We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hazlettbl...
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

My wife and I left earlier today after thoroughly enjoying a wonderful Christmas week in this beautiful Irish coastal 5-star cottage, set in its excellent location with spectacular views across to Scotland.

Woodleigh Cottage is tastefully presented, creating the character and tranquil ambience conducive to a perfect break.

We were delayed in our arrival, but Eleanor was patiently waiting for us, had the fire lit, and had thoughtfully provided for all our practical needs including a generous welcome pack and other extras. I personally loved the homemade Irish wheaten bread and marmalade!

Despite the snow outside, the cottage’s underfloor heating kept us toasty all day, and the roaring fire in the evening was heartsome and comforting. Two spacious bedrooms with large ensuites at opposite ends of the property allowed privacy, and the well-equipped kitchen quite literally catered for all our needs. The dining room, sitting room, conservatory and front porch were all equally capacious, as was the car parking around the cottage.

Outside despite the inclement weather we briefly enjoyed the raised private rear garden, and for a range of shops, eateries and a few boutiques, Ballycastle was just a mile away.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annmapmoo...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended , everything you need in a holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I am almost reluctant to write the glowing review that accurately reflects our stay at Woodleigh cottage because it may become so well used that we can never book it again!
Ideal location for exploring the popular and more remote places on this stunning stretch of coast plus only a few minutes drive to Ballycastle which has everything you need in terms of food shopping and eating out plus the tourist information office and ferry to Raithlin. We had a car , but noticed regular buses passing the cottage along the coast road if needed e.g for linear walks.

The cottage itself was spotless, quiet and surprisingly spacious. A well equipped kitchen and comfortable sofas in both sitting rooms. Ample ,effective heating if needed - we switched it off and the house was lovely and warm. Eleanor , the owner was very helpful and amenable despite our changing arrival arrangements.She was available and responsive when needed without being at all intrusive. We had a wonderful stay and there really is nothing that I could fault.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEB2007
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding cottage near Ballycastle”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Woodleigh cottage has beautiful, luxurious, and tasteful furnishings. The standard of cleanliness was excellent and the welcome basket was a lovely surprise, full of homemade preserves, bread and other essentials. Everything you needed was provided including washing and dishwashing tablets, linen, towels and kitchen equipment. We loved the furnishings and ornaments and it was all if the highest quality completely in keeping with its 5 star rating. The wood-burning stove made it extra cosy, but the central heating and lashings of hot water provided all the comfort we needed to relax and unwind after walking and sightseeing in this beautiful part of Northern Ireland. A five minute drive took us into Ballycastle with its quaint shops and a good range of restaurants. Other attractions were close at hand too including the Giants Csuseway, the rope bridge and many gorgeous beaches. The weekly rate is extremely competitive for this quality of accommodation. We had a wonderful holiday and you will too, so don't hesitate to book this gorgeous cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for leaving such lovely feedback about Woodleigh.
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodleigh Cottage and hope you stay again soon!
The CCR Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melcgibso...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“haven for rest and adventure”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely incredible wee place with incredible views and incredible and well thought through facilities!

Cosy and comfortable accommodation with the wood burner giving the feel and joy of a traditional Irish cottage

Loved time here in woodleigh cottage as a space to rest and retreat along with being on doorstep for adventuring and discovering the beauty splendour and treasures of the north coast of Ireland! Could have just stayed forever!

Superb 5star accommodation cannot wait to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adambarbe...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 20 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Woodleigh cottage is a beautiful modern cottage with plenty of original features and perfectly located for all the local tourist attractions and beauty spots such as the Bushmills distillery, Ballintoy harbor and Giant's causeway which are all within a short driving distance. The cottage has a sea view, is very cozy and has all modern comforts and was spotlessly clean! Eleanor met us at the cottage to give us the keys and show us around the place and was very helpful advising us where to eat and local places of interest worth visiting. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone. Fully deserving of its 5stars.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCBelfast...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best accommodation we have stayed in”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was amazing in every way. We really loved the luxurious, tasteful furnishings. The standard of cleanliness was excellent and the welcome basket was a lovely touch. We enjoyed sitting in the different areas and taking in the beautiful views from the front of the cottage. The wood-burning stove made it extra cosy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riceyrice...
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
“'An accurate beauty'”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I loved my weekend stay in Woodleigh Cottage. A wonderful treasure in a prime location, between Bushmills and Ballycastle Town, with Scotland from the window and Kinbane Castle within walking distance. A magical Irish treat. As a poet, I couldn't help but write a poem inspired by the cottage, so I have included it here. I believe you can read it in the cottage itself, but even if you aren't moved by poetry, you'll be moved by Woodleigh Cottage.

In Woodleigh Cottage

a bird's eye view from sixty years ago
frames an accurate beauty:
Stone that stands and surrounds,

standing time, tested and restored.
Deepening distance of Scotland holds clear
in panorama, crystallised by the breadth

that draws you in, the looked-out-of window
looking into a place that resonates stillness
in the solitude of a passing car.

As evening settles down like porter,
consider the history of the wood
under your feet.

Consider the turf fire,
the definite crack and spit
of something bigger than flame

sending its signal out into your heart,
beyond your brimming glass.

Matthew Rice
(2/12/16)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing