We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elements are good but average on the whole.”
Review of Sakura

Sakura
Ranked #158 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Queen's Quarter
Description: Nestled in Belfast's bustling Botanic Avenue, Sakura Sushi restaurant brings a taste of Tokyo to the city streets of Northern Ireland. Named after Japan's national flower – the cherry blossom – this sweet and shiny sushi restaurant is split over two floors and filled with glazed walnut furniture, a feature floral wall, bright and bubbly background music and cute Japanese lanterns. On the ground floor you can sit at the sushi train and choose from a superb selection of fresh sushi and sashimi or meals such as the salt and chilli sea bass or the roasted pork with curry udon noodles, while upstairs offers a variety of flexible spaces with plush carpets and sliding doors that are perfect for private parties.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Elements are good but average on the whole.”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I'm always a little put off by mayonnaise on sushi rolls and my first hand roll this evening was laced with the stuff. We had tasty Japanese dumplings with a dipping sauce and a very fatty beef brisket ramen which wasn't very good. There was a poor selection of dishes on the sushi train at 8.30 in the evening and the meal on the whole was a little expensive. Belfast doesn't have a great selection of sushi restaurants so I'll still go back for my fix, it's just not amazing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoJo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    83
    37
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Been here a few times now, in the upstairs restaurant and it has been consistently good and on a par if not better than other Japanese restaurants I have visited in Belfast. Maybe not as 'glitzy' but if you are there for the food, glitz isn't important.Great variety of both Japanese and Chinese food efficiently and pleasantly served. They also have a 'take out' service.
The restaurant always seems full- so obviously there is more than me who finds it delightful. Great location too. When you finish your meal and leave, you are surrounded by many of the top spots on Botanic ave/ Bradbury place and a short stroll from the Lisburn Road. Reasonably priced too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Japanese sushi option”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We like to try sushi in the various cities we travel. We booked a regular table at Sakura (rather than the abominable conveyor belt bar seat) and hunkered down.

Our family of four tried the miso soup (good), edamame, crab tempura (okay) and a selection of sushi. The sushi was good if a little plain. We had a mixture of nigiri (sushi over rice) and rolls. We tried to pick a mixture of complex and simple (for the kids). We ended up with a little more of the tougher selections (octopus, squid, clam) than we normally would.

Service was very friendly and efficient.

It wasn't cheap nor too expensive. We are somewhat sushi regulars (or at least we were when living in the States) and this doesn't quite measure up to the better places but is plenty adequate for a fix.

If you think sushi is supposed to come on a conveyor belt, please try it the proper way -- made to order!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve_in_indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivrea, Italy
Level Contributor
214 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“You have to pay for good sushi”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is not a cheap restaurant, but the price are on line for a good japanese restaurant. i had the possibility to eat here twice and never got disappointed. the sushi bar is really expensive in the evening, that's why i'm giving 4 and not 5. For sure i suggest to seat at normal resturant if you're goingo for dinner. The place is clean and the service is quite fast. i really had good meal and for sure i would suggest this place to everyone's intrested in japanese restaurant in Belfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Belast!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

One of the best sushi joints in town. It might not have the style and glitz of Zen, but the food is consistently good with a smaller menu - which for me means better quality.
Top tip - don't eat from the sushi train - the foods been there for a while. Order it directly and it will be made fresh for you!
The only negative is the staff are far too efficient and it comes across as rude - if they slowed down and didn't take your plate away from you when you've picked up the last piece it would be a better overall experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandman_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing