We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, spacious & secure house perfect for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Forestsidehouse

Forestside House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Forestside House
Forestside House Ballycastle Ample car parking space at Forestside House and Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Forestside House
Forestside House Ballycastle
Ample car parking space at Forestside House and Cottage
Open Fire Living Room
Large well equipped kitchen
Typical family room
All bed linen hotel quality
All bed linen hotel quality
2 cots available in Forestside House
All bathrooms with bath and shower enclosure
Dining room with extendable table
Private gated entrance with ample car parking
Fully enclosed gardens
Children's play area
Private lane
Spacious fully tiled hallways
Patio with Charcoal or Gas BBQ available
we are only a short drive from ballycastle golf course
we are only a short drive from the ferry terminal to rathlin island
early morning mist on rathlin island
Fair Head Ballycastle
We are located 12 miles from the world heritage site the Giant's Causeway
Clare Forest is a short walk from the house and cottage
Ballintoy harbour at sun set
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pamela C
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, spacious & secure house perfect for large groups/families.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Booked Forestside House for my family of five, two brothers and their families of four, mum, dad and granny - 16 of us in total ranging from 7 - 94yrs of age and it was perfect. Situated just a few miles outside Ballycastle (on road to Bushmills) and although house is just off the road, it is completely secure all the way around with walls, fences and gates making it extremely safe for the children to play for endless hours on the swings, slides, little house and toys that was provided by the owner. Patio area had a gas barbecue and large picnic table which seated 12 -14 comfortably, overlooking the garden.

Inside the house - all bedrooms are extremely spacious and well decorated with wardrobes, dressing tables, chairs, mirrors and even coat hangers. Large tiled hallways both downstairs and upstairs created a real spacious feel and easily kept clean throughout the week.
With 16 of us, I was worried we would all be on top of one another, but with 2 sitting rooms (one with sky tv), a large dining room which seats 14 and the kitchen breakfast bar and outside patio... we easily spread out and some were able to catch that much needed 'half an hour' of alone time to read or watch a bit of tv. A really good selection of books and DVDs were also available which was an unexpected perk. Three large spacious bathrooms which all have bath, toilet and showers in them meant that there was no real queues, with one bathroom being downstairs to accommodate the two bedrooms there. Washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher all great to have also. Wifi had a good strong signal which we all know is essential for everyone's gadgets!!!

The owner was friendly and there to meet us on arrival to explain showers, hot water etc and remained close by for a few days in case we had any teething problems which was reassuring. Even when he left and I phoned him a few times he was able to help us straight away.

Ballycastle has everything you need for a great holiday and there is both a large co-op in the town and some fantastic small shops...2 fantastic butchers, lovely bakery and super fruit and veg shop. Beach is gorgeous and easily accessible and there are plenty of coffee shops to call into. Fish and chip shop at the harbour is a MUST although be prepared for a half hour (well worth it) wait at peak times. Food and atmosphere in Central Bar was fantastic (recommend the seafood chowder!!) and some traditional Irish music in O'Conners in the main street is also a MUST do with a local taxi company only costing £4 back to the house.

All in all we had a fantastic week in this well situated, spacious and great value for money house. Many houses that say up to 16 often mean 12 comfortably but with a few extra beds we could squeeze in 16... But not Forestside - I would not hesitate to recommend this for 16 people, even if they were all adults this house is well able to accommodate everyone very comfortably.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private and secure fully equipped garden with swings, slides and toys and spacious hallway & rooms.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post this kind review,Its great to hear that you all enjoyed your stay at forestside house and I hope too see you all back some time soon.Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glend5
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super house”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the end of May to celebrate our parents 40th wedding anniversary. We found that the house exceeded our expectations, rooms where very spacious and beds comfortable, kitchen well equipped and a good size dining room. Only let down for us was lack of seating in the kitchen. Perhaps if there could be another stool or two at the breakfast area. The garden and extra kids play equipment was a big bonus for the children. It felt very safe with the gate closed to let children play outdoors. Location was ideal for exploring the north coast. We all enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2013
Many thanks for reviewing you stay at forestside house,I was pleased to hear that the house exceeded your expectations and the everyone enjoyed there stay,thanks for also pointing out the issue with the lack of seating around the breakfast bar area,which has now been resolved with the addition of extra seating.
Hope to see everyone back sometime soon,best wishes Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise O
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday had by all”
Reviewed 20 December 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great holiday during end of August 2012. We stayed for a week. We had a family party of 10. Accomodation was clean and tidy, lots of space for everyone. There were a few bits that needed a quick lick of paint but after a summer let nothing that you would not expect. Owners were closing house for a refurb after we left which we were surprised at We had a problem with the dishwasher but owner came out following day whilst we were out as agreed and fixed this. Ian was very friendly and deposit was returned in full. Would defiantly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and comfort of the property
Liked least: Property was a little bit out of town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay,i was glad to hear that you all enjoyed you stay,and look forward to seeing you all back sometime soon.Happy new year Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size and quality of house
Liked least: appliances such as fridge, cooker and dishwasher could be updated but are all operational - trial and error
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Dec 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post this review,i was pleased to here that you all enjoyed your stay at Forestside house and look forward to seeing all back again some time soon.Best wishes.Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
belfast
Reviewed 15 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: leaving to go home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Dec 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to post this kind review,very pleased that you all enjoyed the stay with us at forestside house, and look forward to seeing everyone back soon.Best wishes Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheila M
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 10 days at the end of June with my extended family and also relatives who were over from Wales,we had a fabulous time here,the house is set in its own grounds,with a great garden,enclosed and very safe for the kids to play in,also loads of car parking space,loved the way the place lights up at night,we had 14 in our group and found the house large enough to cope with us all,everyone had their own room,and with 3bathrooms all with bath tub and showers no problems getting washed in the mornings either.Loved the kitchen which was modern and very well equipped,also the great big dinning table which was big enough for us all to sit around.50 inch tv and most of the sky channels kept the kid amused in the evenings and the free wifi was a bonus.Great location with fantastic views of the surrounding Forest,would definitely recommend the place to anyone looking for selfcatering accommodation suitable for large groups and family's .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the house,and it location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post this review,great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at forestsidehouse house,look forward to seeing you all back sometime soon.Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsmhull
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“disgusting!!!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

would just like to warn anyone out there, not to even think of renting this for even an hour. please dont be mislaid by the beautiful pics on here as it is nothing like that when you arrive. first of all, my sister was asked to pay £150 extra security free when she arrived, which had not been mentioned, so had to go and find a banklink, good start!! my first room to walk into was the kitchen which did not seem to have been cleaned for quite some time, the grease was everywhere cupboard doors etc and when we wanted to use anything iut had to be washed in boiling water. floors etc were very grubby, it was clear that it had not been cleaned for some time, thick with dirt and dust. now here comes the best bit, i was sharing with my partner in a twin room, pulled duvet back and there were 3 or 4 stains on the sheet which was black, went to see if i could get a clean sheet and on my return (with no clean sheet) my partner pointd out that there was something that looked like "poo" with hair attached, but it was thick with chocolate, so clearly the bed had not been changed and on looking further a few of the beds were clearly not changed, there was also a dirty sheet lying at the bottom of the wardrobe of our room, so disgusting. i have to say that i have been too a lot of accomodation all over the world and in the most remote of places and never could i say that i ever got a dirty bed until now, only that my sister had paid for us all to be together, i think i would just have gone back home, so please take this advice and dont go near it. do really wish now i had of taken pics!!!!! my sister emailed the owner and guess what, yes ur right, he did not reply!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the house was brill
Liked least: i have seen cleaner pig stys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2012
I am disappointed and annoyed that you did not enjoy your stay at Forestsidehouse. Our aim is to provide all our guests with a safe comfortable and enjoyable visit and it is regrettable that we did not meet your expectations on your overnight stay with us at the end of August,any complaint of this nature is treated very seriously and every effort is made to ensure guest comfort. However I feel there is a need to correct some of the comments made. As is clearly stated on the booking form, payment is required prior to arrival, and a £150.00 security deposit is payable with all bookings. It is regrettable that this seems to have caused inconvenience and annoyance to you and your party,and that you needed to find a cash machine,but the terms and conditions are clearly printed on the booking form and it is assumed that the person making the booking will read them. As payment for the overnight stay was not made until the following day i.e. until departure, and the £150.00 security deposit was refunded as no damage or breakages had occurred,it is incorrect to state you were charged an extra £150.00. Accommodation is thoroughly cleaned between visits and all bed linen changed, as we provide self-catering accommodation extra freshly laundered bed linen is provided in all bed rooms, and also in the linen room on the first floor landing. Being on site and available during your overnight stay, and therefore in a position to deal with any problems or complaints that may have arisen I am puzzled as to why you or any member of your group did not raise these issues with me at any time during the stay, even upon departure. I would have welcomed the opportunity to investigate your complaints and hopefully have them resolved to your satisfaction..I therefore feel that the comments made on the trip advisor review were very harsh and unfair. Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing