We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved it”
Review of Watertop Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watertop Farm
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just back after staying 4 nights with my touring caravan and 2 kids (6 and 10) they really loved it and we only left the site for one day to go to portrush, lovely scenery, kids loved the animals , went horse riding, boating, weather was fab so that helped, our pitch was lovely over beside the donkeys, staff really helpful, just a few points, would be great if the pitches were concrete based as ours was very uneven and my van broke 2 steadies and the new shower block looks great though we didn't get to use them as out of use, but they will be great when up and running and a welcome addition, also love the fact that a water tap and drain beside each caravan so saves running about for water, will be back next year

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cam149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi. Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at watertop. The weather really does help! Sorry you were not able to use the new toilet block and showers we just had a few teething problems which are now sorted and everything is working well. We do actually have hardstand site as well but most people prefer the view from the grass site which you were pitched.
Thanks once again and hope to see you next year.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    22
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
62
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Watertop farms website makes the place look better than it really is. I stayed with my partner and 3 kids plus our little dog for two nights. We were charged £30 per night that even included £2.00 per night for the dog. YES THE DOG ITS HARD TO BELIEVE I KNOW electric was included in the price. There is only 12 pitches for tents in a large field next to the farm. The toilets are in the farm a little walk from the camp site and only 2 toilets not really good for cararavan and camp site.The toilets are not the best either nor is the showers.For the the money i was expecting better there a better camping parks elsewhere for nearly half the price.The site is crying out for a brand new purpose built toilet and shower block.You also feel a bit isolated nearest shop about 5 mile away.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank crackentone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Really sorry you did not rate watertop too highly. We do our best to ensure that all visitors to our home enjoy their stay with us. Its possible that you may prefer a much bigger communal site nearer a town or city. Most of our visitors like the fact that we are out in the countryside surrounded by fantastic scenery. The tent price may seem alittle expensive but when you consider the free aspects of the farm it is really quite reasonable. Campers do not pay admission onto the farm so your party saved £10.00 each day. You have free access to the farm walks,the assault course, the cottage museum, the small animals etc.
Unfortunately you are not aware that we have a brand new toilet block and shower block opening this coming week, Too late for your visit but perhaps if you book again you will have a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Visited in July 2014 with 5&2 yr old boys. In comparison to other fun farms there is a very limited amount of animals to see or interact with. They have cats in rabbit hutches and two dogs in a sheep pen - scrapping the barrel for ideas! Every extra Costs money - the boats the go karts the quad ride the jeep ride, all extra so if you've a family the entire visit is very expensive. The commentary on the large wagon/jeep ride which goes up in the hills would bore the life out of you!! directional Signage needs improved to direct you were to see the limited amount of sights on the farm, i was met with closed gates (to the pens on the hillside) which we were unsure if access was allowed. Lurgybrack in Letterkenny or the Nutts corner farm are ten times better. Main thing is get more animals and wise up on charging for the extras.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Des T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Sorry you did not enjoy your visit to watertop. Im not sure if you took time to see the small animal section as we do have more than you have stated. You have not mentioned the chicks, the goats, the kittens, the lambs, the horses and the llamas. At Watertop we have always been recognised for our scenery and our activities. Of course every farm is different and it is difficult to compare one against the other. But we never knowingly let any visitor leave our home feeling dissatisfied, so I can only repeat how sorry we all are that you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely open farm lots to do, paddi wagon, go karts, boat trips, pony trekking. Lovely walk to waterfall well worth the steps. Nice clean playground enclosed for safety of younger children. All staff very friendly and helpful well worth a visit if you in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TouchRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do our best to keep everything as clean and safe as possible. You may like to know that we have finally finished our new Activity Barn which has a climbing wall and lots of activities for children of all ages. Maybe your next visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Myself husband and grandson Stayed june 9th and 10th great site loads to see and do, our two year old grandson loved all the animals and open space very freindly relaxed atmosphere we will defo be back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileengra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks very much for your comments. That is exactly what we want you to experience. This is not just our business, this is our home and we want you to enjoy your vist and relax when you are here. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from a weekend staying here with our touring caravan. A really friendly place and so much for children to enjoy. Staff very helpful and obviously enjoy sharing this little piece of heaven in the glens with those who stay. We will be back. The Millar family.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gwyndaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much! We really do want to share our home and the scenery we have with our visitors. We are really lucky in that our staff are all local and are a great bunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

firstly have to say family and staff couldnt do enough for you very clean site basic but perfect for kids. stayed 3 times summer 2013

my only concerns were open fires on site , signs everywere about no fires but yet still people had them. close to tents and with no care taken. even saw one group two families same pitch brake up a fence for fire wood these were not cooking fires almost bonefires.

on first night a warden told them keep sound down but not about fire and as soon as he left sound as bad as always. now if this had been on one trip i would over look it but no on all three the sound and fires were lit.

I have years of great stays at this site 4-5 a year ranging from week to 3 nights but we didnt return last year after third and are unsure if will again. such a shame kids love it.

second problem was the site being used as over flow car park i had paid for the silence the space not for the mess and car traffic this brings.. simple fix tape off lower half of site use as overflow it is a buisness after all but we had them turning in our space also other campers said same . they would walk up to look at tents kids got on a childs bike left at a tent up from us. the security issue from possible theift clear to see.

i do hope owners see this some way and address issues for future as my kids love site and i only write this in the hope we can return if changes addressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Firstly really sorry I did not see and reply to you sooner. Secondly really sorry you are considering not returning. I can't explain the fires because we do have a very strict rules about fires and barbque trays on the pitches.The "warden" would have been one of the family and he is usually very strict about noise late at night.
I must apologise for the carparking. We do need to use that field for the overflow which can be considerable on busy days. We do now tape it off so no one uses the camping area for parking.
I do hope you will consider staying again in the future.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
3.8 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
645 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
267 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Teach an Cheoil B&B
Teach an Cheoil B&B
#1 of 1 in Ballyvoy
18 reviews
3.9 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#5 of 24 in Ballycastle
109 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glenmore House
Glenmore House
#13 of 24 in Ballycastle
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertop Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertop Farm

Property: Watertop Farm
Address: 188 Cushendall Road, Ballycastle BT54 6RN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ballycastle
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watertop Open Farm is located 6 miles outside Ballycastle in the Glens of Antrim, Northern Ireland. Watertop offers a great day out for all the family, with a variety of activities on offer, a Tea house for lunch, and camping & caravan pitches for an overnight stay, all set in the beautiful surroundings of the north east Antrim coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watertop Farm Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing