We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service”
Review of Cafe Boyles - CLOSED

Cafe Boyles
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Seating
Description: Cafe boyles is now closed.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The service was really slow. But the food was good for a lunch bite. Bit crowded and not enough baby seats to go around.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank creejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafeboyles, Manager at Cafe Boyles, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi there, thanks for coming into see us. I am very sorry that you felt service was slow, I can only apologise for this but as you mention in your review we seemed crowded..
As a seasonal town and area we can, during peak times, get really busy and our team works as hard as possible to ensure service remains high, I regret that you feel that we did not meet your expected levels of service and I can only assure you that this is not the norm in Boyles.. Cooking fresh, local food to order means that at peak times orders can back up a touch, but we refuse to hothold or cook from frozen.
As for your concern regards baby seats, we can only guess at how many is enough.. The person who does not get one always feels there are not enough but those that get them feel there are ample and as we are tight for space we try to accommodate as many of our younger customers as possible.

Thanks for coming in and if your about again please feel free to give me a shout as we love getting reviews to highlight our good points as well as areas that need work!
Look forward to seeing you

Aidan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    16
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Yet another visit to this warm & friendly cafe. Delicious homemade vegetable soup & toastie for a very reasonable £6. Will be going in to try something else next month.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bigyellowtaxi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Coffee”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Nicest coffee in ballycastle, quiet and relaxing. We had heard about how good the coffee and food was, excellent, well worth visiting. Looks and be deceiving.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cakes and buns!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely cafe, great for a spot of breakfast, lunch or dinner.one of the best selection of homemade cakes and buns I've ever seen, well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickeynicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for lunch in Ballycastle”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great little spot in Ballycastle for lunch. Reviews did not disappoint. Food was fresh and tasty, service was prompt. Can't go wrong with a bowl of fresh made soup and a few slices of the wheaton bread on a drizzly day!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafeboyles, Manager at Cafe Boyles, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi,

Thanks for popping in for some soup. Sadly the drizzle this year means tht we are selling loads of soup! We make all our soups from fresh ingredients and stock to ensure they are free from gluten, cream and as low in fat and salt as possible

Hope to see you again,

Aidan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Boyles also viewed

Ballycastle, County Antrim
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 
Ballycastle, County Antrim
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 
Ballycastle, County Antrim
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing