We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous break with very hospitable hosts.”
Review of Carnately Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carnately Lodge
Ranked #7 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous break with very hospitable hosts.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the carnatley lodge with my wife and daughter recently and were made to feel extremely welcome . Burt and Collette made us feel right at home and are very friendly. Our room was spacious and spotless as was the rest of the house we enjoyed a lovely breakfast that kept us going for the rest of the day.
We cannot recommend the Carnatley Lodge highly enough but it hasn't got five stars for nothing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padbrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    19
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
36
91
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I spent a week driving across Ireland, we stayed at a variety of hotels and B&Bs, and the Carnately Lodge was by far the best of the lot. We had a large room at the front of the house and weren't disturbed by any of the other guests'. Breakfast was delicious, my husband had scrambled eggs and I had the full Irish, yummy and filling and kept us going all across the northern coast. Collette and her husband were a pleasure, both friendly as could be and really made us happy to have chosen their establishment. My husband and I both agree we will be staying at the Carnately Lodge on our next trip to Northern Ireland!

Room Tip: We had the room just off the front entrance; king bed and ensuite bathroom. It was spacious and suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaploetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the accommodation for one night. We booked it at the last moment and they were able to accommodate 5 of us into a family room. The room has a double bed with two single rooms. (They were able to put in a camp bed for our youngest child). The bathroom is not en-suite but it is dedicated to the bedroom & is located just across the landing. The accommodation is comfortable and spotless. The breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent.
We would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EI_McN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Carnately Lodge in July 2013. The couple who own/run the B&B were absolutely lovely. The room was spacious and while part of the main house was still private. The room was well appointed, the large bed was very comfortable, with a generous en suite (in fact it was the biggest bathroom we had of the 6 Ireland hotels we stayed in on the trip). Everything was very clean. There is parking behind the house and as it is situated slightly out of town the B&B was nice and quiet.

There was a good selection at breakfast which is served until 10am and is cooked well.

The owners recommended the Central Bar for dinner. From the outside it looks like a rather dark bar, however its deceptively large inside and the 2nd floor is a light, modern and comfortable dining area serving a varied menu.

Overall we thought it was a lovely B&B and we would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger_L_Ramjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed for one night in June and they were brilliant! A bottle of water was beside the beds for us, bert organised a taxi and dinner reservation at a lovely restaurant and the rooms were lovely! Breakfast was delicious with smoked salmon and eggs being the best brekkie in Ireland. Colette even gave us a packed lunch for the day! Defo will recommend and visit this place again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdoran05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The B & B is located a bit out of the center of Bellycastle (so you have to drive your car to the center). Room and bathroom are very nice and very clean. So we had a good night sleep. For the breakfast you have several choices. We both took the smoked salmon and scrambled egg, which was the best breakfast we had in our trip throughout the whole of Ireland. Just great!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This B&B was perfect. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The owners were absolutely delightful, the house was gorgeous, the bedroom was so comfortable (the bed was great!), and you just have to experience the scrumptious Irish breakfast!! So much thought had gone into the preparation of this B&B, everything from the water bottles beside the beds to the slippers in our room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and only wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back the next time we are in Northern Ireland! Thank you very much for having us and for being so welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
2.0 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 24 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.9 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#6 of 24 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast
Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 24 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnately Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnately Lodge

Property: Carnately Lodge
Address: 51 Moyarget Road, Ballycastle BT54 6HL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnately Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carnately Lodge is a graded 5 Star luxury NITB approved B&B situated on the North Antrim Causeway Coast close to all major Tourist attractions including Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge and New Causeway Centre close to Ballycastle Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Carnately Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnately Lodge Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing