We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever takeaway I have ever had”

Morton's Fish & Chip Shop
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Ballycastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ever takeaway I have ever had”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I don't normally eat takeaways but this is the exception. I travelled over 3 hours just so the kids and I could have their fish and chips. I wish it had been there when I spent my summer holidays up there as a child. It brings back memories of going out on the fishing boats catching fish.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean843SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    70
    33
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“From shore straight to shop”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Fresh food cooked to order. Unsurpassed flavour. phone ahead to order, to save waiting as food is only cooked to order, so no food gradually drying out until you arrive

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best takeaway ever.”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We make a point of going to Morton's any time we are in the general area, even driving from Derry starving to get there for a fish supper! Been going there for years and never had a bad one yet...always superb, fresh crispy chips and fresher fish will keep us coming back for years to come. Thanks Isabel!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scunnered101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed with chips today”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Came here anytime visiting Ballycastle and always love the fish snd the chips usually good - went specially today as was visiting Ballymena so not too far away. Chips tasted like they were reheated or perhaps had their first blanch day before or they had been kept warm for a long time - very disappointing from such a renowned chippy - maybe the Christmas hols had something to do with it. Would like to see a finer batter as well.

Helpful?
3 Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Chip Shop in Ballycastle”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Absolutely love their mini chicken fillet burgers. Fish and pasties also delicious and chips taste fresh and flavoursome.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morton's Fish & Chip Shop also viewed

Ballycastle, County Antrim
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 
Ballycastle, County Antrim
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 

Been to Morton's Fish & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing