We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true wonder...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A true wonder...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stayed at this guest house as a treat after a very hard week or two in my life. This place is a piece of pure magic run by a wonderful woman Caroline.The food is tasty,warm,and one could eat all one desires.The bedroom is 5 star,clean,tidy,warm and a pleasure to be in..Inaddition to,this the bed is heaven,good quality mattresses ..you will not be missing home believe me.On top of this the view,is,out of this world ,the hostess a gem ....if you do nothing ever in Ireland visit this place of pure magic and peace
Judewhyte@ Ireland.com

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judewhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our second time staying at Crockatinney Cottages, this time we stayed in Stonechat Cottage. The Accommodation itself was everything we needed and more, Roisin was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. She even put flowers, a card, a balloon and Champayne in the house for our arrival as we were celebrating our anniversary!
The Beds were comfortable, the house was warm and very clean. Maybe they could do with a few extra TV channels but as we were a large family and only staying for the weekend it didn't matter to us in the slightest.
Next time we are going to book for a full week as there is so much to do in the area and the cottages have everything you need when travelling with small children.
I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone thinking of staying in the area.

Room Tip: As I have stayed in both cottages I can highly recommend both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrlaAidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We recently stayed at the self catering cottage stonechat at crockatinny, it was all too short a trip, the cottage was immaculately clean, and the decor beautiful,the kitchen well equipped with everything you need, the rooms large and very comforatble, real homely, a true gem. The surroundings and views are spectacular, a piece of paradise.
Roisin the manager is a lovely girl,couldn't have been more helpful.

Marian & Stephen Co.Kerry

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We recentlly stayed in a family room for 3 nights bed and breakfast. First impressions of the house were that it looked in need of some care and attention - paintwork, garden and general tidiness of the grounds. However inside it was absolutely fine - clean and tidy - with a lovely friendly host. Our room was a good size with two doubles and a single bed. Nice and clean with very comfortable beds. The decor was unusual - black/silver and shocking pink - but it really grew on us. The water pressure was low for toilet and shower use but I don't think there's very much can be done to solve that except to be patient. We enjoyed our breakfast each morning and the lovely view from the dining room.
It would be nice if the outside could be improved as it is a beautiful house in a magnificent setting but of course this would be expensive and the owners have perhaps decided to concentrate on hospitality, which was very good. Overall our first impressions proved wrong and we would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandabrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

You often forget that the most amazing places are on your doorstep. Crockatinney cottages and it's fantastic surroundings exemplifies this point.

I love how the owners of this property have tried to emulate a feel of the early 1900s with the quaint and humbling bike with the carefully attached turf shovel, just as you approach the cottages; and the authentic early 1900s milestone adjacent to the carefully constructed stonewall, lovingly made in the old Irish traditional way. There is a wonderful peacefulness that can be appreciated any day of the year, and one can imagine what it was like in rural Ireland many moons ago! The owners' sensitivity to the surrounding environment has to be highly commended. Furthermore the viewpoints from here are the best in Ballycastle and your proximity to Kilbane Castle (arguably the best viewing spot in northern ireland) and Ballintoy, make this often forgotten location, unbeatable. As for the Cottage itself, it has all the advantages of modern living whilst being a cosy getaway. I slept like a baby! The quality is second to none. Moreover, you have the most adorable neighbours: 2 donkeys, 1 goat and 1 Rooster named Rusty! Roisin is an amazing host as well and was always at hand for any advice while exploring this beautiful region. I will be back, and thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swishfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in Stonechat cottage for one week. We arrived on a wet and cold day in june, and were warmly welcomed by a burning turf stove! The cottage is very comfortable and cosy. Well equipped and has big rooms. Our "neighbours" were a friendly goat and rooster. Both stayed together in a fenced area, but happily did not wake us up ;-)

This is a perfect spot for sightseeing trips, but you do need a car. All "must-see places" on the Causeway coast are within a half-hour drive.
We can highly recommend a stay in one of Crockatinneys cottages!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonieB188595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Our second visit to Crockatinney - we went back due to excellent experience in 2008. Disappointed this time.
Service not up to standard - was offered WIFI connection but was forgotten and had to ask again at 21:00. Although the room was booked for three people towels only put out for two - had to ask for extra towels - person "forgot" that three people were booked in.
Dirty cup and glass in corridor from arrival to departure and dead plant in corridor desperate for water reflected lack of interest and neglect. The breakfast was excellent. Driveway full of potholes. We won't be back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballycastle hotels
3.0 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.2 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crockatinney Guest House
Crockatinney Guest House
#10 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glenmore House
Glenmore House
#16 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.9 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#7 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 25 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages

Property: Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages
Address: 80A Whitepark Road, Ballycastle BT54 6LP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Stonechat" and "Cuckoo's Nest" are set in idyllic surroundings, which include a 19th-century famine graveyard, a fishing lake, children's play area and private car parking. They are also home to resident rustic alarm clock -- Rusty the Rooster! This is just the place to get away from it all and experience local northern Irish nature and history. Prices include utilities and fuel for an authentic Irish turf fire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing