We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burrito this side of the Atlantic”

Boojum - Botanic Avenue
Ranked #66 of 1,052 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Best burrito this side of the Atlantic”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I've been here a few times to know that the queue is absolutely crazy at lunchtimes so I opted for an early lunch when I was in the city for work.

Had the veggie burrito and wasn't disappointed at all, it was so big that I only managed half of it and left very very stuffed. Love the fact you can choose everything - down to a white or wholemeal wrap!

If there's one place to go to in Belfast for lunch, it's here!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat_Orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    166
    65
    24
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

After listening to colleagues raving about this place I felt like I needed to try it. We headed round and the queue was out the door so I thought that this place would be amazing. How wrong was I???
To begin with, I was overcharged, however I didn't realise this until I returned to work and checked the change in my pocket. I had the pulled pork burrito and thought that it would be really flavoursome, again I was wrong. There wasn't much flavour to any of it. The worst thing about this burrito was the sogginess, the best way I could describe my lunch was tasteless,watery mush. Will not be returning!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank belfasttraveller2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Boojum - Botanic Avenue, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for getting in touch about your recent boojum experience. It
doesn't sound like it was a great one so I was wondering if you could
email emma@boojummex.com with some more information about exactly what you got
in your burrito? Bland and flavourless are not normally the feedback we
receive so perhaps something went wrong with your burrito on the day you
were in.

The pork wouldn't have as strong a flavour as say the shredded beef or
chilli but there should have been flavour coming from the rice, beans,
salsas, etc. So if you're able to email us more information that would
be great.

Thanks,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenisland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Portions”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Visited this restaurant with my daughter,it was a new experience as hadn't been to a restaurant like it before.Plenty of choice bit overwhelming.What I chose was tasty and very filling.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivrea, Italy
Level Contributor
220 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“On a Budget”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This place offers you good mexican food for cheap prices. you have a different variety of choice and you can build your own plate by yourself. expect long queue every day at every time, since this place is very popular in Belfast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Good,food, however they unfortunately don't take debit or credit cards and there isn't an ATM all that close. I don't really tend to carry very much cash around with me, so it is an inconvenience that way. I suppose it allows people to be served quicker, etc., but once or twice I have gone there and had to turn back 'cos I had forgotten it is cash only. Aside from that, it is fresh, tasty, good value, but I feel some of the staff could be a little more pleasant or less abrupt when dealing with the general public. Almost a 5 star, but not quite... =)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boojum - Botanic Avenue also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Boojum - Botanic Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing