We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of J & J's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J & J's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 25 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

it's not only one of the nicest and most comfortable b&bs we stayed in, with all the small but very thoughtful things, Jennifer made our stay there just perfect! The food was very good and the rooms have everything one needs for a short stay. Also, it's very well situated and you can easily reach sights as the giant causeway or the Bushmills factory. Thanks again and we'll certainly visit again some time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    66
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
163
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is such a great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful countryside in and around N.Ireland.

Rooms were top class,clean and very homely.

Lovely cooked breakfast,and the welcome was warm.

I recommend that if your ever in Ballycastle or thinking of visiting the Antrim coast,then this place is well worth the stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had a lovely stay for 2 nights at J & J's. It was in the perfect location to explore the north coast. Jennifer was great and the breakfast was delicious. It is just the kind of place we try to find when we travel. The fire in the living room was so warm and inviting after a day of traveling. The price was great too! We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrosOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We were welcomed warmly at J&J's after a lovely trek on Rathlin Island. We were offered a ride into town, which is very close by, and after dinner and a drink walked home in under 15 minutes.

The room and the bathroom were very clean. The only downside was that we could not figure out how to work the TV, given we could not find the remote. However, we were only there over night, so it didn't matter much.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and very filling. We would recommend this B&B for anyone planning a stay on the North Coast

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the J&J Guesthouse with a friend of mine two weekends ago. It was an absolutely wonderful experience and I have already recommended it to several friends.

Our room had two single beds, with the possibility of a third, and was beautifully decorated. We also had access to our own (enormous and spotless) bathroom. The B&B was also lovely and warm (which has not been the case with all B&Bs I've stayed in).

Both the cooked and continental breakfasts were delicious, and our generous hosts insisted that we take fruit and yogurts with us on our adventures.

Our hosts, Jennifer and Joe, were extremely helpful and friendly. They had plenty suggestions of places to visit, eat and drink.

The B&B is not only well-located on the Antrim Coast, but is also well-located in Ballycastle itself. It is an easy 10 minute walk to the town, and a quick 3 pound taxi journey back.

I will definitely stay at J&J again if I'm in the area, and highly recommend it to anyone travelling in Antrim.

Room Tip: The blue room is extremely spacious for 2 people, and would easily suit 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anicecuppatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone traveling through the area!
Our bedroom was comfortable, warm and spotless (and amazing power shower)! Breakfast was really good! Jennifer is a really good and helpful host.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny,
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

A friend and I traveled to Antrim for a photography weekend, so we were looking for a B&B that would be centrally based along the Antrim coastline, and was not going to cost a fortune.
We stayed with Jennifer for 3 nights.
We could not fault this B&B in any way, the rooms were spotless with tea/coffee making facilities & a TV in the room also. The room was also very spacious, very comfortable & warm.
The breakfast was massive, and as we were going to be doing a lot of hiking around to take pictures, that large breakfast stood to us for the day. We would return once during the day to freshen up, on our arrival back Jenn would turn up with a couple of snacks with a cup of tea or coffee.
If you are anywhere near Ballycastle in County Antrim, this B&B is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
0.9 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 25 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.9 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#5 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#6 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J & J's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J's Bed and Breakfast

Property: J & J's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 58 Clare Road, Ballycastle BT54 6LQ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on main road going towards Giants Causeway 12 to 15 min drive, and glens of Antrim. short walk to centre of town in one direction and also to beach,tennis courts and harbour in other direction. Free parking which is gated. Free Wi-Fi all rooms have tea and coffee facilities,32 inch flat screen TVs hairdryers. Guest lounge, and smoking area at rear of house. At J and J we offer good value and friendly accommodation ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j & j`s Hotel Ballycastle
j And j`s Bed And Breakfast
j & j`s b&b
J & J's Bed And Breakfast Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing