We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Novice camper but site was great.”

Glenmore Caravan and Camping
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenmore Caravan and Camping
Ullapool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Novice camper but site was great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for one night in early June with the kids. We are infrequent campers so I can't compare it against other sites but for us it was fine. The site was quiet and there is plenty of space between tents. At least 6 metres for fire regs. The shop on site was small but stocked plenty of chocolate which is needed if it gets a bit chilly. There is also a very small/cosy bar attached to the shop that looked child friendly if you need somewhere to relax a bit. We didn't go in there but there seems to be a resident singer who likes to get folk involved. The shower block is nice and clean. Unfortunately the water in the men's shower block was cold in the morning but my other half had a roasting shower in the women's block so maybe the boys just lucked out that day. The Aviemore area is very good with many and varied activities for kids and adults alike. My four kids did Kayaking on Loch Morlich and they really loved it. Plenty shops, bars and restaurants in Aviemore which truly is a year round resort. Overall a great little site in a superb location. We will definitely go back and I would recommend it to other families.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanandsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here in our Touring caravan for one night. It is a very small and basic site but served our needs for the night. We were without our kids so the site served us well. However we wouldn't come here with the kids as there is nothing for them to do. There is no playpark, games room, shop etc. There are a couple of lakes if you are into fishing. The shower block was very basic and the gents a little grubby. My wife advises the ladies were very clean. You have to pay a £1 to use the shower. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. There was a restuarant and bar on site which we didn't use. Be sure to bring cash as they can't accept cards. This site is ideal for pitching up for the night and using as a base to travel around. It is not a site you would stay on day in day as you would simply get bored.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Caravan and Camping site for three nights. The Receptionist was professional and helpful. It is obvious that the site is a work in progress. Although there are hard standings for caravans/motorhomes closest to the B & B, as you drive to the back of the site the pitches are not so clearly defined but still access electricity points. We pitched close to the two small fishing lakes and spent three days taking in the natural beauty of the site between visits to some of the tourist destinations very close by. The owners had organised entertainment in the B & B bar on two evenings which gave the opportunity for a relaxing drink in pleasant surroundings.

Work is ongoing throughout the site with environmentally friendly improvements being made. A sculpture rises from the top of the small hill looking down over the site. WIFI is not accessed at the lake area but is available in the B & B.

Whilst we would love to see some improvements to the site like an improved electric supply, water points and grey water drainage at the pitches, we wouldnt want to see this at the expense of the rustic beauty of the location.

We cant wait to go back !!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Took my family camping beautiful site, the site has everything u want. Its clean an quiet well looked after had a great stay. They serve great Guinness here will be be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank mayotraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
2.1 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 25 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.4 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#7 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenmore House
Glenmore House
#16 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore Caravan and Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore Caravan and Camping

Property: Glenmore Caravan and Camping
Address: 94 White Park Road, Ballycastle PH22 1QU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ballycastle
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round, there can be no more enchanting place than Glenmore campsite, situated in the heart of the Cairngorms in the Scottish Highlands. A truly spectacular campsite, it has access to the exquisite beaches of Loch Morlich, and is close to an ancient Caledonian Pinewood forest, one of the last few remaining. This is a very special place that provides a truly authentic, back to nature, camping experience. Facilities Premium pitches Tents Touring caravans Motorhomes Trailer tents Jumbo tent pitches Grassy pitches Grass pitch with electric hook up Hardstanding pitch Hardstanding pitch with electric hook up Seasonal pitches Storage facilities Toilets Showers Washbasins Electric razor sockets Separate disabled facilities Some disabled facilities Parent and baby room Family friendly site Chemical toilet disposal Drinking water taps Dishwashing facilities Laundry Ice pack freezing facility Battery charging facility Public transport Payphone Pets welcome This beautiful area is rich in wildlife and you may spot one of the many native animals from the comfort of your tent including deer, otters, golden eagles and red squirrels. If you are really lucky you might even catch a glimpse of the elusive pine marten and the crested tit. At any time of year Glenmore is the perfect setting - whether you are looking for a winter skiing holiday, or seeking to experience the peace and natural beauty of the summer by taking in the many picturesque walking and cycling trails accessible directly from the campsite. For more active campers, Loch Morlich offers kayak and canoe hire, as well as windsurfing. The Cairngorms National Park is a Mecca for outdoor enthusiasts with all sporting activities imaginable on offer including; skiing, fishing, sailing and windsurfing, white water rafting, river tubing, horse riding and pony trekking. The National Park offers over 280 km of footpaths that pass through moors, woodland, riverside, loch edge and beautiful farmland. After all of that activity and exhilaration, why not visit the popular Cairngorm Reindeer Centre which is just a short walk from the main campsite entrance, home to Britain's only herd of free roaming reindeer. And for a fine selection of pubs, restaurants, shops and a supermarket, the charming town of Aviemore is just a 15 minute drive away. Dogs are welcome on this campsite, and there are toilets and showers available. Please note that the site postcode isn't relevant for satnav; please follow the signs for the Cairngorm Mountains. Please note during the summer months there are midges on this campsite. Pitch types at Glenmore There are 206 pitches at Glenmore, made up of standard and premium pitch types ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenmore Caravan And Camping Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing