We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genial host, great breakfast, good location.”

Glenluce Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenluce Guest House
Ranked #22 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We spent one night in the Glenluce Guest House when we were touring the Giant's Causeway area and found the host, Berkely, among the nicest people we met in Ireland, which is really saying something. We had our choice of two rooms, an offer to help tote luggage up the stairs, help getting online with the rather tricky wi- fi (available in only certain areas in the house), careful directions and recommendations, an excellent breakfast, and even assistance when it was time to back our car out into traffic.
The guest house itself has both the charms and quirks of an older property, but a portable heater was provided in case we needed it. The en suite bathroom had an I-dare-you-to-turn-around-or-drop-your-soap sized shower and several missing light bulbs, so I think it's fair to say that the place could use a little maintenance and maybe updating, but the room was comfortable enough, and the Quay Street location was ideal -- an easy walk to the water in one direction and the town center in the other. A Tea Room in the building is open for business during the day and is where the nicely done breakfast is served.
The price was certainly reasonable, the location convenient, and the owner exactly what a B&B host should be, so we were pleased with our stay and would recommend this guest house to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had reservations for a BNB in Ballycastle before coming to Glenluce. Upon arriving at our BNB late night, we were informed that due to a family issue with the innkeeper, our reservations were cancelled. Being stuck in Ballycastle with no where to sleep at 8pm on a Sunday night, we started to panic. After driving in to town looking for a place to stay, we came across the Glenluce Guesthouse. The inn keepers graciously took us in and offered us a wonderful room and breakfast. The hotel was very well kept and very homely. The breakfast was superb and we cannot be grateful enough to this BNB for taking us in when we had no where else to stay. If we ever return to Ballycastle, we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickyrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We spent one night at Glenluce guesthouse and were very pleased with the service and comfort. There is good off-street parking and wifi. A variety of places for lunch and dinner are within walking distance, and the views from the waterfront are lovely. The staff went out of their way to help us, and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Glenluce is truly a gem. We only stayed for one night and I wish we could have stayed for longer! The location is excellent (right by the waterfront and in the heart of the Causeway Coast), the price is very good, and the breakfast was delicious. Our room was clean and comfortable. Most of all, Berkley (the owner) was truly a sweetheart. He parked our unwieldy rental car for us in his narrow driveway, hauled our heavy suitcases up to our room, and even offered washcloths to us, as he knew that many Americans tend to prefer showering with washcloths. He was so friendly and helpful. I'd stay at Glenluce Guest House again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simianline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Eight of us stayed for three nights on a bike tour of the north. From the start Clare and Berkeley couldnt be more helpful sorting out all requirments. All our rooms were clean and well presented. Living at Glenluce felt like being at home. Nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was high standard. Afternoon t in the cafe was very nice, didnt try evening meal in time we had but assume would be good. Overall one of the most welcoming and relaxing places i have stayed for a long time.
We liked The House of McDonnell in the centre of town for unspoilt quality, The Harbour Bar on seafront, plain but honest, and The Cellar restaurant good value very good food.

Room Tip: Just ask the owners when booking and they will advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuzziCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Stayed at Glenluce Lodge for 4 nights in october. We were impressed by the staff and were provided with excellent service.
We would absolutely come back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

The Glenluce Lodge was a good little place. It was clean and decently priced. I was told the larger hotels or B&Bs are absolutely horrendous. I heard this from other travelers as well as people I met on the road who were actually from the town. It was a great location and an easy ride to the Causeway. Clean and when I bring my friends to visit Ireland I will stay here again. One or two nights max. Its basic but clean - most importantly. Don't expect much but it's pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballycastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
725 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
306 reviews
0 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#6 of 24 in Ballycastle
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Glenmore House
Glenmore House
#16 of 24 in Ballycastle
96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crockatinney Guest House
Crockatinney Guest House
#8 of 24 in Ballycastle
55 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenluce Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenluce Guest House

Address: 42 Quay Road, Ballycastle BT54 6BH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Price Range: £30 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Glenluce Guest House Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing