gaol. I am delighted to hear you were impressed with the standard of tour you got and that you feel it is well worth a visit. I will ensure the rest of our team are aware of your positive feedback.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,844 - 4,848 of 5,904 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Always saw it from the outside but an hours guided tour left me glad I wasn't an in mate.
It was informative funny sad and haunting. The hang mans noose the chilling end to many young lives who now reside in un marked graves in the grounds. Rip whoever you were x

1  Thank solowalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi solowalker1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour of Crumlin Road Gaol. I am delighted to hear you found the tour informative and funny. We hope to see you back again soon to experience one of our Paranormal or Breakout tours.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A real gem, and well worth the visit. Don't be put off by the history associated with the jail - our tour guide Brendan was superb and struck just the right balance between the grim realities of life in a Victorian jail and the darkly comic side (The governor's desk was stolen!)

Also at the Crum (As its known to the locals), you can see concerts in the evenings and they also offer supernatural tours of the building as well.

One last point - opposite the jail are the old law courts, now in a pretty poor state following a fire and years of neglect. I really hope that this still stunning and imposing building can be saved, as it is one of many incredible buildings we saw while in and around Belfast, and should be incorporated into the tour of The Crum.

1  Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Nigel K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour of Crumlin Road Gaol. I am delighted to hear you found the tour well worth a visit and that you found your tour guide superb. This is always great to hear. I will ensure the rest of our team are aware of your positive feedback.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great tour as the guide tells you a lot of vey honest and interesting details. The gaol is quite disturbing and very sad. I recommend it if you want to learn more about the troubles, as well as old time history of Belfast

1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Sue C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour of Crumlin Road Gaol. I am delighted to hear you would recommend the tour to others and that your tour guide was interesting. I will ensure the rest of our team are aware of your positive feedback.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was part of an evening bus tour of Crumlin that included dinner as well. Loved the tour, very informative and some parts not for the squeamish. As mentioned in other reviews .... it is COLD there and you should dress warmly. Dinner was also very well done. In our two week tour this was the most unique thing we did and have to admit it was a highlight of the trip. Caution to some ... lots of stairs and doubt there is w/c accessibility to some areas!

1  Thank bdwy_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crumlin_Road_Gaol, Manager at Crumlin Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi bdwy_babe,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour of Crumlin Road Gaol. I am delighted to hear you loved the tour and that it was the overall highlight to your trip. It is also great to hear you enjoyed your evening meal. I will ensure the rest of our team are aware of your positive feedback.

Thank you,

Crumlin Road Gaol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crumlin Road Gaol also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Crumlin Road Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing