We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absentee Hosts; Broken Toilet--Stay Elsewhere in Ballycastle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absentee Hosts; Broken Toilet--Stay Elsewhere in Ballycastle”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We considered other family-run B&Bs in Ballycastle, but booked at the Crockatinney because of the location and the "private balcony with the view." The Crockatinney's e-mails specified that check-in was between 5 and 6 pm. When a B&B is that specific, you reasonably expect someone to be there during that hour. When we arrived, no one was there; just a note and our keys. The rooms (we were traveling with my sister and her husband) were clean but bare bones. Our private balcony was barely big enough for the two dirty plastic lawn chairs on it, and the ocean view was far to the right--our view was basically of a pasture.

After over an hour, no one showed up except a neighbor and his dog to move the water sprinklers. With the lack of infrastructure in the area, it would have been nice to have some advice where to have dinner. After rummaging around the lobby, I found the loaner hair dryer, but no lists of local restaurants. We ended up driving into Ballycastle and asking people on the street for recommendations (try the Central Bar--quite good). When we returned a couple of hours later, the water sprinkler was still on but no one was home.

The next morning, our brother-in-law said that their toilet tank would not fill and they only made it flush that night by filling the tank using the shower head, which soaked both the bathroom and his clothes. They didn't change rooms that night because he said he couldn't find anyone.

In fairness, the hosts (who did show up by breakfast!) offered to change their room, however we decided to change accommodations after breakfast. The breakfast was again bare bones and when we asked for coffee, the server wordlessly pointed to packets of instant coffee and a pitcher of not-so-hot water. Sixty pounds a night and they can't brew real coffee?

From reading negative reviews of this B&B, the hosts typically say in their defense that they are a family-run guest house. That may be so, but even a family-run operation should offer a minimum of service and value. Indeed, during our holiday, we stayed in over a dozen family-run B&Bs or guest houses asking comparable room rates, and the Crockatinney offered far inferior service and value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayhawk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crockatinney, Owner at Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
These people were very hard to please
They arrived at 8pm late without contacting us
There was someone there to greet them ( my father)
They completely ignored him
The lone hairdryer as they have put it was in a place where guests are not allowed
So they were obviously in restricted areas of the house which I am not too pleased at
As they have disrespected my home
The problem was not with the toilet but with the people that were using the toilet
The toilets in Ireland don't fill as quickly as in America.
We offered to change the rooms but they were very incompliant
All comments are taken on board
This is an unfair comment
£60 is the going rate for bed and breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The location was the main reason we chose this B&B. It's got amazing views of the coast and it's centrally located to drive to any local towns. Very peaceful. Breakfast was great and with friendly service. Rooms and bathrooms were outdated and could use a touch of love. Service was excellent and staff was very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFM0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Guesthouse is in a wonderful location. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Serviceable breakfast. Cheerful hosts

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowSueandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My wife, sister, her boyfriend and myself stayed at crockatinny house on a recent trip to Northern Ireland. There was no one there to greet us on arrival, the showers had no hot water and the pressure was the equivalent of a three year old peeing on you! Also the breakfast was greasy and when questioned on these various issues the staff was the opposite of apologetic.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomalle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoisinMcG, Manager at Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 9 April 2011
Hello, I am the manager of Crockatinney Cottages, affiliated with Crockatinney Guesthouse. Generally I am of the opinion that you cannot please everyone all of the time, particularly when your establishment(s) deals with as many people as we do on a regular basis. However, I take exception to this review for several reasons:

1. It was explained to the client(s) why no one was there to meet and greet on this occasion, owning to family illness. Clients were reminded that Crockatinney Guesthouse is not a hotel and therefore cannot provide a 24-hour reception.
2. The unpleasantness of these guests was such that they were even made known to me when Caroline, their host, rang me and was audibly upset.
3. Guests have the option to eat a continental style breakfast if they do not wish to have a cooked breakfast, (which is called an "Ulster Fry" owing to it consisting of fried foods which are by default, rather oily.) We also offer scrambled eggs and toast on the menu. These do not have to be fried.
4. The showers in the ground floor level of Crockatinney Guesthouse are suitable for less able bodied people -- this means they have to be turned on and one must wait for the heat and pressure to build up. I do not think using an analogy for a child urinating you is particularly tasteful in this or any context,for that matter. We do, however, acknowledge that the showers have been an issue for other guests in the past, we have now provided instructions for their proper use in the bedrooms.

To conclude, these guests were offered a discount upon departure by way of apology for their stay having not met with their expectations.

We look forward to accommodating many more guests in the 2011 summer season and hope that they will come online to share their opinions of the service provided at Crockatinney Guesthouse and Cottages. We are all for fair criticism, but these guests had forewarned that they would be reporting Crockatinney to a 'tourism authority'.

Regards,
Roisin McGinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Have stayed here ( 10 of us with both cottages) and revisited with husband, my parents and the 'dug'. The cottages are totally wheelchair -proofed. (Only small comment, be aware that floor tiling is not slip-resistant in wet room area, but bath mat from main bathroom solves that.) Garden area is not enclosed so if taking a dog, make sure u take a tetherer and cable.
Lovely family to deal with too !
Go there ! it's great :-)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank med777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This is a lovely B&B with good sized rooms, great views towards the coast and a friendly welcome from the owners. Beds are comfortable and everything is clean and well-kept. The breakfasts are very good so you will be well set for a day of sight-seeing without needing to worry about lunch. The guesthouse is well located for most of the main sites along the north coast. As it is a few miles out of town (up hill) it is best suited for those with transport (car or bike), but they do offer a taxi service. Two things to note: credit cards aren't accepted and they prefer you to check-in between 5 and 6pm. These aren't negatives as they contribute to making this place such good value for money. Internet available and tea/coffee facilities in the guest lounge. Overall well recommended and we would certainly stay again if returning to the area.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve_h12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Crockatinney Guest house is in a good location for visiting the North coast attractions such as Giants Causeway. It is in a quiet position away from the road. The room we had was large, suitable for disabled guests, with a large shower room,which had a stone tiled floor. The room was clean and tidy, and the bed comfortable. When we were there, it was unseasonably cold, and unfortunately the central heating could either not cope, or it was not on long enough. The breakfast was good, and the proprietors very friendly and helpful. It would be very good in warmer weather.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jethornber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballycastle hotels
3.0 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crockatinney Guest House
Crockatinney Guest House
#10 of 24 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glenmore House
Glenmore House
#15 of 24 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#7 of 24 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 24 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages

Property: Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages
Address: 80A Whitepark Road, Ballycastle BT54 6LP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Stonechat" and "Cuckoo's Nest" are set in idyllic surroundings, which include a 19th-century famine graveyard, a fishing lake, children's play area and private car parking. They are also home to resident rustic alarm clock -- Rusty the Rooster! This is just the place to get away from it all and experience local northern Irish nature and history. Prices include utilities and fuel for an authentic Irish turf fire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing