We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silvercliffs Holiday Park
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

me and my partner and 18 month old daughter were on our first trip together.The swiss lodge looked great on the internet..however after paying 350 pound for three nights we were very disappointed.it was dirty and right at the entrance gates so it was very unsafe for our baby. nothing like the picture showed us.it was very dirty,not well maintained,it smelt very bad aswell.no room for travel cot.no soap,broken worktop,shower hadnt been washed in quite a while.outside areas where not child friendly,either a muddy patch or a road.on the other hand we left 2 hours after arrival with our money bank and the staff were extremely helpful and understanding and give us a full refund.

Room Tip: dont choose the swiss lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynsey i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    4
    5
    13
See reviews for
17
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I are just back from staying at Causeway Coast,and we were very disappointed with the lack of on site facilities. The pool rarely opened,and the games room closed at a ridiculously early time,so much so that we decided to leave the Park 4 days early,I have emailed Hagan Holidays, but as yet haven't received a reply.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorrieb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballycastle hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Took advantage of the may/June online offer and stayed in an apartment on Father's Day weekend got this offer for £100 pounds after a bit of negotiating as they didn't say online that the price went up cause of it being Father's Day weekend lol very clean friendly place the gawn inn was very child friendly as most bars are not would definitely stay again ballycastle is a great location and town people r very welcoming

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ciaran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We have sytayed quite a few times here in different types of accomadation with our granchildren, but the apartment is the best.
Kitchen equiped with everything you need, great big table for dining and 2 bedrooms, one double, which was a bit cramped, knocked knee a few times on the bedpost, and the twin room which was fine, big toilet.
Electric is expensive at £8 a night, but we got it at a good price so I am not complaining.

All spotlessly clean, pool great, you pay extra for this.

Food in the bar, not gourmet but good and the kids enjoyed it.
Not a lot to do within the park, but we were out and about all the time anyway.
Handyman very cheery and helpfull, credit to the park.

We will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doogly5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Booked 6 berth mobile through Daily Mail reader holidays. Couldn find van at first, no wonder, it was at the back of ther service area where all the vans needing repair seemed to be. Van was fairly clean but fridge had mould growing and had to clean before use. Paid around £8 a night for electric, £10 per bed per night for linen, yet in Hagans own brochure it quotes, linen £5 per bed per night. Van was cold and draughty, bedroom windows had about an inch gap all,round, had to stuff with plastic bags. On second night our electric went off, when reported next dy I was told I should have phoned the numbering the information pack, took at least 4 attempts before I could get through to them that without light we couldn't see the number. It is not displayed anywhere in the van. We left a day early, only so much hardship you can take. I too was told the refund would be posted to me. We only left today so don't know whether refund will be forthcoming. I think the newspaper reader holidays should reevaluate and keep a closer eye on what services are provided in their behalf. After paying the £60'to Daily Mail, we received a sizeable further bill from Hagans which did not make it such a bargain after all.

We rented a similar caravan 20 years ago in silver cliffs and had the same problem, electric cutting off when I put cooker on, we eventually had to be moved to an apartment, I thought after 20 years things might have improved. Clearly not.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tradsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had a 2 bedroom caravan which was well equipped and clean. It was just out of season so it was quiet. It was a great place to explore the causeway coast and not too far from Belfast. It is walking distance from the town centre. The staff were helpful and friendly and we got our £30 deposit back within 2 weeks of leaving. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We have stayed at this caravan park a few times. Both times we have had to make a deposit payment of £30.00, I don't think they ever intend to repay this, unless people ring to enquire about it. Both times I was told I damaged the accommodation, which was untrue. After at least 2 months ringing/emails about this, they realised any error had been made and a cheque would be sent. I'm still waiting on this from my October break 2012

No entertainment on site for the kids, swimming pool closed, shop closed most of the time? The staff on the site are nice, not so good at the head office

I really don't think the service we received is good enough.

Lindsey

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballycastle hotels
0.3 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 25 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#6 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crockatinney Guest House
Crockatinney Guest House
#9 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#7 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvercliffs Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvercliffs Holiday Park

Property: Silvercliffs Holiday Park
Address: Rathlin Road, Ballycastle BT54 5DB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ballycastle
Also Known As:
Silvercliffs Holiday Park Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing