We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Watertop Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watertop Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very disappointed that the entrance fee covers so little. Literally a few animals - took us less than 5 minutes to get round the animals. Dogs and cats in pens! A few sheep, a goat and chicks. That was the height of it!
£2 for every additional activity like the go carts, quad train and unbelievably the activity barn! Ludicrous. I won't be back, will return to streamvale next time. Much better value for money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank densmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi
Really sorry you find watertop expensive. Pricing is always under review and how we actually charge. We do think our admission charge is quite reasonable especially as a family ticket is just £10.00. This covers all the walks, the assault course, the small animals, and the cottage museum. The activities are charged individually so that you can decide how much or how little you want to spend and also to take account of the ages of children. Under 3s are free and of course the things that they can take part in would be different from the activities a 13 year old could do.
I assure you we will consider your comments and thank you for taking the time to relay your views.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    21
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
54
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Family trip comprising mum, dad & 2 kids age 11 & 5 years.
Firstly let me say the countryside setting of this farm is outstanding. The Glens of Antrim are spectacular, & being from N Ireland we just don't go there often enough to appreciate what's on our doorstep. So this was a 'great excuse' to experience the Glens again!

Entrance was £3 per adult and £2 per child. This gave us access to the outdoor Assault Course which both kids (& parents) enjoyed. Very muddy so bring wellies & old clothes. There was also an area for younger kids beside the shop and café.
We went Go Karting which was extra cost of £2 per person. Pedal power for all ages. A smaller under 8 years circuit was ok. I joined my 5 year old and had to literally push their kart from behind in mine as peddling was hard. My 11 year old had difficulty too and didn't really enjoy this activity.
Then we paid £2 per child for the Activity Barn in which there was a climbing wall, large inflatable slide, a football table, pool table, large connect 4 game and football target practice game, along with other indoor activities. We all had a laugh in there!
The farm museum was quaint. The fire was lit and on a cool August day this was welcome! Lots of 'old' things eg type writer, wash board, school table, milk churns etc. And you could touch them!
My 5 year old wanted a Pony Ride which was another £2. She loved it! Simple as that.
Barn with various animals to touch.

We didn't buy anything from shop or café.

There were rowing boats to hire, a ride on the Paddy Wagon, Pony Trekking, Quad Train and sheep shearing demos amongst other farming work themed activities to participate in.

Also you can camp there with shower use.
Toilet facilities clean and modern.
Dogs welcome but must be on a leash at all times.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi
Well you have said it all!! Thank you so much for your brief outline of a day at watertop!

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just back from a two week stay at Watertop farm with my family. I have three children aged 4,2 and 7 months and we spent both weeks in our caravan on the farm. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, amenities and general activities. My children adored the ponies and how close you can be with the animals. All the activities are so reasonably priced that we barely left the farm. The cafe is very quaint and again very reasonable. New shower block is fantastic. At night we went into the little museum and cosied up to the fire to toast marshmallows. It is such a child friendly place with breathtaking views and scenery. A truly unforgettable holiday.....we will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi
Many thanks for your kind comments. Really glad your kids all enjoyed their stay. The museum is great at night for all our staying visitors and is uniquely cosy. we are very lucky with our staff and they are a great bunch to have working at watertop.Many thanks once again. Hope we see you next year.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visited the farm recently&were very disappointed,the admission price in covers nothing but a small play park&a few (really is a few) animals. The activity barn £2 per child & the go karts £2 per child is ludicrous! These types of things should surely be in the admission price or if they prefer to charge per child then scrap the admission fee. Unaffordable for large families & better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachturk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi Really sorry you did not have a positive visit to watertop. The pricing is something which we are constantly reviewing however we do feel that the admission charge is quite low and once on the farm you can decide how much or how little you want to spend. The admission covers all the walks, the assault course, all the play areas,the cottage museum and the small animal barn which we believe is quite reasonable. Many thanks for taking the time to write our review and we will certainly consider your comments

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

First time there and definitely be back! My kids had an absolutely fantastic time. Too many things to list as positives of Watertop. To name a few : friendly staff, reasonable prices for activities, good variety of activities and good camping facilities. Really enjoyed the nearby forest and also the waterfall walk within watertop. All of us had fun competing on the assault course. Would recommend the quad train rude regardless of your age! :).

Only bad point was the weather, but that's Mother Natures fault not the venues :).

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi
Many thanks. Really glad you enjoyed your stay. The assault course is always a big hit. The weather is always a problem especially if you are camping! Hope to see you next year.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great day at watertop farm. Lots of things to do and see. My wee nephew and my best friends wee girl had a blast. Go karting, row boat, pony rides. Went on the paddy wagon....bumpy ride!!! But great fun. Lots of lovely wee animals, goats, pigs, hens, kittens etc. Great layout. Will definitely go back. Staff were all very nice and friendly.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi
Many thanks for your review. Really glad you enjoyed your visit, and yes the Paddiwagon is a bumpy ride...but great fun and a great way to see a lot of the farm.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Really nice place and set up there,went with my 14/12/infant boys for five nights and really enjoyed ourselves ..Just as is described on the website ..is just a farm not a five star hotel but lots to do and the staff are very friendly and helpful if only you ask"Thanks Pasty "for the toucha..l am sure you didn't mind me..Things are very reasonably price too.Thanks again guys ...we will call back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 298cynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi
Many thanks for your comments. Hope to see you next year.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
8.9 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
250 reviews
3.8 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
617 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#7 of 25 in Ballycastle
165 reviews
3.9 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#5 of 25 in Ballycastle
103 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crockatinney Guest House
Crockatinney Guest House
#9 of 25 in Ballycastle
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertop Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertop Farm

Property: Watertop Farm
Address: 188 Cushendall Road, Ballycastle BT54 6RN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ballycastle
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watertop Open Farm is located 6 miles outside Ballycastle in the Glens of Antrim, Northern Ireland. Watertop offers a great day out for all the family, with a variety of activities on offer, a Tea house for lunch, and camping & caravan pitches for an overnight stay, all set in the beautiful surroundings of the north east Antrim coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watertop Farm Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing