We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, great people, lovely breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, great people, lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We found Northern Ireland a beautiful part of the world. Our stay at Crockatinney guest house made it just that more enjoyable. The views were fantastic, the breakfast was excellent and the host was friendly and hospitable. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

The place is nice, located out of town (not suitable in my opinion for people who travel without a car). What I personally didn't like: NO internet access. Oh yes, there is in the reception a sign reading that one can rent a computer with internet access. Unfortunately there is no staff to get it from!!! I wanted to check my emails in the evening and couldn't find a single person in the whole place!! I even rang their number and only got an answering machine to talk to!!
If at least they would install a computer with internet access where one could put in some coins to pay for the use!!! Sorry, but in this day and age a corner/room with a computer with internet access (no problem if I have to pay to use it for 30 minutes or an hour) is a MUST!!!
Me trying to hire the computer with internet access made me realise that once the clients have checked in all staff will be gone till the next morning for breakfast!!
Oh yes, and the coffee machine which was mentioned in some of the previous comments still didn't work end of June 2011!!!
It was an absolutely lovely scenery, the rooms were very clean but honestly, it was also the most expensive B&B I stayed in in Northern Ireland and for that money I'll next time I'm in Ballycastle stay in a B&B or hotel 1. where I can use the internet and 2. where the coffee machine is working

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localclient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

It is hard for me to review a place like Crockatinney. It is certainly a beautiful area and a well-built guest house. But in fairness to the other places we stayed in Ireland, Northern Ireland, I could not bump up the rating. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We were on the first floor as there were three of us, my daughter was on the second floor with the better view. It is a bit odd to walk in and find no one when one is used to such hospitality in this country, but Caroline did come out and was very helpful. We did not particularly care for the breakfasts - it was the worst of our 10 day trip. But in fairness, I do think they are limited in what they can provide. It is also a bit out of the way from the town. If you do not have a car, you are not really near anything. We still enjoyed our stay and the view was breathtaking if you walk out onto the grounds.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

The hotel staff did not reflect the professionalism and availability of others we met on our trip. The room was not as advertised. Our view of the water was partial with more of a view of the back storage area. The toilet "worked" but took over 20 minutes to refill/cycle -- who can wait that long between guests use?

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank woodstocktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We considered other family-run B&Bs in Ballycastle, but booked at the Crockatinney because of the location and the "private balcony with the view." The Crockatinney's e-mails specified that check-in was between 5 and 6 pm. When a B&B is that specific, you reasonably expect someone to be there during that hour. When we arrived, no one was there; just a note and our keys. The rooms (we were traveling with my sister and her husband) were clean but bare bones. Our private balcony was barely big enough for the two dirty plastic lawn chairs on it, and the ocean view was far to the right--our view was basically of a pasture.

After over an hour, no one showed up except a neighbor and his dog to move the water sprinklers. With the lack of infrastructure in the area, it would have been nice to have some advice where to have dinner. After rummaging around the lobby, I found the loaner hair dryer, but no lists of local restaurants. We ended up driving into Ballycastle and asking people on the street for recommendations (try the Central Bar--quite good). When we returned a couple of hours later, the water sprinkler was still on but no one was home.

The next morning, our brother-in-law said that their toilet tank would not fill and they only made it flush that night by filling the tank using the shower head, which soaked both the bathroom and his clothes. They didn't change rooms that night because he said he couldn't find anyone.

In fairness, the hosts (who did show up by breakfast!) offered to change their room, however we decided to change accommodations after breakfast. The breakfast was again bare bones and when we asked for coffee, the server wordlessly pointed to packets of instant coffee and a pitcher of not-so-hot water. Sixty pounds a night and they can't brew real coffee?

From reading negative reviews of this B&B, the hosts typically say in their defense that they are a family-run guest house. That may be so, but even a family-run operation should offer a minimum of service and value. Indeed, during our holiday, we stayed in over a dozen family-run B&Bs or guest houses asking comparable room rates, and the Crockatinney offered far inferior service and value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayhawk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crockatinney, Owner at Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
These people were very hard to please
They arrived at 8pm late without contacting us
There was someone there to greet them ( my father)
They completely ignored him
The lone hairdryer as they have put it was in a place where guests are not allowed
So they were obviously in restricted areas of the house which I am not too pleased at
As they have disrespected my home
The problem was not with the toilet but with the people that were using the toilet
The toilets in Ireland don't fill as quickly as in America.
We offered to change the rooms but they were very incompliant
All comments are taken on board
This is an unfair comment
£60 is the going rate for bed and breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

The location was the main reason we chose this B&B. It's got amazing views of the coast and it's centrally located to drive to any local towns. Very peaceful. Breakfast was great and with friendly service. Rooms and bathrooms were outdated and could use a touch of love. Service was excellent and staff was very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFM0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Guesthouse is in a wonderful location. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Serviceable breakfast. Cheerful hosts

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowSueandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballycastle hotels
3.0 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.2 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crockatinney Guest House
Crockatinney Guest House
#10 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glenmore House
Glenmore House
#16 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.9 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#7 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 25 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages

Property: Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages
Address: 80A Whitepark Road, Ballycastle BT54 6LP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Stonechat" and "Cuckoo's Nest" are set in idyllic surroundings, which include a 19th-century famine graveyard, a fishing lake, children's play area and private car parking. They are also home to resident rustic alarm clock -- Rusty the Rooster! This is just the place to get away from it all and experience local northern Irish nature and history. Prices include utilities and fuel for an authentic Irish turf fire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing